Positronium formation from porous silica in backscattering and transmission geometries

  • Søren L. AndersenEmail author
  • Rasmus R. Johansen
  • Jakob B. Overgaard
  • Johan K. Mortensen
  • Kristoffer K. Andersen
  • Heine D. Thomsen
  • Mikkel D. Lund
  • Jacques Chevallier
  • Helge Knudsen
  • Ulrik I. Uggerhøj
Regular Article
Part of the following topical collections:
  1. Topical issue: Electron and Positron Induced Processes


The Aarhus positron beam line is utilised to measure the positronium formation fraction from porous silica thin films created by the Glancing Angle Deposition technique. The highest formation fraction found from these studies in a backscattering geometry is (57.7 ± 1.0)% in good agreement with other measurements. In transmission mode, the maximum positronium output is found to be (12.5 ± 0.5)%. These are the first measurements of positronium formation in transmission of a porous silica thin film, a starting point for future attempts to optimise the positronium formation in transmission.


Normal Thickness Porous Silica Formation Fraction Transmission Geometry Carbon Foil 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


  1. 1.
    S.G. Karshenboim, Int. J. Mod. Phys. A 19, 3879 (2004)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  2. 2.
    S. Marder, V.W. Hughes, C.S. Wu, W. Bennett, Phys. Rev. 103, 1258 (1956)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  3. 3.
    K.F. Canter, A.P. Mills Jr., S. Berko, Phys. Rev. Lett. 33, 7 (1974)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  4. 4.
    A.P. Mills Jr., Phys. Rev. Lett. 41, 1828 (1978)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  5. 5.
    M.H. Holzscheiter, M. Charlton, Rep. Prog. Phys. 62, 1 (1999)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  6. 6.
    D.B. Cassidy, T.H. Hisakado, H.W.K. Tom, A.P. Mills Jr., Phys. Rev. Lett. 108, 043401 (2012)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  7. 7.
    L.B. Madsen, Nucl. Instrum. Methods B 221, 174 (2004)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  8. 8.
    P.M. Platzman, A.P. Mills Jr., Phys. Rev. B 49, 454 (1994)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  9. 9.
    R.S. Brusa, A. Dupasquier, in Physics with Many Positrons, Proceedings of the International School of Physics “Enrico Fermi”, Course CLXXIV, edited by R.S. Brusa, A. Dupasquier, A.P. Mills Jr. (IOS Press, Amsterdam and SIF, Bologna, 2010), pp. 245–296Google Scholar
  10. 10.
    S. Mariazzi, P. Bettotti, R.S. Brusa, Phys. Rev. Lett. 104, 243401 (2010)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  11. 11.
    R. Ferragut, A. Calloni, A. Dupasquier, G. Consolati, F. Quasso, M.G. Giammarchi, D. Trezzi, W. Egger, L. Ravelli, M.P. Petkov, S.M. Jones, B. Wang, O.M. Yaghi, B. Jasinska, N. Chiodini, A. Paleari, J. Phys.: Conf. Ser. 225, 012007 (2010)ADSGoogle Scholar
  12. 12.
    D.B. Cassidy, P. Crivelli, T.H. Hisakado, L. Liszkay, V.E. Meligne, P. Perez, H.W.K. Tom, A.P. Mills Jr., Phys. Rev. A 81, 012715 (2010)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  13. 13.
    D.B. Cassidy, A.P. Mills Jr., Nature 449, 195 (2007)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  14. 14.
    P. Crivelli, U. Gendotti, A. Rubbia, L. Liszkay, P. Perez, C. Corbel, Phys. Rev. A 81, 052703 (2010)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  15. 15.
    A.P. Mills Jr., E.D. Shaw, R.J. Chichester, D.M. Zuckerman, Phys. Rev. B 40, 2045 (1989)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  16. 16.
    M.R. Poulsen, M. Charlton, J. Chevallier, B.I. Deutch, L.V. Jørgensen, G. Laricchia, J. Phys.: Condens. Matter 3, 2849 (1991)ADSGoogle Scholar
  17. 17.
    P. Balling, D. Fregenal, T. Ichioka, H. Knudsen, H.-P.E. Kristiansen, J. Merrison, U.I. Uggerhøj, Nucl. Instrum. Methods B 221, 200 (2004)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  18. 18.
    S. Mariazzi, P. Bettotti, S. Larcheri, L. Toniutti, R.S. Brusa, Phys. Rev. B 81, 235418 (2010)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  19. 19.
    K. Robbie, L.J. Friedrich, S.K. Dew, T. Smy, M.J. Brett, J. Vac. Sci. Technol. A 13, 1032 (1995)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  20. 20.
    C. Buzea, K. Kaminska, G. Beydaghyan, T. Brown, C. Elliott, C. Dean, K. Robbie, J. Vac. Sci. Technol. B 23, 2545 (2005)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  21. 21.
    H. Saito, T. Hyodo, in New Directions in Antimatter Chemistry and Physics, edited by C.M. Surko, F.A. Gianturco (Kluwer, Dordrecht, 2010), pp. 101–114Google Scholar
  22. 22.
    R.G. Greaves, J. Moxom, in Non-Neutral Plasma Physics V, edited by M. Schauer, T. Mitchell, R. Nebel (American Institute of Physics, 2003), pp. 140–148Google Scholar
  23. 23.
    A.P. Mills Jr., E.M. Gullikson, Appl. Phys. Lett. 49, 1121 (1986)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  24. 24.
    R. Khatri, M. Charlton, P. Sferlazzo, K.G. Lynn, A.P. Mills Jr., L.O. Roellig, Appl. Phys. Lett. 57, 2374 (1990)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  25. 25.
    P.J. Schultz, K.G. Lynn, Rev. Mod. Phys. 60, 701 (1988)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  26. 26.
    Y. Nagashima, Y. Morinaka, T. Kurihara, Y. Nagai, T. Hyodo, T. Shidara, K. Nakahara, Phys. Rev. B 58, 12676 (1998)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  27. 27.
    O. Mogensen, J. Chem. Phys. 60, 998 (1974)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  28. 28.
    M. Eldrup, A. Vehanen, P.J. Schultz, K.G. Lynn, Phys. Rev. B 32, 7048 (1985)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  29. 29.
    A.P. Mills Jr., R.J. Wilson, Phys. Rev. A 26, 490 (1982)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© EDP Sciences, SIF, Springer-Verlag Berlin Heidelberg 2014

Authors and Affiliations

  • Søren L. Andersen
    • 1
    Email author
  • Rasmus R. Johansen
    • 1
  • Jakob B. Overgaard
    • 1
  • Johan K. Mortensen
    • 1
  • Kristoffer K. Andersen
    • 1
  • Heine D. Thomsen
    • 1
  • Mikkel D. Lund
    • 1
  • Jacques Chevallier
    • 1
  • Helge Knudsen
    • 1
  • Ulrik I. Uggerhøj
    • 1
  1. 1.Department of Physics and AstronomyAarhus UniversityAarhus CDenmark

Personalised recommendations