Advertisement

Science & Education

, Volume 27, Issue 5–6, pp 555–562 | Cite as

Siegel’s Educational Ideal and Non-instrumental Philosophical Practice

Harvey, Siegel (2017) Education’s Epistemology: Rationality, Diversity, and Critical Thinking. Oxford University Press, New York, NY. ISBN: 9780190682675 296 pages, price $ 85.00 (Hardcover)
  • Gábor Á. ZemplénEmail author
Book Review

Outlines of the Siegel Landscape

Harvey Siegel is an acclaimed philosopher of education, editor of one of the handbooks of the field (Oxford, 2009, reviewed in this journal by Peter Davson-Galle in 2014), and coauthor of the entry on the philosophy of education in the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (2008, 2013). He is well versed in contemporary epistemology and philosophy of education and is a well-known author for readers of Science & Education. Siegel gradually developed and explicated his views in over 100 journal articles, 17 of which are republished in the volume, with slight modification and a three-and-a-half-page Introduction.

Many of the essays touch on issues of epistemology and rationality, and some of these will be addressed below, but the most important take-home message for educators is that the (arguably) preeminent educational ideal is critical thinking. Arguing for it is less prominent in this volume than in other essay collections, as here the ideal is more or...

Notes

Conflict of interest

The author declares no conflict of interest.

Copyright information

© Springer Nature B.V. 2018

Authors and Affiliations

  1. 1.Department of Argumentation and Marketing Research, Institute of Business EconomicsEötvös University (ELTE)BudapestHungary
  2. 2.Morals and Science Research Group (MTA Lendület)Hungarian Academy of SciencesBudapestHungary
  3. 3.Department of Philosophy and History of ScienceBudapest University of Technology and Economics (BME)BudapestHungary

Personalised recommendations