The Rare Earths in Modern Science and Technology

Volume 2

  • Gregory J. McCarthy
  • James J. Rhyne
  • Herbert B. Silber

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages i-xxiii
  2. The Frank H. Spedding Award Address Studies of Rare Earth Intermetallic Compounds and Rare Earth Hydrides

  3. Materials Preparation

    1. D. A. Hukin, R. C. C. Ward, D. K. Morris, K. Davies
      Pages 25-30
    2. D. Bratland, K. A. Gschneidner Jr.
      Pages 31-32
    3. D. Fort, B. J. Beaudry, D. W. Jones, K. A. Gschneidner Jr.
      Pages 33-37
    4. E. M. T. Velu, E. C. Subbarao, H. O. Gupta, K. P. Gupta, S. N. Kaul, A. K. Majumdar et al.
      Pages 45-50
    5. Susan Beda, John M. Haschke, Laura S. Quayle, Harry A. Eick
      Pages 51-52
    6. Y. S. Kim, F. Planinsek, B. J. Beaudry, K. A. Gschneidner Jr.
      Pages 53-58
    7. E. J. Peterson, E. M. Foltyn, E. I. Onstott
      Pages 65-66
    8. Lauri Niinistö, Jussi Valkonen, Paula Ylinen
      Pages 67-68
  4. Coordination Chemistry

    1. F. Gaume, C. Linarès, A. Louat, M. Blanchard
      Pages 77-82
    2. J.-C. G. Bünzli, D. Wessner, B. Klein
      Pages 99-104
    3. E. J. Peterson, J. A. Caird, W. T. Carnall, Jan P. Hessler, H. R. Hoekstra, C. W. Williams
      Pages 111-116
    4. Y. Suzuki, S. Yokoi, M. Katoh, M. Minato, N. Takizawa
      Pages 121-126
    5. J.-C. G. Bünzli, J.-R. Yersin, M. Vuckovic
      Pages 133-138
    6. Y. Minagawa, K. Kojima, T. Kaneko, F. Yajima, K. Yamaguchi, T. Miwa et al.
      Pages 139-145
  5. Structural and Solid State Chemistry

    1. F. Hulliger, R. Schmelczer
      Pages 153-158
    2. R. G. Haire, J. P. Young, J. Y. Bourges
      Pages 159-164
    3. James A. Fahey, Graheme J. B. Williams, J. M. Haschke
      Pages 181-186
    4. G. K. Brauer, B. Willaredt
      Pages 187-188
    5. Marcus Vlasse, Claude Parent, Roger Salmon, Gilles Le Flem
      Pages 195-201
    6. J. M. Leger, N. Yacoubi, J. Loriers
      Pages 203-208
    7. P. Caro, J. Derout, L. Beaury, E. Antic Fidancev
      Pages 215-220
    8. Alain Tomas, Luc Brossard, Micheline Guittard, Pierre Laurelle
      Pages 221-222
    9. Simone Bénazeth, Jérôme Dugué, Daniel Carré, Micheline Guittard, Jean Flahaut
      Pages 223-224
  6. Valence Instabilities and Superconductivity

    1. A. Jayaraman, R. G. Maines, E. Bucher
      Pages 239-243
    2. James C. Glass, Frank Pobell
      Pages 245-246
    3. F. J. Cadieu, J. J. Cuomo, R. J. Gambino
      Pages 247-252
    4. R. J. Stierman, O. D. McMasters, K. A. Gschneidner Jr.
      Pages 253-254
  7. Physical Properties of Elements and Alloys

    1. J. X. Boucherle, D. Givord, J. Laforest, P. Morin
      Pages 261-271
    2. M. Ausloos, J. B. Sousa, M. M. Amado, R. F. Pinto, J. M. Moreira, M. E. Bragal et al.
      Pages 273-277

About this book


The Fourteenth Rare Earth Research Conference was held June 25- 28, 1979, at North Dakota State University in Fargo. The meeting was hosted by the College of Science and Mathematics and the Depart­ ment of Physics. Since the first conference was held in 1960, sub­ sequent meetings have grown in size and prestige to become one of the leading international forums devoted to disseminating new infor­ mation relative to rare earth science and technology. The meeting in Fargo was one of the largest yet held. The Program Committee scheduled over 160 papers repres~nting colleagues from 18 countries in both oral and poster sessions that - cluded Spectroscopy (Luminescence, Fluorescence, Laser, Mossbauer, ESR); Metallurgy and Materials Preparation; Solution, Solvation and Analytical Chemistry; X-ray and Neutron Diffraction; Transport and Thermal Properties; Hydrides; Magnetism; and Rare Earth Technology. A first and special event which the organizers hope to perpet­ uate at future meetings was to announce the recipient of the rare earth prize, hereafter called the Frank H. Spedding Award. Governor Arthur A. Link, State of North Dakota, on behalf of the Selection Committee, presented Professor Frank H. Spedding with a special citation. Professor Spedding spoke briefly and introduced the first recipient, Professor W. Edward Wallace from the University of Pitts­ burgh.


Europium Hafnium Neutron chemistry cobalt diffraction erbium luminescence magnetism material metals nickel noble metal spectroscopy transport

Editors and affiliations

  • Gregory J. McCarthy
    • 1
    • 2
  • James J. Rhyne
    • 3
  • Herbert B. Silber
    • 4
  1. 1.North Dakota State UniversityFargoUSA
  2. 2.Pennsylvania State UniversityUniversity ParkUSA
  3. 3.National Bureau of StandardsUSA
  4. 4.University of Texas at San AntonioSan AntonioUSA

Bibliographic information