Cell Stress and Chaperones

, Volume 23, Issue 2, pp 171–177 | Cite as

The VIII International Congress on Stress Proteins in Biology and Medicine: täynnä henkeä

  • Cristina Bonorino
  • Lea Sistonen
  • John Eriksson
  • Valérie Mezger
  • Gabriella Santoro
  • Lawrence E. HightowerEmail author
Meeting Review


About 150 international scientists gathered in Turku, Finland, in August of 2017 for the eighth in a series of international congresses about the roles of stress proteins in biology and medicine. The scientific theme and title of the 2017 Congress was “Stress Management Mechanisms and Pathways.” The meeting covered a broad range of topics, reflecting the wide scope of the Cell Stress Society International (CSSI) and highlighting the numerous recent breakthroughs in stress response biology and medicine. The keynote lecturers included Marja Jäättelä, Richard Morimoto, Anne Bertolotti, and Peter Walter. The Executive Council of the CSSI elected new Fellows and Senior Fellows. The Spirit of Budapest Award was presented to Peter Csermely, Wolfgang Schumann, and Subhash Lakhotia in recognition of pioneering service contributions to the CSSI. The CSSI Medallion for Career Achievement was awarded to Larry Hightower and CSSI president Gabriella Santoro proclaimed Tuesday, August 15, 2017, Robert M. Tanguay Day at the congress in recognition of Robert’s many years of scientific accomplishment and work on behalf of the CSSI. Additional special events were the awarding of the Ferruccio Ritossa Early Career Award to Serena Carra and the Alfred Tissières Young Investigator Award to Ayesha Murshid. As is the tradition at CSSI congresses, there were social events that included an exciting piano performance by a trio of young Finnish pianists, at the Sibelius Museum.


Stress Management Mechanisms and Pathways The 2017 Congress Cell Stress Society International 



It is a pleasure for us to recognize principal financial support for the Congress from the Cell Stress Society International and from Äbo Akademi University. We wish to acknowledge the following additional sponsors: SpringerNature, StressMarq Biosciences, MGM Resorts International, Turku Bioimaging, Biocity Turku, Buro-Bioimaging, and Turku Science Park. A special thank you goes to the student helpers (Supplementary Fig. 11), Henok Karvonen from the University of Turku for producing the video package of the Congress and John Eriksson from Äbo Akademi University and the University of Turku for assembling the photographic package. Last and definitely not least, we thank CSSI General Secretary Helen Neumann, who did the “nuts and bolts” work in support of the efforts of the local organizers.

Supplementary material

12192_2018_878_MOESM1_ESM.jpg (2.9 mb)
Supplementary Figure 1 Group photograph of the attendees of the Eighth International Congress. (JPEG 2952 kb)
12192_2018_878_MOESM2_ESM.jpg (211 kb)
Supplementary Figure 2 Organizers of the Eighth International Congress. Left to right: Co-organizer Larry Hightower, Co-organizer Valérie Mezger, Co-organizer John Eriksson, Principal Organizer Lea Sistonen, CSSI President Gabriella Santoro and Congress Chaperone Antonio De Maio. Gabriella presented the bouquet of flowers, contributed by the student helpers, to Lea along with the CSSI certificates of appreciation during the congress banquet. (JPEG 211 kb)
12192_2018_878_MOESM3_ESM.jpg (199 kb)
Supplementary Figure 3 Presentation of the 2017 Medallion for Career Achievement. CSSI President Gabriella Santoro presented the award to Lawrence E. Hightower following a presentation of Larry’s biographical sketch and career accomplishments by Session Chair Antonio De Maio. (JPEG 199 kb)
12192_2018_878_MOESM4_ESM.jpg (217 kb)
Supplementary Figure 4 CSSI Senior Fellows elected in 2017. Left to right: Secretary-treasurer Larry Hightower, Leonard Neckers, Peter Csermely, Wolfgang Schumann, Lea Sistonen, Harm Kampinga, President Gabriella Santoro and Linda Hendershot. (JPEG 216 kb)
12192_2018_878_MOESM5_ESM.jpg (214 kb)
Supplementary Figure 5 CSSI Fellows elected in 2017. Panel A Left to right: Carmen Garrido, Serena Carra, Meran Lloyd-Owen, President Gabriella Santoro, Irina Guzhova, Secretary-treasurer Larry Hightower, Valérie Mezger, Elizabeth Repasky, Iara Linhares, Boris Margulis, Ivor Benjamin, Michael Lynes, Richard Morimoto. Panel B Left to right: Congress Chaperone Antonio De Maio, President Gabriella Santoro, CSSI Fellow Michael Sherman and Secretary-treasurer Larry Hightower. (JPEG 213 kb)
12192_2018_878_MOESM6_ESM.jpg (217 kb)
ESM 1 (JPEG 217 kb)
12192_2018_878_MOESM7_ESM.jpg (335 kb)
Supplementary Figure 6 Susan Lindquist, in memoriam (1949–2016). (JPEG 335 kb)
12192_2018_878_MOESM8_ESM.pdf (438 kb)
Supplementary Figure 7 The Robert M. Tanguay Day Proclamation. (PDF 437 kb)
12192_2018_878_MOESM9_ESM.jpg (208 kb)
Supplementary Figure 8 Special Robert M. Tanguay Event. Left to right: Congress organizer Lea Sistonen, President Gabriella Santoro, Congress Chaperone Antonio De Maio, Session Speaker Carmen Garrido, Session Chair and Speaker Larry Hightower (including remarks by Tangchun Wu), Robert M. Tanguay, Nicole Tanguay and R. William Currie. (JPEG 207 kb)
12192_2018_878_MOESM10_ESM.jpg (1.3 mb)
Supplementary Figure 9 The 2017 Ferruccio Ritossa Early Career Award. Awardee Serena Carra with Session Chair Harm Kampinga. (JPEG 1287 kb)
12192_2018_878_MOESM11_ESM.jpg (269 kb)
Supplementary Figure 10 The 2017 Alfred Tissières Young Investigator Award. Left to right: Secretary-treasurer Larry Hightower, Awardee Ayesha Murshid and Session Chair Leonard Neckers. (JPEG 268 kb)
12192_2018_878_MOESM12_ESM.jpg (309 kb)
Supplementary Figure 11 Congress Student Helpers (Left to right). Back row (standing): Hendrik Hastbacka, Jens Luoto, Arun Venu, Leila Rato, Michael Silva, Eva Henriksson, Pia Roos-Mattjus, Jenny Joutsen. Front row (sitting): Mikael Puustinen, Alejandro Da Silva, Marek Budzynski, Lea Sistonen. (JPEG 309 kb)

Copyright information

© Cell Stress Society International 2018

Authors and Affiliations

  • Cristina Bonorino
    • 1
  • Lea Sistonen
    • 2
  • John Eriksson
    • 2
    • 3
  • Valérie Mezger
    • 4
    • 5
  • Gabriella Santoro
    • 6
    • 7
  • Lawrence E. Hightower
    • 8
    Email author
  1. 1.Pontificia Universidade Católica do Rio Grande do SulPorto AlegreBrazil
  2. 2.Äbo Akademi UniversityTurkuFinland
  3. 3.University of TurkuTurkuFinland
  4. 4.CNRS, UMR7216 Épigénétique et Destin CellulaireParisFrance
  5. 5.Université Paris Diderot, Sorbonne Paris CitéParis Cedex 13France
  6. 6.University of Rome Tor VergataRomeItaly
  7. 7.Institute of Translational Pharmacology, CNRRomeItaly
  8. 8.University of ConnecticutStorrsUSA

Personalised recommendations