Simon Memorial Prize: Call for Nominations

Nominations are sought for the 2020 Simon Memorial Prize.

The Simon Memorial Prize, established in 1957, commemorates the outstanding contributions to science of Sir Francis Simon. The prize is an international prize with no restrictions on nationality. It is awarded for distinguished work in experimental or theoretical low temperature physics.

Nominations should be sent to by November 15, 2019, together with a supporting statement describing the achievements for which the prize should be awarded. Letters supporting the nomination should be submitted together with the nomination. Selection policy is to avoid presenting the prize to previous winners of the Simon Memorial Prize or the Fritz London Memorial Prize.

The prize presentation will take place at the 29th International Conference on Low Temperature Physics (LT29), Sapporo, August 2020.

Professor Richard Haley

Secretary, Simon Memorial Prize Selection Panel

Department of Physics

Lancaster University

Lancaster LA1 4YB

United Kingdom

Recent winners:

Louis Taillefer (2017)

Peter Wölfle (2014)

Sergey V. Iordanskii and Nikolai B. Kopnin (2011)

Yasunobu Nakamura and Jaw-Shen Tsai (2008)

Grigory Volovik (2004)

Giorgio Frossati (2001)

George R. Pickett and Anthony M. Guenault (1998)

Alexander F. Andreev (1995)

For a full list, see

The Simon Memorial Prize is administered by the Low Temperature Group of the Institute of Physics, UK.

Additional information

Publisher’s Note

Springer Nature remains neutral with regard to jurisdictional claims in published maps and institutional affiliations.

Rights and permissions

Reprints and Permissions

About this article

Verify currency and authenticity via CrossMark

Cite this article

Simon Memorial Prize: Call for Nominations. J Low Temp Phys 196, 3 (2019).

Download citation