Hyperfine Interactions

, Volume 44, Issue 1–4, pp 151–166 | Cite as

Electro-produced slow positrons

  • J. Dahm
  • R. Ley
  • K. D. Niebling
  • R. Schwarz
  • G. Werth
Sources and Physics of Positrons


During the last 6 years it has been demonstrated that electro-produced intense beams of slow positrons are possible. High energy electrons from an accelerator generate bremsstrahlung in a thick conversion target of high element number Z. The photons produce electronpositron pairs and a small fraction of the positrons may be moderated to thermal energies. A review is given of the existing slow positron beam lines using this technique. At accelerator energies of 100 MeV total conversion efficiencies of several slow positrons per 106 primary electrons have been obtained, resulting in average intensities of several 109 slow positrons per second or more than 105 slow positrons in pulses having a duration of a few ns. A further increase in intensity by at least one order of magnitude seems possible at higher accelerator energies.


Thin Film Energy Electron Thermal Energy Conversion Efficiency Average Intensity 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. [1]
    D.G. Costello, D.E. Groce, D.F. Herring and J.W. McGowan, Phys. Rev B5 (1972) 1433.CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  2. [2]
    J.M. Dale, L.D. Hulett and S. Pendyala, Surf. and Interf. Anal. 2 (1980) 199.CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  3. [3]
    M. Begemann, G. Gräff, H. Herminghaus, H. Kalinowsky and R. Ley, Nucl. Instr. and Meth. 201 (1982) 287.CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  4. [4]
    R.H. Howell, R.A. Alvarez and M. Stanek, Appl. Phys. Lett. 40 (1982) 751.CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  5. [5]
    G. Gräff, R. Ley, A. Osipowicz, G. Werth and J. Ahrens, Appl. Phys. A33 (1984) 59.CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  6. [6]
    R.H. Howell, M.J. Fluss, I.J. Rosenberg and P. Meyer, Nucl. Instr. and Meth. B10/11 (1985) 373.CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  7. [7]
    R. Ley, K.D. Niebling, A. Osipowicz, A. Picard and G. Werth, in:Positron Annihilation (Proc. of ICPA-7, New Delhi, 1985), eds. P.C. Jain, R.M. Singru, K.P. Gopinathan (World Scientific, Singapore 1985) p. 996.Google Scholar
  8. [8]
    Y. Ito, T. Azuma, O. Sueoka, S. Mori, Y. Katsumura, H. Kobayashi and Y. Tabata, in same as [7] p. 993.Google Scholar
  9. [9]
    F. Ebel, W. Faust, C. Hahn, S. Langer and H. Schneider, Appl. Phys. A44 (1987) 119; and Internal Report, Giessen, 1986.CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  10. [10]
    M. Dorikens, L. Dorikens-Vanpraet, D. Segers and I. Lemahieu, Appl. Phys. A43 (1987) 257; and private communication.CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  11. [11]
    L.D. Hulett, Jr., T.A. Levis, R.G. Alsmiller, Jr., R. Peelle, S. Pendyala, J.M. Dale and T.M. Rosseel, Nucl. Instr. and Meth. B24/25 (1987) 905.Google Scholar
  12. [12]
    S. Tanigawa, Talk given at the “Slow Positron Workshop”, Norwich, 1986.Google Scholar
  13. [13]
    A. Hauptmann, Thesis, Inst. für Kernphysik, Univ. Mainz, 1972.Google Scholar
  14. [14]
    M. Bernardini, J. Miller, C. Schuhl, G. Tamas and C. Tzara, Frascati Report LNF-62/66, 1962. or Saclay Report CEA no. 2212.Google Scholar
  15. [15]
    A. Andreani and A. Cattoni, Nucl. Instr. and Meth. 129 (1975) 365.CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  16. [16]
    A.P. Mills, Jr. and E. Gullikson, Appl. Phys. Lett. 49 (1986) 1121.CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  17. [17]
    K.F. Canter and A.P. Mills, Jr., Can. J. Phys. 60 (1982) 551.ADSGoogle Scholar
  18. [18]
    W.E. Frieze, D.W. Gidley and K.G. Lynn, Phys. Rev. B31 (1985) 5628.CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  19. [19]
    M. Weber, K.G. Lynn, L.O. Roellig, A.P. Mills, Jr., W.E. Frieze and A.R. Moodenbaugh, in:Slow Positron Workshop, Norwich 1986; and in:Electron and Atomic Collisions, eds. D.C. Lorents, W.E. Meyenhof and J.R. Peterson (North-Holland, Amsterdam, 1986) p. 227.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© J.C. Baltzer A.G. Scientific Publishing Company 1988

Authors and Affiliations

  • J. Dahm
    • 1
  • R. Ley
    • 1
  • K. D. Niebling
    • 1
  • R. Schwarz
    • 1
  • G. Werth
    • 1
  1. 1.Institut fur PhysikJohannes Gutenberg-UniversitätMainzFed. Rep. Germany

Personalised recommendations