Biosynthesised ZnO : Dy3+ nanoparticles: Biodiesel properties and reusable catalyst for N-formylation of aromatic amines with formic acid

  • L. S. Reddy Yadav
  • M. Raghavendra
  • K. H. Sudheer Kumar
  • N. Dhananjaya
  • G. Nagaraju
Regular Article


ZnO nanoparticles doped with trivalent dysprosium ions (Dy3+) were prepared through the green combustion technique using E. tirucalli plant latex as a fuel. The fundamental and optical properties of the samples are examined via the X-ray diffraction, FTIR, UV-visible analytical methods and morphology by scanning electron microscope and transmission electron microscope. Rietveld refinement results show that the ZnO : Dy3+ were crystallized in the wurtzite hexagonal structure with space group P63mc (No. 186). The average particle size of ZnO : Dy3+ prepared with the different concentration of latex was found to be in the range 30-38nm, which is also confirmed by TEM analysis. A rapid and convenient method for the one-pot preparation of N-formamide derivatives aromatic amines and amino acid esters has been developed using Dy3+ doped ZnO as a catalytic agent. This method provides an efficient and much improved modification over reported protocols regarding yield, clean and work-up procedure milder reaction conditions. In this work, Pongamiapinnata oil was recycled for the preparation of biodiesel via Dy3+ doped ZnO as a catalytic agent.


