Technical Physics Letters

, Volume 39, Issue 6, pp 556–559 | Cite as

Magnetomigration in granular cobalt-copper films deposited by the ion-plasma method

  • E. Yu. BuchinEmail author
  • D. A. Kokanov
  • S. G. Simakin
  • V. V. Naumov


We have studied the effect of a constant magnetic field on the structure and composition of cobalt-copper (Co-Cu) granular alloy films deposited by the ion-plasma method. The phenomenon of magnetomigration of the main components and impurities has been observed. A necessary condition for this effect is a high mobility of adatoms, which has been achieved by ion-plasma deposition onto hot (200°C) substrates at high energies of incident metal ions. Under the action of an external magnetic field with strength above 300 Oe, both diamagnetic and paramagnetic adatoms migrate in opposite directions perpendicular to the field lines. Using this effect, it is possible to obtain thin magnetic films possessing high diamagnetic susceptibility and having a low content of undesired impurities (chlorine, hydrogen, carbon, argon, etc.).


Technical Physic Letter Constant Magnetic Field Copper Film Granular Film Thin Magnetic Film 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. 1.
    Magnetism of Nanosystems Based on Rare-Earth and 3d-Transition Metals, Ed. by V. O. Vas’kovskii (Yekaterinburg, 2007) [in Russian].Google Scholar
  2. 2.
    M. B. Stearns and Y. Cheng, Appl. Phys. 75, 6894 (1994).Google Scholar
  3. 3.
    A. Jesche, A. Gorbunoff, A. Mensch, et al., J. Appl. Phys. 107, 023904 (2010); doi: 10.1063/1.3277023.ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  4. 4.
    Physical Quantities: A Handbook, Ed. by I. S. Grigor’ev and E. Z. Meilikhov (Energoatomizdat, Moscow, 1991) [in Russian].Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Pleiades Publishing, Ltd. 2013

Authors and Affiliations

  • E. Yu. Buchin
    • 1
    Email author
  • D. A. Kokanov
    • 1
  • S. G. Simakin
    • 1
  • V. V. Naumov
    • 1
  1. 1.Institute of Physics and Technology (Yaroslavl Division)Russian Academy of SciencesYaroslavlRussia

Personalised recommendations