Advertisement

Christian Blum and Günther R. Raidl: Hybrid metaheuristics—powerful tools for optimization

Springer International Publishing, Switzerland, 2016, 157 pp, ISBN: 978-3-319-30882-1
  • Ofer M. Shir
Book Review

Combinatorial Optimization constitutes a broad, well-studied field that has been addressed by multiple scientific sub-communities of Computer Science and Applied Mathematics for at least six decades. It has been approached by means of formal algorithms and Mathematical Programming (often branded as Operations Research, yet strongly rooted at Theoretical Computer Science), and simultaneously has been treated by a wide range of dedicated heuristics (frequently under the label of Soft Computing). This book by Blum and Raidl constructs a bridge between these two approaches and aims to share expertise gained from each end. Although not the first book to target this gap, it offers a magnificent opportunity for scholars of either end of Combinatorial Optimization to “go hybrid”. Hybrids are a trendy route which has proven powerful and has recently accomplished a great deal. My review, particularly for readers of Genetic Programming and Evolvable Machines, offers a critical view from the Soft...

Copyright information

© Springer Science+Business Media, LLC 2017

Authors and Affiliations

  1. 1.Computer Science DepartmentTel-Hai CollegeUpper GalileeIsrael
  2. 2.The Galilee Research Institute - MigalUpper GalileeIsrael

Personalised recommendations