Advertisement

Business Cycles in the Run of History

  • Thierry Aimar
  • Francis Bismans
  • Claude Diebolt

Part of the SpringerBriefs in Economics book series (BRIEFSECONOMICS)

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages i-vi
  2. Thierry Aimar, Francis Bismans, Claude Diebolt
    Pages 1-5
  3. Thierry Aimar, Francis Bismans, Claude Diebolt
    Pages 7-27
  4. Thierry Aimar, Francis Bismans, Claude Diebolt
    Pages 29-49
  5. Thierry Aimar, Francis Bismans, Claude Diebolt
    Pages 51-67
  6. Thierry Aimar, Francis Bismans, Claude Diebolt
    Pages 69-84
  7. Thierry Aimar, Francis Bismans, Claude Diebolt
    Pages 85-94

About this book

Introduction

This book analyzes the development of economic cycles in the run of history. The focus is on the development of cycle theory, with maximum emphasis upon ideas. Chapter 1 delivers an overview of the debate about cycles before the 1970s. Chapter 2 completes this survey by presenting the main empirical investigations since that time. Finally, Chapters 3 and 4 illustrate the discourse, by presenting, in the tradition of Burns and Mitchell, original case studies on France, South Africa, and Germany.

Keywords

Business cycles Cycle theory Economic history Forecasting Growth theory Macroeconomics

Authors and affiliations

  • Thierry Aimar
    • 1
  • Francis Bismans
    • 2
  • Claude Diebolt
    • 3
  1. 1.BETA/CNRSUniversité de LorraineNancyFrance
  2. 2.BETA/CNRSUniversité de LorraineNancyFrance
  3. 3.BETA/CNRSUniversité de StrasbourgStrasbourgFrance

Bibliographic information

  • DOI https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-319-24325-2
  • Copyright Information The Author(s) 2016
  • Publisher Name Springer, Cham
  • eBook Packages Economics and Finance
  • Print ISBN 978-3-319-24323-8
  • Online ISBN 978-3-319-24325-2
  • Series Print ISSN 2191-5504
  • Series Online ISSN 2191-5512
  • Buy this book on publisher's site