Physics of Particles and Nuclei

, Volume 48, Issue 5, pp 813–814 | Cite as

New LHC resonance with mass 750 GeV and the vacuum stability in the Standard Model

The International Session-Conference of SNP PSD RAS “Physics of Fundamental Interactions” April 12–15, 2016, Dubna, Russia Session 2—Theory of Fundamental Interactions


In the present talk we show that the correction to the Higgs mass coming from the bound state S of 6t + 6 quarks, predicted early by C.D. Froggatt and ourselves, leads to the just borderline of the Standard Model vacuum stability thereby confirming the accuracy of the multiple point principle (principle of degenerate vacua), if a mass of the bound state S coincides with the mass 750 GeV of the new diphoton state recently observed by LHC.


  1. 1.
    J. Olsen and M. Kado, LHC Seminar “ATLAS and CMS Physics Results from Run 2”, CERN, 2015. Scholar
  2. 2.
    D. L. Bennett and H. B. Nielsen, Int. J. Mod. Phys. A 9, 5155 (1994).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  3. 2a.
    D. L. Bennett, C. D. Froggatt, and H. B. Nielsen, Proceedings of the 27th International Conference on High Energy Physics (Glasgow, Scotland, 1994), Ed. by P. Bussey and I. Knowles (IOP Publishing Ltd., 1995), p. 557.Google Scholar
  4. 3.
    C. D. Froggatt, R. B. Nevzorov, H. B. Nielsen, and A. W. Thomas, arXiv:1510.05379.Google Scholar
  5. 4.
    C. D. Froggatt and H. B. Nielsen, Surveys High Energy Phys. 18, 55 (2003).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  6. 4a.
    C. D. Froggatt, H. B. Nielsen, and L. V. Laperashvili, Int. J. Mod. Phys. A 20, 1268 (2005).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  7. 5.
    C. D. Froggatt and H. B. Nielsen, Phys. Rev. D 80, 034033 (2009).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  8. 5a.
    C. D. Froggatt, C. R. Das, L. V. Laperashvili, and H. B. Nielsen, Yad. Fiz. 76, 172 (2013).Google Scholar
  9. 6.
    C. D. Froggatt, C. R. Das, L. V. Laperashvili, and H. B. Nielsen, Int. J. Mod. Phys. A 30, 1550132 (2015).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  10. 7.
    A. V. Bednyakov, B. A. Kniehl, A. F. Pikelner, and O. L. Veretin, Phys. Rev. Lett. 115, 201802 (2015).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Pleiades Publishing, Ltd. 2017

Authors and Affiliations

  • C. R. Das
    • 1
  • L. V. Laperashvili
    • 2
  • H. B. Nielsen
    • 3
  1. 1.Bogoliubov Laboratory of Theoretical PhysicsJoint Institute for Nuclear ResearchDubna, Moscow oblastRussia
  2. 2.National Research Center “Kurchatov Institute”—Institute of Theoretical and Experimental PhysicsMoscowRussia
  3. 3.Niels Bohr InstituteCopenhagenDenmark

Personalised recommendations