Journal of the Korean Physical Society

, Volume 62, Issue 12, pp 1900–1904 | Cite as

Incommensurate spin spiral of the geometrically-frustrated antiferromagnet CdCr2O4

  • Jae-Ho Chung
  • Young Sang Song
  • Sungil Park
  • Hiroaki Ueda
  • Yutaka Ueda
  • Seung-Hun Lee


CdCr2O4 is a cubic spinel with geometrically-frustrated antiferromagnetic interactions between Cr3+ ions. We investigated the structural and magnetic phase transitions in powder samples by using magnetization and neutron diffraction measurements. An antiferromagnetic phase transition was observed at T N = 8.1 K, below which the crystallographic unit cell was tetragonal (c < a = b). Its incommensurate antiferromagnetic ordering below T N resembles dimerized spin chains in the ab planes with the propagation vector k = (0, 0.088, 1). We argue that the Dzyaloshinskii-Moriya interaction and the magnetic frustration play important roles in establishing the observed magnetic ordering.


Geometrical frustration Dzyloshinskii-Moriya exchange Incommensurate magnetic order 


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. [1]
    S.-H. Lee, H. Takagi, D. Louca, M. Matsuda, S. Ji, H. Ueda, Y. Ueda, T. Katsufuji, J.-H. Chung, S. Park, S.-W. Cheong and C. Broholm, J. Phys. Soc. Jpn. 79, 011004 (2010).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  2. [2]
    S.-H. Lee, C. Broholm, T. H. Kim, W. Ratcliff, II and S.-W. Cheong, Phys. Rev. Lett. 84, 3718 (2000).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  3. [3]
    J.-H. Chung, M. Matsuda, S.-H. Lee, K. Kakurai, H. Ueda, T. J. Sato, H. Takagi, K.-P. Hong and S. Park, Phys. Rev. Lett. 95, 0944420 (2005).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  4. [4]
    S.-H. Lee, Y. Qiu, C. Broholm, Y. Ueda and J. J. Rush, Phys. Rev. Lett. 86, 5554 (2001).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  5. [5]
    Y. Yamasaki, H. Sagayama, T. Goto, M. Matsuura, K. Hirota, T. Arima and Y. Tokura, Phys. Rev. Lett. 98, 147204 (2007).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  6. [6]
    S.-H. Lee, D. Louca, H. Ueda, S. Park, T. J. Sato, M. Isobe, Y. Ueda, S. Resenkranz, P. Zschack, J. Iniguez, Y. Qiu and R. Osborn, Phys. Rev. Lett. 93, 156407 (2004).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  7. [7]
    J.-H. Chung, J.-H. Kim, S.-H. Lee, T. J. Sato, T. Suzuki, M. Katsumura and T. Katsufuji, Phys. Rev. B 77, 054412 (2008).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  8. [8]
    O. Tchernyshyov, R. Moessner and S. L. Sondhi, Phys. Rev. B 66, 064403 (2002).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  9. [9]
    S. Ji, S.-H. Lee, C. Broholm, T. Y. Koo, W. Ratcliff, S.-W. Cheong and P. Zschack, Phys. Rev. Lett. 103, 037201 (2009).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  10. [10]
    M. Matsuda, H. Ueda, A. Kikkawa, Y. Tanaka, K. Katsumata, Y. Narumi, T. Inami, Y. Ueda and S.-H. Lee, Nat. Phys. 3, 397 (2007).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  11. [11]
    M. Matsuda, M. Takeda, M. Nakamura, K. Kakurai, A. Oosawa, E. Lelievre-Berna, J.-H. Chung, H. Ueda, H. Takagi and S.-H. Lee, Phys. Rev. B 75, 104415 (2007).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  12. [12]
    M. Elhajal, B. Canals, R. Sunyer and C. Lacroix, Phys. Rev. B 71, 094420 (2005).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  13. [13]
    G.-W. Chern, C. J. Fennie and O. Tchernyshov, Phys. Rev. B 74, 060405(R) (2006).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  14. [14]
    J. Rodriguez-Carvajal, Physica B 192, 55 (1993).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  15. [15]
    I. Kagomiya, K. Kohn, M. Toki, Y. Hata and E. Kita, J. Phys. Soc. Jpn. 71, 916 (2002).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  16. [16]
    A. N. Yaresko, Phys. Rev B 77, 115106 (2008).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  17. [17]
    J.-H. Chung, unpublished.Google Scholar
  18. [18]
    Ch. Kant, J. Deisenhofer, T. Rudolf, F. Mayr, F. Schrettle, A. Loidl, V. Gnezdilov, D. Wulferding, P. Lemmens and V. Tsurkan, Phys. Rev. B 80, 214417 (2009).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© The Korean Physical Society 2013

Authors and Affiliations

  • Jae-Ho Chung
    • 1
  • Young Sang Song
    • 1
  • Sungil Park
    • 2
  • Hiroaki Ueda
    • 3
  • Yutaka Ueda
    • 3
  • Seung-Hun Lee
    • 4
  1. 1.Department of PhysicsKorea UniversitySeoulKorea
  2. 2.HANARO CenterKorea Atomic Energy Research InstituteDaejeonKorea
  3. 3.The Institute for Solid State PhysicsThe University of TokyoKashiwa, ChibaJapan
  4. 4.Department of PhysicsUniversity of VirginiaCharlottesvilleUSA

Personalised recommendations