Supercollider 2

  • Michael McAshan

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages i-xvii
  2. Worldwide Experience and Challenges

    1. Front Matter
      Pages 1-1
    2. Nicholas P. Samios
      Pages 9-21
  3. Accelerators

    1. Front Matter
      Pages 23-23
    2. Ruben Carcagno, John Zeigler
      Pages 25-38
    3. T. Garavaglia, S. K. Kauffmann, R. Stiening, D. M. Ritson
      Pages 39-58
    4. T. Garavaglia, S. K. Kauffmann, R. Stiening
      Pages 77-84
    5. S. R. Stampke, J. M. Peterson, D. V. Neuffer
      Pages 97-107
    6. D. J. Martin, L. K. Mestha, S. A. Miller, R. Talman
      Pages 109-126
  4. Computers/Controls

    1. Front Matter
      Pages 127-127
    2. M. P. Lakshminarayanan, R. Rajaram
      Pages 129-134
    3. George J. Blanar
      Pages 135-144
    4. M. J. Baggett, R. Leedy, C. Saltmarsh, J. C. Tompkins
      Pages 145-154
    5. C. Day, D. Balaban, W. Greiman, D. Hall, C. Saltmarsh, J. Tompkins
      Pages 155-162
  5. Conventional Construction

    1. Front Matter
      Pages 175-175
    2. Ted Kozman
      Pages 177-183
    3. P. L. Clemens, R. R. Mohr
      Pages 185-195
  6. Cryogenics

    1. Front Matter
      Pages 197-197
    2. R. Powell, H. Quack
      Pages 199-208
    3. R. P. Shutt, M. L. Rehak
      Pages 209-217
    4. R. Byrns, B. Heer, P. Limon, M. McAshan, J. Rasson, P. VanderArend
      Pages 219-225
    5. W. E. Schiesser, H. J. Shih, D. G. Hartzog, D. M. Herron, D. Nahmias, W. G. Stuber et al.
      Pages 227-243
  7. Detectors I

    1. Front Matter
      Pages 255-255
    2. John Womersley, Nicholas DiGiacomo, Kendrick Killian
      Pages 257-266
    3. H. Paar, D. Thomas, M. Sivertz, B. Ong, D. Acosta, T. Taylor et al.
      Pages 267-268
    4. Guilford Jones II, Elise G. Megehee
      Pages 287-297
    5. S. R. Gottesman, P. Bonanos, T. Brown, A. Carroll, I. H. Chiang, A. Favale et al.
      Pages 311-317
    6. H. Rykaczewski, D. Bernat, M. Bourquin, H. Brändle, R. Castella, G. Faber et al.
      Pages 319-338
  8. Materials and Magnets I

    1. Front Matter
      Pages 339-339
    2. L. R. Motowidlo, P. Valaris, H. C. Kanithi, M. S. Walker, B. A. Zeitlin
      Pages 341-348
    3. M. Ikeda, H. Ii, S. Meguro, K. Matsumoto
      Pages 349-356
    4. H. Preissner, R. Bouchard, P. Lüthke, A. Makulski, R. Meinke, K. Nesteruk
      Pages 357-363
    5. H. Kanithi, F. Krahula, B. Zeitlin
      Pages 365-369
    6. T. H. Nicol, F. A. Harfoush, M. A. Harrison, J. S. Kerby, K. P. Koepke, P. M. Mantsch et al.
      Pages 371-380
    7. M. A. Green, R. F. Althaus, P. J. Barale, R. W. Benjegerdes, W. S. Gilbert, M. I. Green et al.
      Pages 389-395
    8. G. F. Sintchak, J. G. Cottingham, G. L. Ganetis
      Pages 397-404
  9. Systems and Controls

  10. Poster Sessions

    1. Front Matter
      Pages 435-435
    2. J. A. Pusateri, P. Bonanos, A. Carroll, I. H. Chiang, A. Favale, T. Fields et al.
      Pages 437-443

About this book


The Second International Industrialization Symposium on the Supercollider, IISSC, was held in Miami Beach Florida on March 14-16, 1990. It was an even bigger and more successful meeting than our ftrst in New Orleans in 1989. There were 691 attendees and 75 exhibitors. The enthusiasm shown by both the speakers and the audience was exhilarating for all attendees. The symposium again brought together the physicists and engineers designing the machine, the industrial organizations supporting the design and construction, the education community, and the governmental groups responsible for the funding and management of the SSC project. We believe it is this unique rnix which makes this particular meeting so valuable. The theme of this symposium was "The SSC-Americas Research Partnership" and the varied presentations throughout the meeting high-lighted that theme. The keynote speakers were: Dr. Roy Schwitters, Director of the SSC Mr. Paul F. Orefftce, Chairman of the Board of Dow Chemical Company Honorable W. Hinson Moore, Deputy Secretary of Energy Mr. Morton Meyerson, Chairman of the Texas National Research Laboratory Commission Honorable Robert A. Roe Congressman from New Jersey and Chairman, House Science and Technology Committee Honorable Tom Bevel, Representative from Alabama, Chairman House Energy and Water Development Appropriation Subcommittee In addition there was a discussion of issues by a panel of four Congressmen: Honorable Jim Chapman, Representative from Texas Honorable Vic Fazio, Representative from California Honorable James A. Hayes, Representative from Louisiana Honorable Carl D.


construction design development education energy engine liquid machine management organization photonics polymer quenching research water

Editors and affiliations

  • Michael McAshan
    • 1
  1. 1.Superconducting Super Collider LaboratoryDallasUSA

Bibliographic information