Journal of Applied Electrochemistry

, Volume 15, Issue 2, pp 209–215 | Cite as

Electrode heat balances of electrochemical cells: application to NaCl electrolysis

  • Yasuhiko Ito
  • Ryuichi Takeda
  • Shiro Yoshizawa
  • Yukio Ogata


This paper deals with a method of estimating single electrode heat balances during the electrolysis of molten NaCl-ZnCl2 in a cell using aβ-alumina diaphragm. By measuring the thermoelectric power of the thermogalvanic cells: (T) Na/β-alumina/NaCl-ZnCl2/β-alumina/Na(T+dT) and (T) C,Cl2/NaCl-ZnCl2/Cl2,C(T+dT) the single electrode Peltier heat for sodium deposition and for chlorine evolution at 370° C were estimated to be −0.026±0.001 JC−1 and+0.614±0.096 J C−1, respectively.


Sodium Physical Chemistry Chlorine Electrochemical Cell Heat Balance 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. [1]
    Y. Ito, S. Nakamatsu and S. Yoshizawa,J. Appl. Electrochem. 6 (1976) 361.Google Scholar
  2. [2]
    Y. Ito and S. Yoshizawa, ‘Advances in Molten Salt Chemistry’, Vol. 4 (edited by G. Mamantov and J. Braunstein) Plenum Press, New York (1981) p. 391.Google Scholar
  3. [3]
    Y. Ito, K. Nagaya, H. Hasuo, S. Iijima, K. Saiki and S. Yoshizawa,Soda Chlorine 30 (1979) 1.Google Scholar
  4. [4]
    Y. Ito, H. Kaiya, S. Yoshizawa, S. K. Ratkje and T. Førland,J. Electrochem. Soc. 31 (1984) 2504.Google Scholar
  5. [5]
    T. Førland and S. K. Ratkje,Electrochim. Acta 25 (1980) 157.Google Scholar
  6. [6]
    S. K. Ratkje,Nor. Vidensk. Selsk. Skr. 6 (1982) 152.Google Scholar
  7. [7]
    J. N. Agar, ‘Advances in Electrochemistry and Electrochemical Engineering’, Vol. 3 (edited by P. Delahay) Interscience, New York (1963) p. 31.Google Scholar
  8. [8]
    Y. Ito, S. Horikawa, J. Oishi and Y. Ogata,Electrochim. Acta in press.Google Scholar
  9. [9]
    Y. Ito, H. Hayashi, N. Hayafuji and S. Yoshizawa,J. Appl. Electrochem. in press.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Chapman and Hall Ltd. 1985

Authors and Affiliations

  • Yasuhiko Ito
    • 1
  • Ryuichi Takeda
    • 2
  • Shiro Yoshizawa
    • 2
  • Yukio Ogata
    • 3
  1. 1.Department of Nuclear Engineering, Faculty of EngineeringKyoto UniversityKyotoJapan
  2. 2.Department of Industrial Chemistry, Faculty of EngineeringKyoto UniversityKyotoJapan
  3. 3.Department of Synthetic ChemistryNagoya Institute of TechnologyShowa-kuJapan

Personalised recommendations