Journal of Applied Electrochemistry

, Volume 31, Issue 9, pp 1025–1031 | Cite as

Iron(III) tetramethoxyphenylporphyrin (FeTMPP-C1) as electrocatalyst for oxygen reduction in direct methanol fuel cells

  • G.-Q Sun
  • J.-T Wang
  • S. Gupta
  • R. F. Savinell


Iron(III) tetramethoxyphenylporphyrins (FeTMPP-C1) adsorbed on high-area carbons were heat treated in an inert atmosphere at various temperatures ranging from 200–1000 °C to produce catalyst for the electroreduction of oxygen in acid electrolytes. It was found that the specific surface area of the FeTMPP-C1/C catalysts linearly decreases with increase of the FeTMPP-C1 loading on RB carbon. The electrical resistivity of the catalyst decreases with the increase of heat treatment temperature in the range of 200 to 800 °C, then it increases beyond 800 °C. The results obtained with elemental analysis, FTIR spectroscopy and XPS techniques indicate that the onset temperature for partial decomposition for the FeTMPP chelate occurs at temperatures of about 400–500 °C. The surface concentrations of both iron and nitrogen on the carbon support increase as the heat treatment temperature increases, and the maximum occurs at 700 °C. Some possibilities about the nature of active sites in the catalyst are discussed.

carbon supports oxygen cathodes PBI PEM 


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. 1.
    M. Wilson and S. Gottesfeld, J. Appl. Electrochem. 22 (1992) 1.Google Scholar
  2. 2.
    J.-T. Wang, R.F. Savinell, J. Wainright, M. Litt and H. Yu, Electrochim. Acta 41 (1996) 193.Google Scholar
  3. 3.
    R. Jasinski, Nature 201 (1964) 1212.Google Scholar
  4. 4.
    H. Jahnke, M. Schonborn and G. Zimrnerman, Fortschr. Chem. Forsch. 61 (1976) 133.Google Scholar
  5. 5.
    A.B. Hoffman, D.M. Collins, V.W. Day, E.B. Fleischer, T.S. Srivastava and J.L. Hoard, J. Amer. Chem. Soc. 94 (1972) 3620.Google Scholar
  6. 6.
    D. Scherson, S.L. Gupta, C. Fierro, E.B. Yeager, M.E. Kordesch, J. Eldridge, R.W. Hoffman and J. Blue, Electrochim. Acta 28 (1983) 1205.Google Scholar
  7. 7.
    D. Scherson, A.A. Tanaka, S.L. Gupta, D. Tryk, C. Fierro, R. Holze and E.B. Yeager, Electrochim. Acta 31 (1986) 1247.Google Scholar
  8. 8.
    K. Wiesener, Electrochim. Acta 31 (1986) 1073.Google Scholar
  9. 9.
    A. Biloul, P. Gouerec, M. Savy and G. Scarbeck, J. Appl. Electrochem. 26 (1996) 1139.Google Scholar
  10. 10.
    G. Faubert, G. Lalande, R. Cote, D. Guay, J.P. Dodelet, L.T. Weng, P. Bertrand and G. Denest, Electrochim. Acta 41 (1996) 1689.Google Scholar
  11. 11.
    G. Lalande, R. Cote, D. Guay, J.P. Dodelet, L.T. Weng and P. Bertrand, Electrochim. Acta 42 (1997) 1379.Google Scholar
  12. 12.
    J.A.R. van Veen, J.F. van Baar and K.J. Kroese, J. Chem. Soc. Faraday Trans. 77 (1981) 2827.Google Scholar
  13. 13.
    J.A.R. van Veen, H.A. Colijn and J.F. van Baar, Electrochim. Acta 33 (1988) 801.Google Scholar
  14. 14.
    S.Lj. Gojkovic, S. Gupta and R.F. Savinell, J. Electrochem. Soc. 145 (1998) 3493.Google Scholar
  15. 15.
    S.Lj. Gojkovic, S. Gupta and R.F. Savinell, J. Electronal. Chem. 462 (1999) 63.Google Scholar
  16. 16.
    S.Lj. Gojkovic, S. Gupta and R.F. Savinell, Electrochim. Acta. 45 (1999) 899.Google Scholar
  17. 17.
    G.Q. Sun, J.T. Wang and R.F. Savinell, J. Appl. Electrochem. 28 (1998) 1087.Google Scholar
  18. 18.
    S. Gupta, D. Tryk, S.K. Zecevic, W. Aldred, D. Guo and R.F. Savinell, J. Appl. Electrochem. 28 (1998) 673.Google Scholar
  19. 19.
    D. Briggs and M.P. Seah, 'Practical Surface Analysis by Auger and X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy' (J. Wiley & Sons, New York, 1983).Google Scholar
  20. 20.
    E. Papirer and E. Guyon, Carbon 16 (1978) 127.Google Scholar
  21. 21.
    D.W. Thomas and A.E. Martell, J. Am. Chem. Soc. 81 (1959) 5111.Google Scholar
  22. 22.
    E.T. Shimomura, M.A. Phillippi and H.M. Goff, J. Am. Chem. SOC. 103 (1981) 6778.Google Scholar
  23. 23.
    I.A. Cohen, J. Am. Chem. Soc. 91 (1969) 1980.Google Scholar
  24. 24.
    M.L. Studebaker and R.W. Rinehart, Jr., Rubber Chem. Technol. 45 (1972) 106.Google Scholar
  25. 25.
    J. Zawadzki, Carbon 16 (1978) 491.Google Scholar
  26. 26.
    K.A. Radyushkina, J. Res. Inst. Catal. 30 (1982) 155.Google Scholar
  27. 27.
    M. Ladouceur, G. Lalande, D. Guay, J.P. Dodelet, L. Dognard-Bailey, M.L. Trudeau and R. Schulz, J. Electrochem. Soc. 140 (1993) 1974.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Kluwer Academic Publishers 2001

Authors and Affiliations

  • G.-Q Sun
    • 1
  • J.-T Wang
    • 1
  • S. Gupta
    • 1
  • R. F. Savinell
    • 1
  1. 1.Department of Chemical Engineering and Ernest B. Yeager Center for Electrochemical SciencesCase Western Reserve UniversityClevelandUSA

Personalised recommendations