King James

  • Authors
  • Pauline Croft

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages i-vii
  2. Pauline Croft
    Pages 1-9
  3. Pauline Croft
    Pages 10-47
  4. Pauline Croft
    Pages 48-68
  5. Pauline Croft
    Pages 69-86
  6. Pauline Croft
    Pages 87-99
  7. Pauline Croft
    Pages 100-116
  8. Pauline Croft
    Pages 117-130
  9. Pauline Croft
    Pages 131-154
  10. Pauline Croft
    Pages 155-181
  11. Pauline Croft
    Pages 182-187
  12. Back Matter
    Pages 188-214

About this book


The accession of James VI of Scotland to the English throne in 1603 created a multiple monarchy covering the three kingdoms of England, Scotland and Ireland which endured until 1922. Clear and concise, Pauline Croft's study provides a compelling narrative of the king's reign in all of his dominions, together with an authoritative analysis of his remarkable, though flawed, achievements.

Bringing together all of the latest researches and debates on the three realms in the years 1566-1625, Croft emphasises their interaction and the problems posed by multiple monarchy. She also examines the interplay between domestic and foreign policy, religious tensions at home and abroad, finance and parliamentary politics, and discusses the king's writings, his personal life, and his own view of his role.

An ideal introduction for all those with an interest in the reign of James VI of Scotland and I of England, this is the first account to successfully place the king in the context of all his kingdoms.


England Europe kingdom Monarchie monarchy Scotland

Bibliographic information