, Volume 75, Issue 1–2, pp 71–76 | Cite as

Determination of Six Analgesics by CE with an Improved Electromagnetic Induction Detector

  • Xiujuan Yang
  • Jun Feng
  • Zuanguang ChenEmail author
  • Rifang Liao
  • Xinchun Li
Short Communication


A novel, rapid and validated capillary electrophoretic method with an improved electromagnetic induction detector has been developed for the determination of ibuprofen, acetaminophen, amantadine hydrochloride, aminopyrine, diclofenac sodium and codeine phosphate in three kinds of analgesic pharmaceutical preparations. Fabrication of the electromagnetic inductor was the same as previously described, but a brand new electric circuit was designed for the detector to lower the background noise and improve the detection sensitivity. Important factors which might influence the response of the detector, including the value of the adjustable inductor and resistor, excitation frequency and voltage, were examined. Electrophoretic parameters affecting separation efficiency, such as variety of buffer, buffer pH, buffer concentration and electroosmotic flow modifier, were also deliberately investigated. Under the optimal conditions, highly linear response was obtained for these six compounds over three orders of magnitude with detection limits ranging from 0.1 to 1.0 μg mL−1 (S/N = 3). The average recovery and RSD were within the range of 97.5–101.5 and 1.1–2.3%, respectively. This simple, convenient, effective and stable method held great promise in quality control of pharmaceutical preparations.


Capillary electrophoresis Improved electromagnetic induction detector New electric circuit Adjustable inductor Analgesics 



Financial supports from the National Natural Science Foundation of China (NSFC, Grant Nos. 20575080 and 20727006) and Guangdong Provincial Science and Technology Project (Grant No 2008A030102009) are gratefully acknowledged.


  1. 1.
    Panusa A, Multari G, Incarnato G, Gagliardi L (2007) J Pharm Biomed Anal 43:1221–1227CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  2. 2.
    Perez Pavon JL, Casas Ferreira AM, Fernandez Laespada ME, Moreno Cordero B (2009) J Chromatogr A 1216:6728–6734CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  3. 3.
    Khoshayand MR, Abdollahi H, Shariatpanahi M, Saadatfard A, Mohammadi A (2008) Spectrochim Acta A Mol Biomol Spectrosc 70:491–499CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  4. 4.
    Namur J, Wassef M, Pelage JP, Lewis A, Manfait M, Laurent A (2009) J Control Release 135:198–202CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  5. 5.
    Valderrama P, Poppi RJ (2011) Chemometr Intell Lab 106:160–165CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  6. 6.
    Lou HG, Yuan H, Ruan ZR, Jiang B (2010) J Chromatogr B 878:682–688CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  7. 7.
    Djukovic D, Appiah-Amponsah E, Shanaiah N, Gowda GAN, Henry I, Everly M, Tobias B, Raftery D (2008) J Pharm Biomed Anal 47:328–334CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  8. 8.
    Hamoudov R, Pospisilova M (2006) J Pharm Biomed Anal 41:1463–1467CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  9. 9.
    Zhou W, Liu J, Wang E (1995) J Chromatogr A 715:355–360CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  10. 10.
    Yang XJ, Chen ZG, Liu C, Li OL (2010) Talanta 82:1935–1942CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  11. 11.
    Mazloum-Ardakani M, Beitollahi H, Amini MK, Mirkhalaf F, Mirjalili BF (2011) Biosens Bioelectron 26:2102–2106CrossRefGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Springer-Verlag 2011

Authors and Affiliations

  • Xiujuan Yang
    • 1
  • Jun Feng
    • 1
  • Zuanguang Chen
    • 1
    Email author
  • Rifang Liao
    • 2
  • Xinchun Li
    • 1
  1. 1.School of Pharmaceutical SciencesSun Yat-sen University, Guangzhou Higher Education Mega CenterGuangzhouPeople’s Republic of China
  2. 2.Department of PharmacySun Yat-Sen Memorial Hospital, Sun Yat-sen UniversityGuangzhouPeople’s Republic of China

Personalised recommendations