Optoelectronics Letters

, Volume 13, Issue 2, pp 95–99 | Cite as

Electromagnetically induced transparency in terahertz metamaterial based on two-bright-mode resonator

  • Yan Liu (刘岩)
  • Sai Chen (陈赛)
  • Fei Fan (范飞)
  • Meng Chen (陈猛)
  • Jin-jun Bai (白晋军)
  • Xiang-hui Wang (王湘晖)
  • Sheng-jiang Chang (常胜江)


An electromagnetically induced transparency (EIT) in metamaterial resonator with two bright modes and one dark mode at the terahertz (THz) band is numerically and experimentally demonstrated. Different from two kinds of the traditional passive modulations, our design can realize the passive modulation of EIT phenomenon by adding another bright mode resonator. Simulated and experimental results show that the transmission peak varies for incident THz waves with different polarization directions due to its asymmetric structure, which provides a novel way to realize high efficiency switch and modulation.

Document code


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. [1]
    S. Chen, F. Fan, Y. P. Miao, X. T. He, K. ZHANG and S. J. Chang, Nanoscale. 8, 4713 (2016).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  2. [2]
    M. Chen, F. Fan, P. F. Wu, H. ZHANG and S. J. Chang, Opt. Commun. 348, 66 (2015).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  3. [3]
    Y. S. Lin, Y. Qian, F. S. Ma, Z. Liu, P. Kropelnicki and C. Lee, Appl. Phys. Lett. 102, 111908 (2013).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  4. [4]
    V. Astley, K. S. Reichel, J. Jones, R. Mendis and D. M. Mittleman, Appl. Phys. Lett. 100, 231108 (2012).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  5. [5]
    F. Fan, S. J. Chang, W. H. Gu, X. H. Wang and A. Q. Chen, IEEE Photon. Technol. Lett. 24, 2080 (2012).Google Scholar
  6. [6]
    F. Fan, S. Chen, X. H. Wang and S. J. Chang, Opt. Exp. 21, 8614 (2013).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  7. [7]
    F. Fan, W. H. Gu, X. H. Wang and S. J. Chang, Appl. Phys. Lett. 102, 121113 (2013).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  8. [8]
    J. Li, C. M. Shah, W. Withayachumnankul, B. S.-Y. Ung, A. Mitchell, S. Sriram, M. Bhaskaran, S. Chang and D. Abbott, Appl. Phys. Lett. 102, 121101 (2013).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  9. [9]
    S. Chen, F. Fan, X. Wang, P. Wu, H. Zhang, and S. Chang, Terahertz isolator based on nonreciprocal magneto-metasurface, Opt. Exp. 23, 1015 (2015).Google Scholar
  10. [10]
    F. Fan, M. Chen, S. Chen, X. Wang and S. Chang, IEEE Photon. Technol. Lett. 27, 2485 (2015).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  11. [11]
    Y. Yang, I. I. Kravchenko, D. P. Briggs and J. Valentine, Nature Commun. 5, 5753 (2014).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  12. [12]
    S. Zhang, D. A. Genov, Y. Wang, M. Liu and X. Zhang, Phys. Rev. Lett. 101, 238 (2008).Google Scholar
  13. [13]
    N. Liu, L. Langguth, T. Weiss, J. Kästel, M. Fleischhauer, T. Pfau and H. Giessen, Nature Mater. 8, 758 (2009).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  14. [14]
    J. He, J. Wang, P. Ding, C. Fan, L. Arnaut and E. Liang, Plasmonics 10, 1115 (2015).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  15. [15]
    U. Schnorrberger, J. D. Thompson, S. Trotzky, R. Pugatch, N. Davidson, S. Kuhr and I. Bloch, Phys. Rev. Lett. 103, 033003 (2009).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  16. [16]
    Z. Y. Li, Y. F. Ma, R. Huang, R. Singh, J. Q. Gu, Z. Tian, J. G. Han and W. L. Zhang, Opt. Exp. 19, 8912 (2011).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  17. [17]
    V. A. Fedotov, M. Rose, S. L. Prosvirnin, N. Papasimakis and N. I. Zheludev, Phys. Rev. Lett. 99, 147401 (2007).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  18. [18]
    K. Aydin, I. M. Pryce and H. A. Atwater, Opt. Exp. 18, 13407 (2010).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  19. [19]
    H. M. Parvinnezhad, E. Philip, E. Rivera, P. Kung and S. M. Kim, Sci. Rep. 5, 74 (2015).Google Scholar
  20. [20]
    J. Gu, R. Singh, X. Liu, X. Zhang, Y. Ma, S. Zhang, S. A. Maier, Z. Tian, A. K. Azad, H. T. Chen, A. J. Taylor, J. Han and W. Zhang, Nature Commun. 3, 1151 (2012).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  21. [21]
    J. X. Chen, P. Wang, C. C. Chen, Y. H. Lu, H. Ming and Q. W. Zhan, Opt. Exp. 19, 5970 (2011).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Tianjin University of Technology and Springer-Verlag Berlin Heidelberg 2017

Authors and Affiliations

  • Yan Liu (刘岩)
    • 1
  • Sai Chen (陈赛)
    • 1
  • Fei Fan (范飞)
    • 1
  • Meng Chen (陈猛)
    • 1
  • Jin-jun Bai (白晋军)
    • 2
  • Xiang-hui Wang (王湘晖)
    • 1
  • Sheng-jiang Chang (常胜江)
    • 1
  1. 1.Tianjin Key Laboratory of Optoelectronic Sensor and Sensing Network Technology, Key Laboratory of Optical Information Science and Technology, Ministry of Education, Institute of Modern OpticsNankai UniversityTianjinChina
  2. 2.School of Electronics and Information EngineeringTianjin Polytechnic UniversityTianjinChina

Personalised recommendations