Journal of the Korean Physical Society

, Volume 63, Issue 3, pp 654–658 | Cite as

Oscillatory transformative domain wall inner structure of the depinning domain wall around a notched ferromagnetic wire

  • Dede DjuhanaEmail author
  • Bambang Soegijono
  • Hong-Guang Piao
  • Suhk Kun Oh
  • Seong-Cho Yu
  • Dong-Hyun Kim


We have investigated the domain wall (DW) depinning behavior around the symmetric notches in ferromagnetic nanowires by means of a micromagnetic simulation. We observed that the depinning field decreases as the size of the notch increases. The change in the ratio of the height to the length of the bottom of the triangular notch is also considered, and a relatively insensitive variation of the depinning field is observed with for ratios greater than 2. When the depinning field strength is varied, the DW internal structure is found to change during the depinning process. At a lower depinning field (< 4 mT), the DW keeps its initial transverse wall structure whereas at a higher depinning field (> 4 mT), the DW is depinned with a transformation of the inner structure with an antivortex soon after the DW has escaped from the notch due to the Walker breakdown phenomenon. Very interestingly, with any external field, the depinned DW with antivortex inner structure is observed to move back to the original notch position. This is explainable because the notch acts as an attractive pinning potential for the DW.


Micromagnetic Ferromagnetic nanowire Depinning field Walker breakdown 


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. [1]
    D. A. Allwood, G. Xiong, C. C. Faulker, D. Atknson. D. Petit and R. P. Cowburn, Science 309, 1688 (2005).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  2. [2]
    S. S. P. Parkin, M. Hayashi and L. Thomas, Science 320, 190 (2008).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  3. [3]
    D. Backes, C. Schieback, M. Kläui, F. Junginger, H. Ehrke, P. Nielaba, U. Rüdiger, L. J. Heyderman, C. S. Chen, T. Kasama, R. E. Dunin-Borkowski, C. A. F. Vaz and J. A. C. Bland, Appl. Phys. Lett. 91, 112502 (2007).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  4. [4]
    D. Atkinson, D. S. Eastwood and L. K. Bogart, Appl. Phys. Lett. 92, 022510 (2008).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  5. [5]
    D. Djuhana, H.-G. Piao, S.-H. Lee, D.-H. Kim, S.-M. Ahn and S.-B. Choe. Appl. Phys. Lett. 97, 022511 (2010).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  6. [6]
    S.-B. Choe, J. Magn. Magn. Mater. 320, 1112 (2008).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  7. [7]
    S.-M. Ahn, K.-Y. Moon, D.-H. Kim and S.-B. Choe, Appl. Phys. Lett. 95, 152506 (2009).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  8. [8]
    M. Kläui, J. Phys. Condens. Matter 20, 313001 (2008).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  9. [9]
    L. K. Bogart, D. S. Eastwood and D. Atkinson, J. Appl. Phys. 104, 033904 (2008).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  10. [10]
    M. Hayashi, L. Thomas, C. Rettner, R. Moriya and S. S. P. Parkin, Nature Phys. 3, 21 (2007).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  11. [11]
    M. Hayashi, L. Thomas, C. Rettner, R. Moriya, X. Jiang and S. S. P. Parkin, Phys. Rev. Lett. 97, 207205 (2006).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  12. [12]
    A. Himeno, K. Kondo, H. Tanigawa, S. Kasai and T. Ono, J. Appl. Phys. 103, 07E703 (2008).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  13. [13]
    S. H. Huang and C. H. Lai, Appl. Phys. Lett. 95, 032505 (2009).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  14. [14]
    U.-H. Pi, Y.-J. Cho, J.-Y. Bae, S.-C. Lee, S. Seo, W. Kim, J.-H. Moon, K.-J. Lee and H.-W. Lee, Phys. Rev. B 84, 024426 (2011).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  15. [15]
    M. J. Donahue and D. G. Porter, OOMMF User’s Guide, (2002).Google Scholar
  16. [16]
    N. L. Schryer and L. R. Walker, J. Appl. Phys. 45, 5406 (1974).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  17. [17]
    D. Djuhana, H.-G. Piao, S.-C. Yu, S. K. Oh and D.-H. Kim, J. Appl. Phys. 106, 103926 (2009).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  18. [18]
    Y. Nakatani, A. Thiaville and J. Miltat, J. Magn. Magn. Matt. 290, 750 (2005).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© The Korean Physical Society 2013

Authors and Affiliations

  • Dede Djuhana
    • 1
    Email author
  • Bambang Soegijono
    • 1
  • Hong-Guang Piao
    • 2
  • Suhk Kun Oh
    • 3
  • Seong-Cho Yu
    • 3
  • Dong-Hyun Kim
    • 3
  1. 1.Department of PhysicsUniversity of IndonesiaDepokIndonesia
  2. 2.Laboratory of Advanced Materials, Department of Materials Science and EngineeringTsinghua UniversityBeijingChina
  3. 3.Department of PhysicsChungbuk National UniversityCheongjuKorea

Personalised recommendations