The European Physical Journal Special Topics

, Volume 173, Issue 1, pp 121–138 | Cite as

Effective method of characterization of the phase and intensity profiles of asymmetrically distorted light pulses in optical fiber systems

  • P. Tchofo Dinda
  • J. Atangana
  • A. Kamagate
  • A. Labruyère
  • T. C. Kofane
Regular Article


We address the problem of characterization of light pulses that propagate in long-haul high-bit-rate optical communication systems, under strongly perturbed conditions. We show that the conventional technique for characterization of the phase and intensity profile of such pulses becomes qualitatively inconsistent when the pulse’s profile is asymmetrically distorted with respect to its center-of-mass. We resolve these inconsistencies by partially reformulating the conventional technique by means of appropriate pulse parameters, which we call upgraded parameters, which allow a fair characterization of the intensity and phase of all types of light pulses, including those which are asymmetrically distorted. We illustrate the effectiveness of the upgraded parameters by applying them to a meticulous characterization of light pulses in a dispersion-managed optical fiber system in which third-order dispersion is acting as a strong perturbation.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. A. Ackaert, P. Demeester, P. Lagasse, Ch. Politi, M. Omahony, T. Berg, B. Tromborg, J. Sanitair, E. Patzak, S. Rao, P. Vogel, Ch. Minot, D. Erasme, Ann. Telecom. 58, 1550 (2003)Google Scholar
  2. V.E. Zakharov, S. Wabnitz, Optical Solitons: Theoretical Challenges and Industrial Perspectives (Springer-Verlag, 1998)Google Scholar
  3. S. Bigo, Y. Frignac, J.C. Antona, G. Charlet, Ann. Telecom. 58, 1757 (2003)Google Scholar
  4. P. Tchofo Dinda, A. Labruyere, K. Nakkeeran, J. Fatome, A.B. Moubissi, S. Pitois, G. Millot, Ann. Telecom. 58, 1785 (2003)Google Scholar
  5. F. Matera, V. Eramo, A. Schiffini, M. Guglielmucci, M. Settembre, IEEE/OSA J. Lightwave Technol. 21, 456 (2003)Google Scholar
  6. L.J. Richardson, W. Forysiak, N.J. Doran, IEEE Photonics Technol. Lett. 13, 209 (2001)Google Scholar
  7. J. Fatome, S. Pitois, P. Tchofo Dinda, G. Millot, Optics Express 11, 1553 (2003)Google Scholar
  8. A. Gray, Z. Huang, Y.W.A. Lee, I.Y. Khrushchevand, I. Bennion, Opt. Lett. 29, 926 (2004)Google Scholar
  9. M. Funabashi, Z. Zhu, Z. Pan, B. Xian, L. Paraschis, D.L. Harris, S.J.B. Yoo, IEEE Photon. Technol. Lett. 18, 2081 (2006)Google Scholar
  10. H. Masuda, H. Kawakami, S. Kuwahara, A. Hirano, K. Sato, Y. Miyamoto, Electron. Lett. 39, 1668 (2003)Google Scholar
  11. D.Z. Chen, T.J. Xia, G. Wellbrock, P. Mamyshev, S. Penticost, G. Grosso, A. Puc, P. Perrier, H. Fevrier, J. Lightwave Technol. 25, 28 (2007)Google Scholar
  12. S. Wielandy, P.S. Westbrook, M. Fishteyn, P. Reyes, W. Shairer, H. Rohde, G. Lehmann, Electron. Lett. 40, 690 (2004)Google Scholar
  13. S. Boscolo, S.K. Turitsyn, K.J. Blow, Opt. Commun. 217, 227 (2003)Google Scholar
  14. J.C. Simon, L. Bramerie, F. Ginovart, V. Roncin, M. Gay, S. Feve, E. Le Cren, M.L. Chares, Ann. Telecom. 58, 1708 (2003)Google Scholar
  15. A. Labruyere, P. Tchofo Dinda, Opt. Commun. 266, 676 (2006)Google Scholar
  16. J. Atangana, A. Kamagate, P. Tchofo Dinda, A. Labruyere, T.C. Kofane, J. Opt. Soc. Am. B 26, 371 (2009)Google Scholar
  17. T.I. Lakoba, G.P. Agrawal, J. Opt. Soc. Am. B 16, 1332 (1999)Google Scholar
  18. G.P. Agrawal (New York Academic Press, 2001)Google Scholar
  19. P. Tchofo Dinda, A.B. Moubissi, K. Nakkeeran, Phys. Rev. E 64, 016608 1 (2001)Google Scholar
  20. R. Boesch, P. Stancioff, C.R. Willis, Phys. Rev. B 38, 6713 (1988)Google Scholar
  21. A. Hasegawa, Y. Kodama, Solitons Opt. Comm. (Oxford University Press, 1995)Google Scholar
  22. J.G. Caputo, N. Flytzanis, M.P. Sorensen, J. Opt. Soc. Am. B 12, 139 (1995)Google Scholar
  23. S. Wabnitz, Y. Kodama, A.B. Aceves, Opt. Fib. Technol. 1, 187 (1995)Google Scholar
  24. S.K. Turitsyn, T. Schafer, K.H. Spatschek, V.K. Mezentsev, Opt. Commun. 163, 122 (1999)Google Scholar
  25. P. Tchofo Dinda, K. Nakkeeran, A. Labruyere, Opt. Lett. 27, 382 (2002)Google Scholar
  26. K. Nakkeeran, Y.C. Kwan, P.K.A. Wai, A. Labruyere, P. Tchofo Dinda, A.B. Moubissi, J. Opt. Soc. Am. B 21, 1901 (2004)Google Scholar
  27. P. Lazardis, G. Debarge, P. Gallion, Opt. Lett. 22, 685 (1997)Google Scholar
  28. P. Tchofo Dinda, K. Nakkeeran, A.B. Moubissi, Opt. Commun. 187, 427 (2001)Google Scholar
  29. J. Posth, T. Schafer, E. Laedke, K. Spatschek, Opt. Commun. 219, 241 (2003)Google Scholar
  30. A.H. Liang, H. Toda, A. Hasegawa, Opt. Lett. 24, 799 (1999)Google Scholar
  31. S.K. Turitsyn, M.P. Fedoruk, A. Gornakova, Opt. Lett. 24, 869 (1999)Google Scholar
  32. A. Maruta, Y. Yamamoto, S. Okamoto, A. Suziki, T. Morita, A. Agata, A. Hasegawa, Electron. Lett. 36, 1947 (2000)Google Scholar
  33. Z. Shumin, L. Fuyun, X. Wencheng, Y. Shiping, W. Jian, D. Xiaoyi, Opt. Commun. 237, 1 (2004)Google Scholar
  34. J. Fatome, S. Pitois, P. Tchofo Dinda, G. Millot, E. Le Rouzic, B. Cuenot, E. Pincemin, S. Gosselin, IEEE Photon. Technol. Lett. 16, 2365 (2004)Google Scholar

Copyright information

© EDP Sciences and Springer 2009

Authors and Affiliations

  • P. Tchofo Dinda
    • 1
  • J. Atangana
    • 2
  • A. Kamagate
    • 1
  • A. Labruyère
    • 1
  • T. C. Kofane
    • 2
  1. 1.Institut Carnot de Bourgogne, UMR 5209 CNRS - Université de BourgogneDijon CedexFrance
  2. 2.Physics DepartmentUniversity of Yaounde IYaoundeCameroon

Personalised recommendations