A Program Collection for the PC

  • Hans Jürgen Korsch
  • Hans-Jörg Jodl
  • Timo Hartmann

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages I-XV
  2. Pages 47-68
  3. Pages 91-113
  4. Pages 115-136
  5. Pages 137-156
  6. Pages 157-184
  7. Pages 185-210
  8. Pages 301-317
  9. Back Matter
    Pages 319-341

About this book


This new edition strives yet again to provide readers with a working knowledge of chaos theory and dynamical systems through parallel introductory explanations in the book and interaction with carefully-selected programs supplied on the accompanying diskette. The programs enable readers, especially advanced-undergraduate students in physics, engineering, and math, to tackle relevant physical systems quickly on their PCs, without distraction from algorithmic details. For the third edition of Chaos: A Program Collection for the PC, each of the previous twelve programs is polished and rewritten in C++ (both Windows and Linux versions are included). A new program treats kicked systems, an important class of two-dimensional problems, which is introduced in Chapter 13. Each chapter follows the structure: theoretical background; numerical techniques; interaction with the program; computer experiments; real experiments and empirical evidence; reference. Interacting with the many numerical experiments have proven to help readers to become familiar with this fascinating topic and even to enjoy the experience.


Chaos algorithm algorithms chaos theory deterministic chaos linear optimization nonlinear dynamics

Authors and affiliations

  • Hans Jürgen Korsch
    • 1
  • Hans-Jörg Jodl
    • 1
  • Timo Hartmann
    • 2
  1. 1.FB PhysikTU KaiserslauternKaiserslauternGermany
  2. 2.Institut für Theoretische PhysikUniversität RegensburgRegensburgGermany

Bibliographic information

  • DOI
  • Copyright Information Springer-Verlag Berlin Heidelberg 2008
  • Publisher Name Springer, Berlin, Heidelberg
  • eBook Packages Physics and Astronomy
  • Print ISBN 978-3-540-74866-3
  • Online ISBN 978-3-540-74867-0
  • Buy this book on publisher's site