© 2005

The Contemporary British Novel Since 1980

  • Editors
  • James Acheson
  • Sarah C. E. Ross

Table of contents

  1. Front Matter
    Pages i-v
  2. Introduction

    1. James Acheson, Sarah C. E. Ross
      Pages 1-8
  3. Realism and other -isms

  4. Postcolonialism and other -isms

  5. Feminism and other -isms

About this book


Written by some of the world's finest contemporary literature specialists, the specially commissioned essays in this volume examine the work of more than twenty major British novelists, including Peter Ackroyd, Martin Amis, Iain (M.) Banks, Pat Barker, Julian Barnes, A.S. Byatt, Angela Carter, Janice Galloway, Kazuo Ishiguro, Hanif Kureishi, Ian McEwan, Salman Rushdie, Zadie Smith, Graham Swift, Rose Tremain, Marina Warner, Irvine Welsh and Jeanette Winterson. Focusing mainly on authors whose first novels have appeared since 1980, the essays provide expert and original analysis of the most recent trends in the theory and practice of contemporary British fiction, and are organized by these 4 major approaches: realism, postcolonialism, feminism and postmodernism.


British novel English literature fiction novel postmodernism realism Research in English and American Literature

About the authors

JAMES ACHESON is former Senior Lecturer in English at the University of Canterbury in Christchurch, New Zealand. He is author of Samuel Beckett's Artistic Theory and Practice: Criticism, Drama, Early Fiction and John Fowles.

SARAH C. E. ROSS is a Lecturer in English at Massey University, New Zealand, where she teaches Medieval and Renaissance Literature and Contemporary Fiction.

Bibliographic information