Applied Physics B

, Volume 116, Issue 1, pp 141–146 | Cite as

Design and fabrication of highly dispersive semiconductor double-chirped mirrors

  • Agata JasikEmail author
  • Maciej Dems
  • Paweł Wnuk
  • Piotr Wasylczyk
  • Anna Wójcik-Jedlińska
  • Kazimierz Regiński
  • Łukasz Zinkiewicz
  • Krzysztof Hejduk


We report on the development of semiconductor double-chirped mirrors with the group delay dispersion of −3,800 ± 100 fs2 in the wavelength range between 1,058 ÷ 1,064 nm and reflectivity of 99.1 %. The simplified plane-wave reflection transfer method was used to design the mirror multilayer stack. The mirror contains an epitaxial AlAs/GaAs structure topped with a SiNx antireflective layer.


GaAs Dispersion Compensation Group Delay Dispersion AlAs Layer Semiconductor Saturable Absorber 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.



This work was partially supported by the National Centre for Research and Development (NCBiR) under project 02-0009-10/2011, the National Science Centre (NCN) under project 3606/B/T02/2009/36, and by the ERDF within the POIG.02.01.00-14-122/09.


  1. 1.
    U. Keller, K.J. Weingarten, F.X. Kärtner, D. Kopf, B. Braun, I.D. Jung, R. Fluck, C. Höninger, N. Matuschek, J.A. der Au, IEEE J. Sel. Top. Quantum Electron 2, 435 (1996)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  2. 2.
    U. Keller, A.C. Tropper, Phys. Rep. 429, 67 (2006)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  3. 3.
    C.R.E. Baer, C. Kränkel, C.J. Saraceno, O.H. Heckl, M. Golling, R. Peters, K. Petermann, T. Südmeyer, G. Huber, U. Keller, Opt. Lett. 35, 2302 (2010)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  4. 4.
    V. Pervak, C. Teisset, A. Sugita, S. Naumov, F. Krausz, A. Apolonski, Opt. Express 16, 10220 (2008)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  5. 5.
    V. Pervak, O. Pronin, O. Razskazovskaya, J. Brons, I.B. Angelov, M.K. Trubetskov, A.V. Tikhonravov, F. Krausz, Opt. Express 20, 4503 (2012)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  6. 6.
    D. Kopf, G. Zhang, R. Fluck, M. Moser, U. Keller, Opt. Lett. 21, 486 (1996)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  7. 7.
    R. Paschota, G.J. Spühler, D.H. Sutter, N. Matuschek, U. Keller, M. Moser, R. Hövel, V. Scheuer, G. Angelow, T. Tschudi, Appl. Phys. Lett. 75, 2166 (1999)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  8. 8.
    M. Moenster, U. Griebner, W. Richter, G. Steinmeyer, IEEE J. Quantum Electron 43, 174 (2007)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  9. 9.
    A. Jasik, J. Muszalski, V.G. Talalaev, M. Kosmala, K. Pierściński, M. Bugajski, J. Appl. Phys. 106, 053101 (2009)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  10. 10.
    C.J. Saraceno, C. Schriber, M. Mangold, M. Hoffmann, O.H. Heckl, C.R.E. Baer, M. Golling, T. Südmeyer, U. Keller, IEEE J. Sel. Top. Quantum Electron 13, 598 (2007)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  11. 11.
    M. Hoffmann, O.D. Sieber, D.J.H.C. Maas, V.J. Wittwer, M. Golling, T. Südmeyer, U. Keller, Opt. Express 18, 10143 (2010)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  12. 12.
    M. Dems, Opto-Electr. Rev. 19, 340 (2011)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  13. 13.
    N. Matuschek, F.X. Kärtner, U. Keller, IEEE J. Quantum Electron 35, 129 (1999)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  14. 14.
    R. Szipócs, F. Krausz, Patent US005734503A 1998Google Scholar
  15. 15.
    A.P. Kovács, K. Osvay, Z. Bor, R. Szipöcs, Opt. Lett. 20, 788 (1995)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Springer-Verlag Berlin Heidelberg 2013

Authors and Affiliations

  • Agata Jasik
    • 1
    Email author
  • Maciej Dems
    • 2
  • Paweł Wnuk
    • 3
  • Piotr Wasylczyk
    • 4
  • Anna Wójcik-Jedlińska
    • 1
  • Kazimierz Regiński
    • 1
  • Łukasz Zinkiewicz
    • 4
  • Krzysztof Hejduk
    • 1
  1. 1.Institute of Electron TechnologyWarsawPoland
  2. 2.Institute of PhysicsLodz University of TechnologyLodzPoland
  3. 3.Institute of Physical Chemistry Polish Academy of SciencesWarsawPoland
  4. 4.Faculty of Physics, Institute of Experimental PhysicsUniversity of WarsawWarsawPoland

Personalised recommendations