Optical and Quantum Electronics

, Volume 28, Issue 5, pp 605–612 | Cite as

Temperature dependence and input optical power tolerance of an InGaAsP electroabsorption modulator module

  • H. Tanaka
  • M. Horita
  • Y. Matsushima
  • Y. Takahashi
Optical Integrated Circuits


We report the temperature dependence and input optical power tolerance of an InGaAsP electroabsorption (EA) modulator module. Thermal stability of the module was found to be very high. The optimum ΔEg at 20°C has been estimated to be 48–55 meV. At ΔEg of 53 meV, the insertion loss was almost independent of the temperature, while the driving voltage was strongly dependent on the temperature. The breakdown phenomena were investigated in detail; these occurred under conditions of very high input power and/or high bias voltage. Input power for breakdown was smaller for higher bias voltage or smaller ΔEg. Allowable maximum input optical power has a large margin (>5 dB) for the conventional input level in practical systems.


Thermal Stability Communication Network Input Power Insertion Loss High Input 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. 1.
    M. Suzuki, H. Tanaka andY. Matsushima,IEEE Photon. Technol. Lett. 4 (1992) 586.Google Scholar
  2. 2.
    T. Kataoka, Y. Miyamoto, K. Hagimoto, K. Wakita andI. Kotaka,Electron. Lett. 29 (1992) 897.Google Scholar
  3. 3.
    F. Devaux, S. Chelles, A. Ougazzaden, A. Mircea, F. Huet andM. Carré,Electron. Lett. 29 (1993) 1201.Google Scholar
  4. 4.
    K. Yamada, H. Murai, K. Nakamura, H. Satoh, Y. Ozeki andY. Ogawa,Technical Digest, Optical Fiber Communication, San Diego, 1995, paper TuF4, p. 24.Google Scholar
  5. 5.
    M. Suzuki, H. Tanaka, N. Edagawa, K. Utaka andY. Matsushima,IEEE J. Lightwave Technol. 11 (1993) 468.Google Scholar
  6. 6.
    M. Suzuki, H. Edagawa, H. Taga, H. Tanaka, S. Yamamoto andS. Akiba,IEEE Photon. Technol. Lett. 6 (1994) 757.Google Scholar
  7. 7.
    H. Tanaka, S. Takagi, M. Suzuki andY. Matsushima,IEICE Spring National Convention Record, 1993, paper C-153, p. 4–189.Google Scholar
  8. 8.
    M. Suzuki, H. Tanaka andS. Akiba,Electron. Lett. 25 (1989) 88.Google Scholar
  9. 9.
    D. Campi, C. Cacciatore, H.-C. Neitzert, C. Coriasso, C. Rigo andA. Stano,Electron. Lett. 30 (1994) 356.Google Scholar
  10. 10.
    S. Arai, Y. Suematsu andY. Itaya,IEEE J. Quantum Electron. QE-16 (1980) 197.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Chapman & Hall 1996

Authors and Affiliations

  • H. Tanaka
    • 1
  • M. Horita
    • 1
  • Y. Matsushima
    • 1
  • Y. Takahashi
    • 1
  1. 1.KDD R&D LaboratoriesKamifukuoka-shi, SaitamaJapan

Personalised recommendations