Mechanics, Structure and Evolution of Fault Zones

  • Yehuda Ben-Zion
  • Charles Sammis

Part of the Pageoph Topical Volumes book series (PTV)

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages i-v
  2. Yehuda Ben-Zion, Charles Sammis
    Pages 1533-1536
  3. Yaron Finzi, Elizabeth H. Hearn, Yehuda Ben-Zion, Vladimir Lyakhovsky
    Pages 1537-1573
  4. Ghislain de Joussineau, Atilla Aydin
    Pages 1575-1594
  5. W. Ashley Griffith, Pablo F. Sanz, David D. Pollard
    Pages 1595-1627
  6. Charles G. Sammis, Ares J. Rosakis, Harsha S. Bhat
    Pages 1629-1648
  7. David A. Lockner, Hidemi Tanaka, Hisao Ito, Ryuji Ikeda, Kentaro Omura, Hisanobu Naka
    Pages 1649-1667
  8. Diane E. Moore, David A. Lockner, Hisao Ito, Riuji Ikeda, Hidemi Tanaka, Kentaro Omura
    Pages 1669-1691
  9. Giang D. Nguyen, Itai Einav
    Pages 1693-1724
  10. James H. Dieterich, Deborah Elaine Smith
    Pages 1799-1815
  11. Thibault Candela, François Renard, Michel Bouchon, Alexandre Brouste, David Marsan, Jean Schmittbuhl et al.
    Pages 1817-1851
  12. Ya-Ju Hsu, Jean-Philippe Avouac, Shui-Beih Yu, Chien-Hsin Chang, Yih-Min Wu, Jochen Woessner
    Pages 1853-1884
  13. Klaus Regenauer-Lieb, David A. Yuen, Florian Fusseis
    Pages 1885-1908

About this book


Considerable progress has been made recently in quantifying geometrical and physical
properties of fault surfaces and adjacent fractured and granulated damage zones in
active faulting environments. There has also been significant progress in developing
rheologies and computational frameworks that can model the dynamics of fault zone
processes. This volume provides state-of-the-art theoretical and observational results
on the mechanics, structure and evolution of fault zones. Subjects discussed include
damage rheologies, development of instabilities, fracture and friction, dynamic rupture
experiments, and analyses of earthquake and fault zone data.


Borehole Fault Surfaces Fault Zones Topography development earthquake environment evolution fault fault zone formation fracture granite seismic strike-slip fault

Editors and affiliations

  • Yehuda Ben-Zion
    • 1
  • Charles Sammis
    • 1
  1. 1.Department Earth SciencesUniversity of Southern California College of Letters, Arts & SciencesLos AngelesUSA

Bibliographic information