Journal of the Korean Physical Society

, Volume 74, Issue 2, pp 164–167 | Cite as

Extraordinary Transmission of Light Through Freestanding Au Films with Subwavelength Apertures and Double Slits

  • Hyuntae Kim
  • Soobong ChoiEmail author
  • Seong Soo Choi
  • Woongkyu Park
  • Clare Chisu Byeon


We demonstrated the extraordinary transmission of light through a freestanding Au thin film with a 7×7 subwavelength aperture array and double slits. Firstly, we observed the dependence of the change in the light transmission through a plasmonic structure on the pitch size of the aperture array. Also, we fabricated a freestanding Au thin film to avoid the effects of absorption and reflection of the substrate. We perforated the 7×7 subwavelength hole array on the Au film for extraordinary optical transmission caused by the electric field enhancement from the structures. Additionally, we designed a hybrid structure composed of 7×7 subwavelength apertures and double slits to enhance the transmission of the light. The normalized-to-area transmission of the hybrid structures was approximately five times greater than that of the structures without double slits.


Freestanding metal film Plasmonics Double slits Optical waveguiding 


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. [1]
    H. A. Bethe, Phys. Rev. 66, 163 (1944).ADSMathSciNetCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  2. [2]
    W. L. Barnes, W. A. Murray, J. Dintinger, E. Devaux and T. W. Ebbesen, Phys. Rev. Lett. 92, 10 (2004).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  3. [3]
    C. Genet and T. W. Ebbesen, Nature 445, 7123 (2007).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  4. [4]
    D. J. Park, S. B. Choi, K. J. Ahn, D. S. Kim, J. H. Kang, Q. Han Park, M. S. Jeong and D.-K. Ko, Phys. Rev. B 77, 115451 (2008).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  5. [5]
    S. B. Choi, D. J. Park, Y. K. Jeong, Y. C. Yun, M. S. Jeong, C. C. Byeon, J. H. Kang, Q. Han Park and D. S. Kim, Appl. Phys. Lett. 94, 6 (2009).Google Scholar
  6. [6]
    Z. Liu, J. M. Steele, W. Srituravanich, Y. Pikus, C. Sun and X. Zhang, Nano Lett. 5, 1726 (2005).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  7. [7]
    P. Christopher, H. Xin, A. Marimuthu and S. Linic, Nature Mater. 11, 1140 (2012).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  8. [8]
    F. G. de Abajo, Optics Express 10, 1475 (2002).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  9. [9]
    P. J. Feibelman and D. R. Hamann, Phys. Rev. B 29, 6463 (1984).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  10. [10]
    Q. Xu, J. Bao, F. Capasso and G. M. Whitesides, Angewandte Chemie - International Edition 45, 3631 (2006).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  11. [11]
    D. J. Park, J. T. Hong, J. K. Park, B. H. Son, F. Rotermund, S. Lee, K. J. Ahn, D. S. Kim and Y. H. Ahn, Curr. Appl. Phys. 13, 753 (2013).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  12. [12]
    P. A. Khomyakov, G. Giovannetti, P. C. Rusu, G. Brocks, J. Van Den Brink and P. J. Kelly, Phys. Rev. B - Conden. Matter Mater. Phys. 79, 19 (2009).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  13. [13]
    R. Zia and M. L. Brongersma, Nature Nanotech. 2, 426 (2007).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  14. [14]
    H. Kim and B. Lee, Optics Express, 16, 8969 (2008).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  15. [15]
    B. Lee, S. Kim, H. Kim and Y. Lim, Prog. in Quant. Electron. 34, 47 (2010).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  16. [16]
    F. Yan and T. Vo-Dinh, Sensors and Actuators, B: Chem. 121, 61 (2007).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  17. [17]
    W. Ni, Z. Yang, H. Chen, L. Li and J. Wang, J. the Am. Chem. Soc. 130, 6692 (2008).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  18. [18]
    S. Pillai, K. R. Catchpole, T. Trupke and M. A. Green, J. Appl. Phys. 101, 9 (2007)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  19. [19]
    S. S. Choi, M. J. Park, S. J. Oh, C. H. Han, Y. S. Kim and N. K. Park, Physics Status Solidi (A) 215, 1 (2018).Google Scholar
  20. [20]
    R. H. Ritchie, Phys. Rev. 106, 874 (1957).ADSMathSciNetCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  21. [21]
    L. Pan, Y. Park, Y. Xiong, E. Ulin-Avila, Y. Wang, L. Zeng, S. Xiong, J. Rho, C. Sun, D. B. Bogy and X. Zhang, Sci. Rept. 1, 1 (2011).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  22. [22]
    W. L. Barnes, A. Dereux and T. W. Ebbesen, Nature 424, 824 (2003).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© The Korean Physical Society 2019

Authors and Affiliations

  • Hyuntae Kim
    • 1
  • Soobong Choi
    • 1
    Email author
  • Seong Soo Choi
    • 2
  • Woongkyu Park
    • 3
  • Clare Chisu Byeon
    • 4
  1. 1.Department of PhysicsIncheon National UniversityIncheonKorea
  2. 2.Research Center for Nanobio ScienceSunMoon UniversityAhsanKorea
  3. 3.Department of Physics and Astronomy and Center for Atom Scale ElectromagnetismSeoul National UniversitySeoulKorea
  4. 4.School of Mechanical EngineeringKyungpook National UniversityDaeguKorea

Personalised recommendations