  1. 1.
    P. Partha Pal, J. Manam, Mater. Sci. Eng. B 178, 400 (2013)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  2. 2.
    X.W. Sun, J.Z. Huang, J.X. Wang, Z. Xu, Nano Lett. 8, 41219 (2008)ADSGoogle Scholar
  3. 3.
    P. Partha Pal, J. Manam, J. Lumin. 145, 340 (2014)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  4. 4.
    C. Shivakumara, A.K. John, S. Behera, N. Dhananjaya, R. Saraf, Eur. Phys. J. Plus 132, 44 (2017)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  5. 5.
    M. Chandrasekhar, H. Nagabhushana, K.H. Sudheerkumar, N. Dhananjaya, S.C. Sharma, D. Kavyashree, C. Shivakumara, B.M. Nagabhushana, Mater. Res. Bull. 55, 237 (2014)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  6. 6.
    N. Ranjan Panda, B.S. Acharya, T. Basanta Singh, R.K. Gartia, J. Lumin. 136, 369 (2013)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  7. 7.
    L. Luo, L. Gong, Y.F. Liu, J. Chen, C.R. Ding, X.G. Tang, X.L. Li, Z.R. Qiu, H.Z. Wang, X.M. Chen, K.F. Li, H.H. Fan, K.W. Cheah, Opt. Mater. 32, 1066 (2010)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  8. 8.
    N.R. Panda, B.S. Acharya, T. Basanta Singh, R.K. Gartia, Mater. Lett. 95, 205 (2013)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  9. 9.
    M. Haase, H. Schäfer, Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 50, 5808 (2011)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  10. 10.
    Y.P. Du, Y.W. Zhang, L.D. Sun, C.H. Yan, J. Phys. Chem. C 112, 12234 (2008)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  11. 11.
    T. Tsuji, Y. Terai, M.H.B. Kamarudin, K. Yoshida, Y. Fujiwara, J. Lumin. 132, 3125 (2012)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  12. 12.
    F.L. Xian, X.Y. Li, Opt. Laser Technol. 45, 508 (2013)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  13. 13.
    J.H. Zheng, J.L. Song, Q. Jiang, J.S. Lian, Appl. Surf. Sci. 258, 6735 (2012)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  14. 14.
    X.Y. Ma, Z. Wang, Mat. Sci. Semicon. Proc. 15, 227 (2012)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  15. 15.
    R. Garcia, G.A. Hirata, J. Mc Kittirick, J. Mater. Res. 16, 10599 (2001)Google Scholar
  16. 16.
    G. Amira, B. Chakera, E. Habi, Spctrochem. Acta A 177, 164 (2017)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  17. 17.
    S. Bhatia, N. Verma, R. Kumar, J. Alloys Compd. 726, 1274 (2017)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  18. 18.
    G.S. Wua, Y.L. Zhuang, Z.Q. Lin, X.Y. Yuan, T. Xie, L.D. Zhang, Physica E 31, 5 (2006)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  19. 19.
    K. Ebisawa, T. Okuno, K. Abe, J. Appl. Phys. 47, 7236 (2008)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  20. 20.
    Y. Liu, W. Luo, R. Li, H. Zhu, X. Chen, Opt. Express 17, 9748 (2009)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  21. 21.
    M. Chandrasekhar, H. Nagabhushana, S.C. Sharma, K.H. Sudheer Kumar, N. Dhananjaya, D.V. Sunitha, C. Shivakumara, B.M. Nagabhushana, J. Alloys Compd. 584, 417 (2014)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  22. 22.
    L. Chen, J. Zhang, X. Zhang, F. Liu, X. Wang, Opt. Express 16, 11795 (2008)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  23. 23.
    B.C. Chen, M.S. Bendarz, R. Zhao, Tetrahedron Lett. 41, 5453 (2000)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  24. 24.
    K.H. Sudheerkumar, N. Dhananjaya, L.S. Reddy Yadav, Eur. Phys. J. Plus 131, 74 (2016)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  25. 25.
    K. Kobayashi, S. Nagato, M. Kawakita, O. Morikawa, H. Konishi, Chem. Lett. 24, 575 (1995)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  26. 26.
    A. Kakehi, S. Ito, S. Hayashi, T. Fujii, Bull. Chem. Soc. Jpn. 68, 3573 (1995)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  27. 27.
    Y. Han, L. Cai, Tetrahedron Lett. 38, 5423 (1997)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  28. 28.
    B.B. Lohray, S. Baskaran, B.S. Rao, B.Y. Reddy, I.N. Rao, Tetrahedron Lett. 40, 4855 (1999)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  29. 29.
    S. Kobayashi, K.J. Nishio, J. Org. Chem. 59, 6620 (1994)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  30. 30.
    S. Kobayashi, M. Yashuda, I. Hachiya, Chem. Lett. 25, 407 (1996)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  31. 31.
    Y. Mojmir Such, A.H. Adam Elmehriki, H.E. Robert Hudson, Org. Lett. 13, 3952 (2011)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  32. 32.
    P. Strazzolini, A.G. Giumanini, S. Cauci, Tetrahedron 46, 1081 (1990)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  33. 33.
    J. Waki, J.J. Meienhofer, Org. Chem. 42, 2019 (1977)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  34. 34.
    Min Lei, Lei Ma, Lihong Hu, Tetrahedron Lett. 51, 4186 (2010)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  35. 35.
    Joong-Gon Kim, Doo Ok Jang, Bull. Korean Chem. Soc. 31, 2989 (2010)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  36. 36.
    S. Bahari, B. Mohammadi-Aghdam, S. Mohammad Sajadi, F. Zeidali, Bull. Korean Chem. Soc. 33, 2251 (2012)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  37. 37.
    K.V. Yatish, H.S. Lalithamba, R. Suresh, S.B. Arun, P. Vinaykumar, Proc. Safety Environ. Prot. 102, 667 (2016)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  38. 38.
    P. Klug, L.E. Alexander, X-ray Diffraction Procedure (Wiley, New York, 1954)Google Scholar
  39. 39.
    R.W.G. Wyckoff, Crystal Structures (Interscience, New York, 1964)Google Scholar
  40. 40.
    X. Yan, J. He, G. Evans, D. Duan, X. Zhu, Appl. Catal. B: Environ. 55, 243 (2005)CrossRefGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Società Italiana di Fisica and Springer-Verlag GmbH Germany, part of Springer Nature 2018

Authors and Affiliations

  • L. S. Reddy Yadav
    • 1
    • 2
  • M. Raghavendra
    • 2
  • K. H. Sudheer Kumar
    • 1
  • N. Dhananjaya
    • 3
  • G. Nagaraju
    • 2
  1. 1.Department of ChemistryB.M.S. Institute of TechnologyBangaloreIndia
  2. 2.Department of ChemistrySiddaganga Institute of TechnologyTumkurIndia
  3. 3.Department of PhysicsB.M.S. Institute of TechnologyBangaloreIndia

Personalised recommendations