© 2007

Physics of Zero- and One-Dimensional Nanoscopic Systems

  • Sachindra Nath Karmakar
  • Santanu Kumar Maiti
  • Jayeeta Chowdhury

Part of the Springer Series in Solid-State Sciences book series (SSSOL, volume 156)

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages I-XVI
  2. Yuval Oreg, David Goldhaber-Gordon
    Pages 27-44
  3. K. Kikoin, Y. Avishai
    Pages 45-75
  4. Alex Grishin, Igor V. Yurkevich, Igor V. Lerner
    Pages 77-101
  5. K. A. Chao, Magnus Larsson
    Pages 151-186
  6. Gilles Montambaux
    Pages 187-227
  7. Santanu K. Maiti, S. N. Karmakar
    Pages 267-304
  8. S. Sil, S. N. Karmakar, Efrat Shimshoni
    Pages 305-330
  9. Back Matter
    Pages 331-334

About this book


In recent years submicron and nanoscale systems have featured strongly on the research agenda due to the technological progress and new physics that have emerged from studies of ultra-small systems. A fundamental understanding of basic physical phenomena on the mesoscopic and nanoscopic scales is required to exploit the technological potential offered by these exotic materials. The present book contains review-like chapters by some of the leading experts in the field, covering topics such as the Kondo effect, electron transport, disorder and quantum coherence with electron-electron interaction, persistent current, thermoelectric phenomena, etc. in quantum dots, quantum wires, carbon nanotubes and more. This book will be valuable to researchers and students in condensed matter physics.


Mesoscopicsystems Nanoscopicsystems Nanotube Quantumdots Thermoelectricproperties Transportproperties carbon nanotubes condensed matter nanostructure

Editors and affiliations

  • Sachindra Nath Karmakar
    • 1
  • Santanu Kumar Maiti
    • 1
  • Jayeeta Chowdhury
    • 1
  1. 1.Saha Institute of Nuclear PhysicsKolkataIndia

About the editors

Obtained Ph.D. in theoretical physics from University of Calcutta, India in 1989. Joined the Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics Division of Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, India as a faculty member in 1990 and currently a full professor in this institute.

Bibliographic information