Analytical and Bioanalytical Chemistry

, Volume 391, Issue 7, pp 2551–2556 | Cite as

Anion exchange silica monolith for capillary liquid chromatography

  • Jafariah Jaafar
  • Yuta Watanabe
  • Tohru Ikegami
  • Kosuke Miyamoto
  • Nobuo Tanaka
Technical Note


An anion exchange monolithic silica capillary column was prepared by surface modification of a hybrid monolithic silica capillary column prepared from a mixture of tetramethoxysilane (TMOS) and methyltrimethoxysilane (MTMS). The surface modification was carried out by on-column copolymerization of N-[3-(dimethylamino)propyl]acrylamide methyl chloride-quaternary salt (DMAPAA-Q) with 3-methacryloxypropyl moieties bonded as an anchor to the silica surface to form a strong anion exchange stationary phase. The columns were examined for their performance in liquid chromatography (LC) and capillary electrochromatography (CEC) separations of common anions. The ions were separated using 50 mM phosphate buffer at pH 6.6. Evaluation by LC produced an average of 30,000 theoretical plates (33 cm column length) for the inorganic anions and nucleotides. Evaluation by CEC, using the same buffer, produced enhanced chromatographic performance of up to ca. 90,000 theoretical plates and a theoretical plate height of ca. 4 μm. Although reduced efficiency was observed for inorganic anions that were retained a long time, the results of this study highlight the potential utility of the DMAPAA-Q stationary phase for anion separations.


Micro-LC performance evaluation of a strong anion exchange silica monolith column, 100H-MOP-DMAPAA-Q, 33 cm in length, with a mobile phase of 50 mM phosphate buffer, pH 2.8; linear velocity: u = 1.8 mm/s; UV-Vis detection at 254 nm. Sample solution (5 mg/mL of each component, 4 mL) was injected in split flow injection mode at a split ratio of ca. 1:1900 with a pump flow rate of 1.5 mL/min


Anion exchange Silica monolith Micro liquid chromatography Capillary electrochromatography Inorganic anions 



Capillary electrochromatography




Methyl trimethoxysilane


N-[3-(dimethylamino)propyl]acrylamide methyl chloride-quaternary salt




  1. 1.
    Paull B, Nesterenko PN (2005) TrAC 24:295–303Google Scholar
  2. 2.
    Chambers SD, Glenn KM, Lucy CA (2007) J Sep Sci 30:1628–1645CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  3. 3.
    Suzuki A, Lim LW, Hiroi T, Takeuchi T (2006) Talanta 70:190–193CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  4. 4.
    Zakaria P, Hutchinson JP, Avdalovic N, Liu Y, Haddad PR (2005) Anal Chem 77:417–423CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  5. 5.
    Riordain CO, Gillespie E, Connolly D, Nesterenko PN, Paull B (2007) J Chromatogr A 1142:185–193CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  6. 6.
    Glenn KM, Lucy CA, Haddad PR (2007) J Chromatogr A 1155:8–14CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  7. 7.
    Hatsis P, Lucy CA (2003) Anal Chem 75:995–1001CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  8. 8.
    Ikegami T, Ichimaru J, Kajiwara W, Nagasawa N, Hosoya K, Tanaka N (2007) Anal Sci 23:1–6CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  9. 9.
    Pelletier S, Lucy CA (2006) J Chromatogr A 1118:12–18CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  10. 10.
    Scherer B, Steiner F (2001) J Chromatogr A 924:197–209CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  11. 11.
    Hutchinson JP, Hilder EF, Macka M, Avdalovic N, Haddad PR (2006) J Chromatogr A 1109:10–18CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  12. 12.
    Lin TA, Li GY, Chau LK (2006) Anal Chim Acta 576:117–123CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  13. 13.
    Motokawa M, Kobayashi H, Ishizuka N, Minakuchi H, Nakanishi K, Jinnai H, Hosoya K, Ikegami T, Tanaka N (2002) J Chromatogr A 961:53–63CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  14. 14.
    Nunez O, Ikegami T, Kajiwara W, Miyamoto K, Horie K, Tanaka N (2007) J Chromatogr A 1156:35–44CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  15. 15.
    Breadmore MC, Shrinivasan S, Wolfe KA, Power ME, Ferrance JP, Hosticka B, Norris PM, Landers JP (2002) Electrophoresis 23:3487–3495CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  16. 16.
    Ishizuka N, Minakuchi H, Nakanishi K, Soga N, Nagayama H, Hosoya K, Tanaka N (2000) Anal Chem 72:1275–1280CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  17. 17.
    Horie K, Ikegami T, Hosoya K, Saad N, Fiehn O, Tanaka N (2007) J Chromatogr A 1164:198–205CrossRefGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Springer-Verlag 2008

Authors and Affiliations

  • Jafariah Jaafar
    • 1
  • Yuta Watanabe
    • 2
  • Tohru Ikegami
    • 2
  • Kosuke Miyamoto
    • 2
  • Nobuo Tanaka
    • 2
  1. 1.Department of Chemistry, Faculty of ScienceUniversiti Teknologi MalaysiaSkudaiMalaysia
  2. 2.Department of Biomolecular EngineeringKyoto Institute of TechnologyKyotoJapan

Personalised recommendations