Journal of Low Temperature Physics

, Volume 105, Issue 3–4, pp 1047–1052 | Cite as

Onset of bulk pinning in BSCCO single crystals

  • C. J. van der Beek
  • M. V. Indenbom
  • V. Berseth
  • T. W. Li
  • W. Benoit
Critical Currents


The long growth defects often found in Bi2Sr2CaCu2O8, “single” crystals effectively weaken the geometrical barrier and lower the field of first flux penetration. This means that the intrinsic (bulk) magnetic properties can be more easily accessed using magnetic measurements. Thus, the onset of strong bulk flux pinning in the sample bulk is determined to lie at T ≈ 40 K, indepedent of whether the field strength is above or below the field of the second peak in the magnetisation.

PACS numbers



Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. 1.
    N. Chikumoto, M. Konczykowski, N. Motohira, and A.P. Malozemoff,Phys. Rev. Lett. 69, 1260 (1992).Google Scholar
  2. 2.
    M.V. Indenbom, G. D'Anna, M.-O. André, W. Benoit, H. Kronmüller, T.W. Li, and P.H. Kes, inProceedings of the 7thInt. Workshop on Critical Currents in Superconductors, Alpbach, Austria, Jan. 24–27, 1994, Edited by H.W. Weber (World Scientific, 1994), pp. 327–330.Google Scholar
  3. 3.
    E. Zeldov, A.I. Larkin, V.B. Geshkenbein, M. Konczykowski, D. Majer, B. Khaykovich, V.M. Vinokur, and H. Shtrikman,Phys. Rev. Lett. 73, 1428 (1994).Google Scholar
  4. 4.
    N. Morozov, E. Zeldov, D. Majer, and B. Khaykovich,Phys. Rev. Lett. 76, 138 (1996).Google Scholar
  5. 5.
    C.J. van der Beek, M.V. Indenbom, G. D'Anna, and W. Benoit,Physica C 258, 105 (1996).Google Scholar
  6. 6.
    W. DeSorbo and W.A. Healy,Cryogenics 4, 257 (1964).Google Scholar
  7. 7.
    D. Majer, E. Zeldov, and M. Konczykowski,Phys. Rev. Lett. 75, 1166 (1995).Google Scholar
  8. 8.
    M.R. Koblischka, R.J. Wijngaarden, Groot, R. Griessen, A.A. Menovsky, and T.W. Li,Physica C 249, 339 (1995).Google Scholar
  9. 9.
    M.V. Indenbom, C.J. van der Beek, V. Berseth, Th. Wolf, H. Berger, T.W. Li, and W. Benoit,this Conference. Google Scholar
  10. 10.
    J. van den Berg, C.J.van der Beek, P.H. Kes, J.A. Mydosh, M.J.V. Menken, and A.A. Menovsky,Superc. Sci. Techn. 1, 249 (1989).Google Scholar
  11. 11.
    C.J. van der Beek and P.H. Kes,Phys. Rev. B 43, 13032 (1991).Google Scholar
  12. 12.
    M.V. Indenbom,Physica C235–240, 201 (1994).Google Scholar
  13. 13.
    E. Zeldov, D. Majer, M. Konczykowski, V.B. Geshkenbein, V.M. Vinokur, and H. Shtrikman,Nature 375, 373 (1995).Google Scholar
  14. 14.
    M.V. Indenbom, C.J. van der Beek, V. Berseth, M. Konczykowski, N. Motohira, H. Berger, and W. Benoit,this Conference. Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Plenum Publishing Corporation 1996

Authors and Affiliations

  • C. J. van der Beek
    • 1
    • 2
  • M. V. Indenbom
    • 1
  • V. Berseth
    • 1
  • T. W. Li
    • 1
    • 3
  • W. Benoit
    • 1
  1. 1.IGA, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de LausanneLausanneSwitzerland
  2. 2.Materials Science Division and Science and Technology Center for SuperconductivityArgonne National LaboratoryArgonneUSA
  3. 3.Kamerlingh Onnes LaboratoryLeiden UniversityLeidenthe Netherlands

Personalised recommendations