Journal of NeuroVirology

, Volume 23, Issue 4, pp 642–655 | Cite as

2017 Colorado alphaherpesvirus latency society symposium

  • Nicholas L. Baird
  • Randall J. CohrsEmail author
Meeting Report


The 7th annual symposium of the Colorado Alphaherpesvirus Latency Society (CALS) convened 70 investigators who have authored over 2473 PubMed-listed publications involving herpesvirology and who traveled 110,408 miles from 3 continents, 6 countries, and 22 states. The 2-day symposium consisted of 26 oral presentations by investigators to discuss advances in the research of herpes simplex types 1 and 2, varicella zoster virus, bovine herpesvirus virus type 1, pseudorabies virus, and simian varicella virus latency. In addition, 18 promising graduate students and postdoctoral fellows presented posters, each preceded by a short oral summary, and a small group of exceptional undergraduates whose interest in herpesvirology is just beginning were also hosted. New this year was a special session led by volunteers with first-hand experience in NIH grant reviews to discuss the inner workings of an NIH study section.

This year marked the beginning of the Don Gilden Memorial...



Funding for this conference was provided, in part, by generous donations from Calibrate, Inc., Colorado Mountain Express, FedEx (store #2004), Harvard Bioscience, Integrated DNA Technologies, Multichannel Systems, Rocky Mountain SIMS, Thermo Fisher Scientific, Tivoli Distributing Company, VWR, Walmart (store #4288), a private donation from The VZV Foundation, and personal contributions from Nicholas Baird, Marius Birlea, Dan Carr, Randall Cohrs, Leonardo D’Aiuto, Don Gilden, Thomas Goodwin, Luis Schang, and Hua Zhu. The Don Gilden Memorial Lectureship was supported through generous donations from Ann Arvin Nicholas Baird, Marius Birlea, John Blaho, David Bloom, Edouard Cantin, Donald Coen, Elisabeth Cohen, Randall Cohrs, Leonardo D’Aiuto, Lynn Enquist, Anne & Mike Gershon, Thomas Kristie, Todd Margolis, Satish Mehta, Duane Pierson, Rozanne Sandri-Goldin, Nancy Sawtell, Luis Schang, Deepak Shukla, Padma Srikanth, Vaibhav Tiwari, and Hua Zhu. We especially thank the owners of The Christiania Lodge and The Tivoli Lodge at Vail.

Funding for this conference was also provided, in part, by Public Health Service grant AG046051 from the National Institute on Aging, National Institutes of Health. The views expressed in written conference materials or publications and by speakers and moderators do not necessarily reflect the official policies of the Department of Health and Human Services, nor does mention of trade names, commercial practices, or organizations imply endorsement by the U.S. Government.

Compliance with ethical standards

Conflict of interest

The authors declare that they have no competing interests.

Copyright information

© Journal of NeuroVirology, Inc. 2017

Authors and Affiliations

  1. 1.Department of NeurologyUniversity of Colorado School of MedicineAuroraUSA
  2. 2.Department of Immunology and MicrobiologyUniversity of Colorado School of MedicineAuroraUSA

Personalised recommendations