THz Magneto-Photoresponse Spectroscopy of Two-Dimensional Electrons in an InAs/InGaAs/InAlAs Inserted-Channel

  • Mehdi PakmehrEmail author
  • A. Khaetskii
  • B. D. McCombe
  • O. Chiatti
  • S. F. Fischer
  • Ch. Heyn
  • W. Hansen


We have used THz magneto-photoresponse/transmission to measure various electronic parameters of a two-dimensional electron gas (2DEG) located primarily within an InAs inserted-channel and the surrounding InGaAs well in an asymmetric InAs/InGaAs/InAlAs inserted-well heterostructure in magnetic fields up to 10 T. We have developed an analytical approach to the photoresponse based on resonant heating of the 2DEG by cyclotron resonance (CR) absorption. The analysis incorporates a resonant T-profile mimicking the CR absorption, combined with the theoretical expression for quantized resistance oscillations of a 2DEG. Fitting of an individual set of PR data vs. magnetic field can in principle, provide g-factor, cyclotron effective mass, SdH scattering time, CR scattering time and carrier density of the 2DEs. This is a temperature differential technique, which leads to enhanced sensitivity to harmonic content of the Shubnikov-deHaas (S-dH) oscillations and thus to clearer spin-splitting of the Landau levels at lower fields than is possible in direct S-dH measurements at the same bath temperature. Results show an enhanced g-factor for electrons and large g-factor anisotropy.


THz magneto-photoresponse InAs composite channel 2DEGs Cyclotron resonance absorption 



MP and BDM thank J. Wolf for technical assistance in maintaining a supply of liquid helium under difficult circumstances. The work at UB was supported by the National Science Foundation under Materials World Network grant DMR 1008138 and by the Office of the Provost at UB, at the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin by DFG-MWN grant PAK 556 FI932/4-1, and at the Hamburg University via BMBF, project 01DJ12099 “Era.Net.Rus: SpinBar”.


  1. 1.
    Tatsushi Akazaki, Kunihiko Arai, Takatomo Enoki and Yasunobu Ishii, IEEE electron device letter 13, 325 (1992)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  2. 2.
    Hideaki Matsuzaki, Takashi Maruyama, Toshihiko Koasugi, Hiroyuki Takahashi, Masami Tokumitsu and Takatomo Enoki, IEEE Transactions on electron devices 54, 378 (2007)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  3. 3.
    A.Richter, M.Koch, T. Matsuyama,C. Heyn and U. Merket, Appl. Phys. Lett. 77, 3227 (2000)Google Scholar
  4. 4.
    P. Debray, S.M.S Rahman, J. Wan, R.S. Newrock, M. Cahay, A.T. Ngo, S.E. Ulloa, S.T. Herbert, M. Muhammad and M. Johnson, Nature Nanotechnology 4, 759-764 (2009)Google Scholar
  5. 5.
    S.S. Krishtopenko, I.I Gavrilenko and M. Goiran, Phys. Rev. B 87, 155113 (2013)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  6. 6.
    A. Das, Y. Ronen, Y. Most, Y. Oreg, M. Heiblum and H. Shtrikman, Nature Physics 8, 887 (2012)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  7. 7.
    A. D. Finck, D. J van Harlingen, P. K. Mohseni, K. Jung and X. Li, Phys. Rev. Lett. 110, 126406 (2013)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  8. 8.
    W. Kohn, Phys. Rev. 123, 1242 (1961)CrossRefzbMATHGoogle Scholar
  9. 9.
    M. Califano, T. Chakraborty, Pekka Pietilainen and C._M. Hu, Phys. Rev. B 76, 113315 (2006)Google Scholar
  10. 10.
    E. L. Ivchenko, A. A Kiselev and M. Willander, Solid State Commun. 102, 375 (1997)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  11. 11.
    A. A Kiselev, E. L. Ivchenko and U. Rossler, Phys. Rev. B 58, 16535 (1998)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  12. 12.
    F. Fang and P. Stiles, Phys. Rev. 174, 823 (1968)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  13. 13.
    Y.G Sadofyev, A. Ramamoorthy, B. Naser, J. P. Bird, S. R. Johnson and Y. H. Zhang, Appl. Phys. Lett. 81, 1833 (2002)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  14. 14.
    S. Brosing, K. Ensslin, A. G. Jansen, C. Nguyen, B. Brar, M. Thomas and H. Kroemer, Phys. Rev. B 61, 13045 (2000)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  15. 15.
    B. D. McCombe and R. J. Wagner, Advances in electronics and electron physics, (Academic Press, Volume 37, New York, 1975), P.31Google Scholar
  16. 16.
    A. Stephens, R. Miller, J. Sybert and D. Seiler, Phys. Rev. B 18, 4394 (1976)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  17. 17.
    M. Pakmehr et al, IOP Journal of Physics: Conf.Ser. 456, 012031 (2013)Google Scholar
  18. 18.
    M. J. Yang, P. J. Lin-Chung, B. V. Shanabrook, J. R. Waterman, R. J. Wagner, and W. J. Moore, Phys. Rev. B(R) 47, 1691 (1993)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  19. 19.
    J. Kono, S. T. Lee, M. S. Salib, G. S. Herold, A. Petrou, and B. D. McCombe, Phys. Rev. B 52, 8654 (1997)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  20. 20.
    A. Isihara and L. Smrcka, J. Phys. C:Solid State Phys 19, 6777 (1986)CrossRefGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Springer Science+Business Media New York 2014

Authors and Affiliations

  • Mehdi Pakmehr
    • 1
    Email author
  • A. Khaetskii
    • 1
  • B. D. McCombe
    • 1
  • O. Chiatti
    • 2
  • S. F. Fischer
    • 2
  • Ch. Heyn
    • 3
  • W. Hansen
    • 3
  1. 1.Department of Physics/University at BuffaloSUNYBuffaloUSA
  2. 2.Institut für Physik/Humboldt-Universität zu BerlinBerlinGermany
  3. 3.Institut für Angewandte PhysikUniversität HamburgHamburgGermany

Personalised recommendations