Hyperfine Interactions

, Volume 58, Issue 1–4, pp 2405–2411 | Cite as

Recombination studies of photodissociated MbCO by Mössbauer spectroscopy at low temperatures

  • H. Winkler
  • M. Franke
  • A. X. Trautwein
  • F. Parak


Rebinding of carbonmonoxide to myoglobin after photodissociation has been studied by Mössbauer spectroscopy at 57.6 K and below for up to 9 days. The time dependence is reproduced by a set of exponentials representing a distribution of activation enthalpies. A shift to smaller values of these activation enthalpies and of the preexponential factor compared to optical studies at higher temperatures has been observed as well as pumping into long-living states.


Spectroscopy Thin Film Enthalpy Recombination Carbonmonoxide 


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. [1]
    H. Frauenfelder in:Methods of Enzymology, Vol. LIV (Academic Press, New York etc., 1978) p. 506.Google Scholar
  2. [2]
    Spartalian, G. Lang and T. Yonetani, Biochim. Biophys. Acta 428 (1976) 281.Google Scholar
  3. [3]
    T. Iizuka, H. Yamamoto, M. Kotani and T. Yonetani, Biochim. Biophys. Acta 371 (1974) 126.Google Scholar
  4. [4]
    H.E. Marcolin, R. Reschke and A. Trautwein, Z. Naturforsch. 32c (1977) 683.Google Scholar
  5. [5]
    H.E. Marcolin, R. Reschke and A. Trautwein, Eur. J. Biochem. 96 (1979) 119.CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  6. [6]
    R.H. Austin, K.W. Beeson, L. Eisenstein, H. Frauenfelder and I.C. Gunsalus, Biochemistry 14 (1975) 5355.CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  7. [7]
    R.D. Young and S.F. Bowne, J. Chem. Phys. 81 (1984) 3730.CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  8. [8]
    A. Ansari, J. Berendzen, D. Braunstein, B.R. Cowen, H. Frauenfelder, M.K. Hong, I.E.T. Iben, J.B. Johnson, P. Ormos, T.B. Sauke, R. Scholl, A. Schulte, P.J. Steinbach, J. Vittikov and R.D. Young, Biophys. Chem. 26 (1987) 337.CrossRefGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© J.C. Baltzer A.G. Scientific Publishing Company 1990

Authors and Affiliations

  • H. Winkler
    • 1
  • M. Franke
    • 1
  • A. X. Trautwein
    • 1
  • F. Parak
    • 2
  1. 1.Institut für PhysikMedizinische UniversitätLübeckFRG
  2. 2.Institut für Molekulare BiophysikJohannes-Gutenberg-UniversitätMainzFRG

Personalised recommendations