Journal of Superconductivity

, Volume 5, Issue 4, pp 345–351 | Cite as

HTSC thin film growth by inverted cylindrical magnetron sputtering

  • J. Geerk
  • G. Linker
  • O. Meyer


Inverted cylindrical magnetron sputtering (ICM) is a reliable and reproducible method for the production of HTSC thin films. This allows systematic studies of film growth as a function of various deposition parameters, including film thickness, substrate material, or buffer layers. After describing in some detail the special demands on sputtering devices for HTSC thin film growth, we report the growth conditions and growth quality of 1–2–3 films of different orientation on substrates such as SrTiO3 and MgO. Furthermore, we report on the growth of buffer layers of YSZ onR-plane sapphire. Epitaxial GdBa2Cu3O7 films grown on these buffer layers showed critical current densities of 3×106 A/cm2 at 77 K and a zero resistance transition temperature of 92.5 K.

Key words

HTSC thin films cylindrical magnetron sputtering 


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. 1.
    B. T. Ahn, V. Y. Lee, R. Beyers, T. M. Gür, and R. A. Huggins,Physica C 167, 529 (1990).Google Scholar
  2. 2.
    U. Poppe, J. Schubert, R. R. Arons, W. Evers, Ch. Freiburg, W. Reichert, K. Schmidt, W. Sybertz, and K. Urban,Solid State Commun. 66, 61 (1988).Google Scholar
  3. 3.
    J. Geerk, G. Linker, O. Meyer, F. Ratzel, J. Reiner, J. Remmel, T. Kröner, R. Henn, S. Massing, E. Brecht, B. Strehlau, R. Smithey, R. L. Wang, F. Wang, M. Siegel, C. Ritschel, and B. Rauschenbach,Physica C 180, 11 (1991).Google Scholar
  4. 4.
    K. Char, D. K. Fork, T. H. Geballe, S. S. Laderman, R. C. Taber, R. D. Jacowitz, F. Bridges, G. A. N. Connel, and J. B. Boyce,Appl. Phys. Lett. 56, 785 (1990).Google Scholar
  5. 5.
    F. Wang, M. Siegel, R. Smithey, J. Geerk, G. Linker, and O. Meyer,High-T c Superconductor Thin Films, L. Correra, ed. (Elsevier, Amsterdam, 1992).Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Plenum Publishing Corporation 1992

Authors and Affiliations

  • J. Geerk
    • 1
  • G. Linker
    • 1
  • O. Meyer
    • 1
  1. 1.Kernforschungszentrum KarlsruheInstitut für Nukleare FestkörperphysikKarlsruheGermany

Personalised recommendations