Physics of the Solid State

, Volume 60, Issue 11, pp 2200–2206 | Cite as

Formation of a Domain Structure in Multilayer CoPt Films by Magnetic Probe of an Atomic Force Microscope

  • A. G. TemiryazevEmail author
  • M. P. Temiryazeva
  • A. V. Zdoroveyshchev
  • O. V. Vikhrova
  • M. V. Dorokhin
  • P. B. Demina
  • A. V. Kudrin

Abstract—A possibility of changing the magnetic type structure of multilayer CoPt films under action of the magnetic field of the atomic force microscope probe is demonstrated. A new method of non-contact magnetic-force measurements based on artificial increase in the electrostatic interaction between the probe and the film is proposed. This method enables one to controllably change the distance between a probe and a film, thus changing the strength of the magnetic interaction. Using it, one can create from a uniformly magnetized state both a labyrinth domain structure and isolated domains, which are apparently magnetic skyrmions.



This work was carried out in the framework of state task of the Ministry of Education and Science of the Russian Federation (project no. 8.1751.2017/PCh) and supported by the Russian Foundation for Basic Research (projects nos. 16-07-01102_a and 17-37-80008_mol_ev_a).


  1. 1.
    A. Fert, N. Reyren, and V. Cros, Nat. Rev. Mater. 2, 17031 (2017).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  2. 2.
    O. Boulle, J. Vogel, H. Yang, S. Pizzini, D. de Souza Chaves, A. Locatelli, T. O. Mentes, A. Sala, L. D. Buda-Prejbeanu, O. Klein, M. Belmeguenai, Y. Roussigne, A. Stashkevich, S. M. Cherif, L. Aballe, et al., Nat. Nanotechnol. 11, 449 (2016).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  3. 3.
    S. Woo, K. Litzius, B. Kruger, M. Y. Im, L. Caretta, K. Richter, M. Mann, A. Krone, R. M. Reeve, M. Weigand, P. Agrawal, I. Lemesh, M. A. Mawass, P. Fi-scher, M. Kläui, and G. S. Beach, Nat. Mater. 15, 501 (2016).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  4. 4.
    C. Moreau-Luchaire, S. C. Mouta, N. Reyren, J. Sampaio, C. A. Vaz, N. Van Horne, K. Bouzehouane, K. Garcia, C. Deranlot, P. Warnicke, P. Wohlhuter, J. M. George, M. Weigand, J. Raabe, V. Cros, and A. Fert, Nat. Nanotechnol. 11, 444 (2016).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  5. 5.
    A. Hrabec, J. Sampaio, M. Belmeguenai, I. Gross, R. Weil, S. M. Chérif, A. Stachkevitch, V. Jacques, A. Thiaville, and S. Rohart, Nat.Commun. 8, 15765 (2017).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  6. 6.
    W. Legrand, D. Maccariello, N. Reyren, K. Garcia, C. Moutafis, C. Moreau-Luchaire, S. Collin, K. Bouzehouane, V. Cros, and A. Fert, Nano Lett. 17, 2703 (2017).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  7. 7.
    J. Chang, V. L. Mironov, B. A. Gribkov, A. A. Fraerman, S. A. Gusev, and S. N. Vdovichev, J. Appl. Phys. 100, 104304 (2006).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  8. 8.
    V. L. Mironov, B. A. Gribkov, S. N. Vdovichev, S. A. Gu-sev, A. A. Fraerman, O. L. Ermolaeva, A. B. Shubin, A. M. Alexeev, P. A. Zhdan, and C. Binns, J. Appl. Phys. 106, 053911 (2009).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  9. 9.
    G. V. Arzamastseva, A. M. Balbashov, F. V. Lisovskii, E. G. Mansvetova, A. G. Temiryazev, and M. P. Temiryazeva, J. Exp. Theor. Phys. 120, 687 (2015).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  10. 10.
    A. G. Temiryazev, S. A. Saunin, V. E. Sizov, and M. P. Temiryazeva, Bull. Russ. Acad. Sci.: Phys. 78, 49 (2014).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  11. 11.
    A. V. Zdoroveyshchev, M. V. Dorokhin, P. B. Demina, A. V. Kudrin, O. V. Vikhrova, M. V. Ved’, Yu. A. Danilov, I. V. Erofeeva, R. N. Krjukov, and D. E. Nikolichev, Semiconductors 49, 1601 (2015).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  12. 12.
    A. V. Zdoroveyshchev, M. V. Dorokhin, O. V. Vikh-rova, P. B. Demina, A. V. Kudrin, A. G. Temiryazev, and M. P. Temiryazeva, Phys. Solid State 58, 2267 (2016).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  13. 13.
    F. Büttner, I. Lemesh, M. Schneider, B. Pfau, C. M. Günther, P. Hessing, J. Geilhufe, L. Caretta, D. Engel, B. Krüger, J. Viefhaus, S. Eisebitt, and G. S. D. Beach, Nat. Nanotechnol. 12, 1040 (2017).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  14. 14.
    M. Raju, A. Yagil, A. Soumyanarayanan, A. K. C. Tan, A. Almoalem, O. M. Auslaender, and C. Panagopoulos, arXiv:1708.04084v1 (2017).Google Scholar
  15. 15.
    A. Soumyanarayanan, M. Raju, A. L. Gonzalez Oyarce, A. K. C. Tan, M.-Y. Im, A. P. Petrovic, P. Ho, K. H. Khoo, M. Tran, C. K. Gan, F. Ernult, and C. Panagopoulos, Nat. Mater. 16, 898 (2017).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Pleiades Publishing, Ltd. 2018

Authors and Affiliations

  • A. G. Temiryazev
    • 1
    Email author
  • M. P. Temiryazeva
    • 1
  • A. V. Zdoroveyshchev
    • 2
  • O. V. Vikhrova
    • 2
  • M. V. Dorokhin
    • 2
  • P. B. Demina
    • 2
  • A. V. Kudrin
    • 2
  1. 1.Fryazino Branch, Kotelnikov Institute of Radio Engineering and Electronics, Russian Academy of SciencesFryazinoRussia
  2. 2.Physico–Technical Research Institute of Lobachevskii State University of Nizhny NovgorodNizhny NovgorodRussia

Personalised recommendations