The editors are pleased to announce the articles selected as the best papers published in Public Choice during calendar year 2016.

The Duncan Black Prize is awarded to John G. Matsusaka (University of Southern California) for:

  • Ballot-order effects in direct democracy elections, Public Choice 167(3–4), 257–276

The Gordon Tullock Prize is awarded to Jayme S. Lemke (Mercatus Center, George Mason University) for:

  • Interjurisdictional competition and the Married Women’s Property Acts, Public Choice 166(3–4), 291–313

The prizes carry honoraria of $1000 each. The honorarium for the Duncan Black Prize is funded by the editors of Public Choice; Springer, the publisher of Public Choice, funds the honorarium for the Gordon Tullock Prize.