Applied physics

, Volume 9, Issue 4, pp 339–342 | Cite as

Nonlinear gain of a dipole antenna immersed in a collisionless plasma

  • Prayag Chandra
  • V. K. Tripathi
Contributed Papers


This paper presents an investigation of the effect of collisionless plasma on the equatorial gain of a high power dipole antenna. The plasma experiences a ponderomotive force in the non-uniform radiation field and the electron density gets redistributed; the plasma gets depleted in the centre and the near equatorial zone of the antenna. This nonuniformity in the electron density (hence in the dielectric constant) tends to converge the electromagnetic power to the equatorial zone. For typical parameters a 20% (i.e., ∼1 dB) enhancement in the gain of the antenna has been predicted within the limits of the perturbation theory.

PACS Codes

52 84 


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. 1.
    M.P.Bachynski: RCA Rev28, 111 (1967)Google Scholar
  2. 2.
    S.R.Seshadri: Proc. IEE112, 249 (1965)Google Scholar
  3. 3.
    J.H.Harris: J. Res. Nat. Bur. Stand. D67, 717 (1963); — Radio Sci.3, 181 (1968)Google Scholar
  4. 4.
    S.N.Samaddar, M.Yildiz: Canadian J. Phys.42, 683 (1964)Google Scholar
  5. 5.
    R.Shore, G.Meltz: IRE. Trans. Ant. Prop.10, 78 (1962)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  6. 6.
    H.Hora: Z. Physik226, 156 (1969)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  7. 7.
    M.S.Sodha, R.S.Mittal, SurrinderKumar, V.K.Tripathi: Optoelectronics6, 167 (1974)Google Scholar
  8. 8.
    M.S.Sodha, A.K.Ghatak, V.K.Tripathi:Self Focusing of Laser Beams in Dielectrics, Plasmas, and Semiconductors (Tata McGraw-Hill Publ. Comp., New Delhi 1975)Google Scholar
  9. 9.
    S.A.Akhmanov, A.P.Sukhorukov, R.V.Khokhlov, Soviet Phys. Uspekhi10, 609 (1968)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  10. 10.
    E.C.Jordan, K.G.Balmain:Electromagnetic Waves and Radiating Systems (Prentice-Hall of India, Pvt. Ltd., New Delhi 1971)Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Springer-Verlag 1976

Authors and Affiliations

  • Prayag Chandra
    • 1
  • V. K. Tripathi
    • 1
  1. 1.Physics DepartmentIndian Institute of TechnologyNew DelhiIndia

Personalised recommendations