Operator Theory, Analysis and the State Space Approach

In Honor of Rien Kaashoek

  • Harm Bart
  • Sanne ter Horst
  • André C.M. Ran
  • Hugo J. Woerdeman

Part of the Operator Theory: Advances and Applications book series (OT, volume 271)

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages i-xlviii
  2. Jim Agler, Zinaida A. Lykova, N. J. Young
    Pages 1-21
  3. Harm Bart, Torsten Ehrhardt, Bernd Silbermann
    Pages 75-117
  4. J. M. Bogoya, S. M. Grudsky, I. S. Malysheva
    Pages 119-143
  5. Albrecht Böttcher, Elias Wegert
    Pages 145-166
  6. Bernd Fritzsche, Bernd Kirstein, Conrad Mädler
    Pages 215-238
  7. G. J. Groenewald, S. ter Horst, J. Jaftha, A. C. M. Ran
    Pages 239-268
  8. G. J. Groenewald, D. B. Janse van Rensburg, A. C. M. Ran
    Pages 269-290
  9. Jana Němcová, Mihály Petreczky, Jan H. van Schuppen
    Pages 327-359
  10. Lucijan Plevnik, Peter Šemrl
    Pages 361-387
  11. Stefan Sremac, Hugo J. Woerdeman, Henry Wolkowicz
    Pages 421-441

About this book


This volume is dedicated to Rien Kaashoek on the occasion of his 80th birthday and celebrates his many contributions to the field of operator theory during more than fifty years. In the first part of the volume, biographical information and personal accounts on the life of Rien Kaashoek are presented. Eighteen research papers by friends and colleagues of Rien Kaashoek are included in the second part.

Contributions by J. Agler, Z.A. Lykova, N.J. Young, J.A. Ball, G.J. Groenewald, S. ter Horst, H. Bart, T. Ehrhardt, B. Silbermann, J.M. Bogoya, S.M. Grudsky, I.S. Malysheva, A. Böttcher, E. Wegert, Z. Zhou, Y. Eidelman, I. Haimovici, A.E. Frazho, A.C.M. Ran, B. Fritzsche, B. Kirstein, C.Madler, J. J. Jaftha, D.B. Janse van Rensburg, P. Junghanns, R. Kaiser, J. Nemcova, M. Petreczky, J.H. van Schuppen, L. Plevnik, P. Semrl, A. Sakhnovich, F.-O. Speck, S. Sremac, H.J. Woerdeman, H. Wolkowicz and N. Vasilevski.


Toeplitz operators Caratheodory extremal functions canonical forms individual eigen- values Hessenberg Toeplitz matrices

Editors and affiliations

  • Harm Bart
    • 1
  • Sanne ter Horst
    • 2
  • André C.M. Ran
    • 3
  • Hugo J. Woerdeman
    • 4
  1. 1.Econometric InstituteErasmus UniversityRotterdamThe Netherlands
  2. 2.Department of Mathematics; Unit for BMINorth-West UniversityPotchefstroomSouth Africa
  3. 3.Department of MathematicsVrije UniversiteitAmsterdamThe Netherlands
  4. 4.Department of MathematicsDrexel UniversityPhiladelphiaUSA

Bibliographic information