Faith 7

L. Gordon Cooper, Jr., and the Final Mercury Mission

  • Colin Burgess

Part of the Springer Praxis Books book series (PRAXIS)

Also part of the Space Exploration book sub series (SPACEE)

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages i-xviii
  2. Colin Burgess
    Pages 1-22
  3. Colin Burgess
    Pages 23-56
  4. Colin Burgess
    Pages 57-72
  5. Colin Burgess
    Pages 73-107
  6. Colin Burgess
    Pages 108-123
  7. Colin Burgess
    Pages 124-163
  8. Colin Burgess
    Pages 164-203
  9. Colin Burgess
    Pages 204-230
  10. Colin Burgess
    Pages 231-246
  11. Back Matter
    Pages 247-291

About this book


This book celebrates the final spaceflight in the Mercury series, flown by NASA astronaut Gordon Cooper, who led an adventurous life in the cockpit of airplanes and spacecraft alike, and on his Mercury mission he became the last American ever to rocket into space alone. He flew in the Mercury and Gemini programs and served as head of flight crew operations in both the Apollo and Skylab programs. His final Mercury mission closed out a pivotal chapter in American spaceflight.

Based on extensive research and first-person interviews, this is a complete history of the Faith 7 flight and its astronaut. Cooper later gained notoriety following the release of the movie, The Right Stuff, in which he was depicted by Dennis Quaid, but Burgess discovers there was even more drama to his story. This recounting of the final Mercury 7 flight completes Burgess's investigation of the early spaceflight program in thrilling fashion.


Final Mercury 7 flight Last Mercury 7 astronaut Project Mercury astronauts NASA orbital flight history Early NASA astronauts Mercury 7 patricipamts Solo orbital flight Gordon Cooper biography Fulfillment of project Mercury

Authors and affiliations

  • Colin Burgess
    • 1
  1. 1.BangorAustralia

Bibliographic information

  • DOI
  • Copyright Information Springer International Publishing Switzerland 2016
  • Publisher Name Praxis, Cham
  • eBook Packages Physics and Astronomy
  • Print ISBN 978-3-319-30562-2
  • Online ISBN 978-3-319-30563-9
  • Buy this book on publisher's site