JETP Letters

, Volume 110, Issue 6, pp 405–410 | Cite as

Estimates of the Dependence of the Fusion Neutron Yield on the Initial Plasma Density and Temperature in Fast Pinches

  • A. N. Starostin
  • A. M. Zhitlukhin
  • Yu. V. Petrushevich
  • M. D. Taran
  • A. V. FilippovEmail author
  • V. E. Fortov
  • V. E. Cherkovets
Plasma, Hydro- and Gas Dynamics


The neutron generation by hot, dense, and fast Z- and Θ-pinch plasma with the parameters achievable at the present development stage of high-power pulsed technology has been calculated. It has been proposed to use a hot plasma with a high density of 1017 cm−3 as an initial state for subsequent compression by Z- and Θ-pinches to achieve the conditions necessary for fusion reactions. Such plasma can be obtained using high-power pulsed plasma accelerators.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.



A.N. Starostin and A.V. Filippov acknowledge the support of the Russian Science Foundation (project no. 16-12-10424-P).


  1. 1.
    L. A. Artsimovich, Controlled Thermonuclear Reactions (Fizmatlit, Moscow, 1961; Oliver and Boyd, Edinburgh, London, 1964).Google Scholar
  2. 2.
    H. E. Knoepfel, Pulsed High Magnetic Fields (North Holland, Amersterdam, London, 1970).Google Scholar
  3. 3.
    Yu. V. Matveev, Plasma Phys. Rep. 36, 200 (2010).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  4. 4.
    S. A. Slutz, M. C. Herrmann, R. A. Vesey, A. B. Sef-kow, D. B. Sinars, D. C. Rovang, K. J. Peterson, and M. E. Cuneo, Phys. Plasmas 17, 056303 (2010).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  5. 5.
    S. A. Slutz and R. A. Vesey, Phys. Rev. Lett. 108, 025003 (2012).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  6. 6.
    A. M. Zhitlukhin, I. V. Ilyushin, V. M. Safronov, and Yu. V. Skvortsov, Sov. J. Plasma Phys. 8, 287 (1982).Google Scholar
  7. 7.
    N. I. Arkhipov, A. M. Zhitlukhin, V. M. Safronov, V. V. Sidnev, and Yu. V. Skvortsov, in Proceedings of the 12th International Conference of Plasma Physics and Controlled Nuclear Fusion Research, Nice, France, 1988, Vol. 2, p. 683.Google Scholar
  8. 8.
    N. I. Arkhipov, A. M. Zhitlukhin, V. M. Safronov, and Yu. V. Skvortsov, Plasma Phys. Rep. 20, 782 (1994).ADSGoogle Scholar
  9. 9.
    V. F. Andreev, Yu. A. Kareev, N. M. Umrikhin, L. P. Feoktistov, and V. E. Fortov, INE Preprint No. 5519/7 (Inst. Nucl. Energy, Moscow, 1992).Google Scholar
  10. 10.
    M. G. Haines, Plasma Phys. Control. Fusion 53, 093001 (2011).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  11. 11.
    M. E. Cuneo, M. C. Herrmann, D. B. Sinars, S. A. Slutz, W. A. Stygar, R. A. Vesey, and J. L. Porter, IEEE Trans. Plasma Sci. 40, 3222 (2012).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  12. 12.
    D. V. Yurov and V. V. Prikhod’ko, Phys. Usp. 57, 1118 (2014).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  13. 13.
    A. S. Gerasimov and G. V. Kiselev, Phys. Usp. 46, 717 (2003).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  14. 14.
    M. A. Leontovich and S. M. Osovets, in Selected Works of M. A. Leontovich (Nauka, Moscow, 1985) [in Russian].Google Scholar
  15. 15.
    D. D. Ryutov, M. S. Derzon, and M. K. Matzen, Rev. Mod. Phys. 72, 167 (2000).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  16. 16.
    J. D. Huba, NRL Plasma Formulary (Naval Res. Lab., Washington, DC, 2006).Google Scholar
  17. 17.
    H. U. Rahman, F. J. Wessel, P. Ney, R. Presura, R. El-lahi, and P. K. Shukla, Phys. Plasmas 19, 122701 (2012).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  18. 18.
    V. V. Vikhrev and V. D. Korolev, Plasma Phys. Rep. 33, 356 (2007).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  19. 19.
    D. D. Ryutov, IEEE Trans. Plasma Sci. 43, 2363 (2015).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  20. 20.
    W. A. Stygar, M. E. Cuneo, D. I. Headley, H. C. Ives, R. J. Leeper, M. G. Mazarakis, C. L. Olson, J. L. Porter, T. C. Wagoner, and J. R. Woodworth, Phys. Rev. ST Accel. Beams 10, 030401 (2007).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  21. 21.
    H.-S. Park, O. A. Hurricane, D. A. Callahan, D. T. Casey, E. L. Dewald, T. R. Dittrich, T. Döppner, D. E. Hinkel, L. F. Berzak Hopkins, S. Le Pape, T. Ma, P. K. Patel, B. A. Remington, H. F. Robey, J. D. Sal-monson, and J. L. Kline, Phys. Rev. Lett. 112, 055001 (2014).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Pleiades Publishing, Inc. 2019

Authors and Affiliations

  • A. N. Starostin
    • 1
    • 2
  • A. M. Zhitlukhin
    • 1
  • Yu. V. Petrushevich
    • 1
  • M. D. Taran
    • 1
  • A. V. Filippov
    • 1
    • 2
    Email author
  • V. E. Fortov
    • 2
  • V. E. Cherkovets
    • 1
  1. 1.State Research Center of the Russian Federation Troitsk Institute for Innovation and Fusion ResearchTroitsk, MoscowRussia
  2. 2.Joint Institute for High TemperaturesRussian Academy of SciencesMoscowRussia

Personalised recommendations