Journal of Applied Electrochemistry

, Volume 20, Issue 2, pp 260–268 | Cite as

Investigation of O2 reduction in alkaline media on macrocyclic chelates impregnated on different supports: influence of the heat treatment on stability and activity

  • M. Savy
  • F. Coowar
  • J. Riga
  • J. J. Verbist
  • G. Bronoël
  • S. Besse


Several macrocyclic chelates impregnated on different carbon supports were investigated using a three-phase electrode. Pyrolysed CoTMPP on treated Vulcan yields comparable results to dispersed Pt. XPS investigations reveal, for the most stable compounds, either a special bond with carbon (CoTMPP) or in some cases nitride formation (MoNPc). With the most active compounds, the MeN4 unit is preserved after heat treatment. The affinity of carbon or nitrogen with the metal compared to the O2 affinity is essential.


Nitrogen Physical Chemistry Heat Treatment Nitride Comparable Result 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. [1]
    R. Jasinski,J. Electrochem. Soc. 112 (1965) 526.Google Scholar
  2. [2]
    R. R. Durand, C. S. Bencosme and J. P. Collman,J. Am. Chem. Soc. 105 (1983) 2710.Google Scholar
  3. [3]
    A. J. Appleby, J. Fleisch and M. Savy,J. Catal. 44 (1976) 281.Google Scholar
  4. [4]
    C. Magner, M. Savy and G. Scarbeck,J. Electrochem. Soc. 127 (1980) 1076.Google Scholar
  5. [5]
    G. Magner, M. Savy, G. Scarbeck, J. Riga and J. J. Verbist,ibid. 128 (1981) 1674.Google Scholar
  6. [6]
    H. Jahnke, M. Schonborn and G. Zimmermann,Topics in Current Chem. 61 (1976) 133.Google Scholar
  7. [7]
    A. Fuhrmann, K. Wiesener, I. Iliev, S. Gamburtsev and A. Kaisheva,J. Power Sources 6 (1981) 69.Google Scholar
  8. [8]
    K. Wiesener,Electrochim. Acta 31 (1986) 1073.Google Scholar
  9. [9]
    D. A. Scherson, S. L. Gupta, C. Fierro, E. B. Yeager, M. E. Kordesch, J. Eldridge, R. W. Hoffman and J. Blue,ibid. 28 (1983) 1205.Google Scholar
  10. [10]
    D. A. Sherson, A. A. Tanaka, S. L. Gupta, D. Tryk, C. Fierro, R. Holze, E. B. Yeager and R. P. Lattimer,ibid. 31 (1986) 1247.Google Scholar
  11. [11]
    J. A. R. Van Veen, J. F. Van Baar and K. J. Kroese,J.C.S. Faraday Trans. (1981) 1,77,2827.Google Scholar
  12. [12]
    A. Van Der Putten, B. Elzing, W. Wisscher and E. Barendrecht,J. Electroanal. Chem. 205 (1986) 233.Google Scholar
  13. [13]
    J. A. R. Van Veen, H. A. Collijn, J. F. Van Baar,Electrochim. Acta 33 (1988) 801.Google Scholar
  14. [14]
    N. Miura, K. Gomyo, N. Yamazoe, T. Seiyama,Chem. Lett. (1981) 1279.Google Scholar
  15. [15]
    S. Besse, D. E. A. Electrochimie, Université Paris VI (1984).Google Scholar
  16. [16]
    A. D. Adler, F. R. Longo, J. D. Finarelli, J. Goldmacher, J. Assour and L. Korsakoff,Org. Chem. 32 (1967) 476.Google Scholar
  17. [17]
    A. D. Adler, F. R. Longo, F. Kampas and J. Kim,J. Inorg. Nucl. Chem. 32 (1970) 2443.Google Scholar
  18. [18]
    M. Neot Ner and A. D. Adler,J. Am. Chem. Soc. 97 (1975) 5107.Google Scholar
  19. [19]
    C. Prado Burguete, A. Linares-Solano, F. Rodrigues Reinoso and C. Salinas Martinez de Lecea,J. Catal. 115 (1989) 98.Google Scholar
  20. [20]
    I. Elliott, C. Doyle and J. D. Andrade,J. Electron. Spectrosc. Relat. Phenom. 28 (1983) 303.Google Scholar
  21. [21]
    J. A. R. Van Veen, J. F. Van Baar, C. J. Kroese, J. G. F. Coolegem, N. de Wit and H. A. Colijn,Ber. Bunsenges, Phys. Chem. 85 (1981) 693.Google Scholar
  22. [22]
    F. Coowar, M. Savy, G. Scarbeck, D. Van Den Ham and J. J. Verbist,J. Electroanal. Chem. 259 (1989) 241.Google Scholar
  23. [23]
    E. Yeager,Electrochim. Acta 29 (1984) 1527.Google Scholar
  24. [24]
    S. Dong and R. J. Jiang,Ber. Bunsenges, Phys. Chem. 91 (1987) 479.Google Scholar
  25. [25]
    E. Hegenberger, N. L. Wu and J. Phillips,J. Phys. Chem. 91 (1987) 5067.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Chapman and Hall Ltd. 1990

Authors and Affiliations

  • M. Savy
    • 1
  • F. Coowar
    • 1
  • J. Riga
    • 2
  • J. J. Verbist
    • 2
  • G. Bronoël
    • 3
  • S. Besse
    • 3
  1. 1.L.E.I.CNRSMeudon CédexFrance
  2. 2.Facultés N.D. de la PaixNamurBelgium
  3. 3.SorapecFontenay Sous BoisFrance

Personalised recommendations