Optoelectronics Letters

, Volume 3, Issue 1, pp 10–13 | Cite as

New cobweb-structure hollow Bragg optical fibers

  • Yu Rong-jin 
  • Zhang Yong-qiang 
  • Zhang Bing 
  • Wang Chao-ran 
  • Wu Chang-qi 


A new type of Bragg fibers, i.e. hollow-core cobweb-structured optical fibers, which can be used to the low-loss transmission from visible to near infrared region (0.65 μ m-1.55 μ m), terahertz wave (200 μ m-480 μ m) and circular-polarization-maintaining single-mode transmission are investigated. Results show that the hollow-core cobweb-structured fibers have less loss than other hollow-core Bragg fibers. The fibers can be constituted by using the plastics or glasses with large absorption losses.

CLC number



Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. [1]
    P. Yeh, A. Yariv, and E. Marom, J. Opt. Soc. Am., 68(1978), 1196.ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  2. [2]
    R.F. Cregan, B. J. Mangan, J.C. Knight, T.A. Birks, P.St.J. Russell, P. J. Roberts, and D. C. Allan, Science, 285(1999), 1537.CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  3. [3]
    P. J. Roberts, F. Couny, H. Sabert, B.J. Mangan, D.P. Williams, L. Farr, M.W. Mason, A. Tomlinson, T.A. Birks, J. C. Knight, and P. St. J. Russell, Opt. Express, 13(2005), 236.CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  4. [4]
    S.G. Johnson, M. Ibanescu, M. Skorobogatiy, O. Weisberg, T.D. Engeness, M. Soljačić, S.A. Jacobs, J.D. Joannopoulos, and Y. Fink, Opt. Express, 9(2001), 748.ADSGoogle Scholar
  5. [5]
    A. Argyros, I. M. Bassett, M. A. van Eijkelenborg, M. C. J. Large, J. Zagari, N. A. P. Nicorovici, R. C. McPhedran, and C. M. de Sterke, Opt. Express, 9 (2001), 813.ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  6. [6]
    G. Vienne, Y. Xu, C. Jakobsen, H.-J. Deyerl, J.B. Jensen, T. Sorensen, T. P. Hansen, Y. Huang, M. Terrel, R.K. Lee, N.A. Mortensen, J. Broeng, H. Simonsen, A. Bjarklev, and A. Yariv, Opt. Express, 12(2004), 3500.CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  7. [7]
    A. Argyros, M.A. van Eijkelenborg, M.C.J. Large, and I.M. Bassett, Opt. Lett., 31(2006), 172.CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  8. [8]
    Y. Fink, D.J. Ripin, S. Fan, C. Chen, J.D. Joannopoulos, and E.L. Thomas, J. Lightwave Technol., 17(1999), 2039.CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  9. [9]
    B. Temelkuran, S.D. Hart, G. Benoit, J.D. Joannopoulos, and Y. Fink, Nature, 420 (2002), 650.CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  10. [10]
    M.Y. Chen, R.J. Yu, Z.G. Tian, and X.Z. Bai, Chin. Opt. Lett., 4 (2006), 63.ADSGoogle Scholar
  11. [11]
    Huo L., Yu R.-J., Zhang B., Chen M.-Y., and Li B.-X., Chin. Phys. Lett., 23(2006), 2121.CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  12. [12]
    Yu R.-J., J. of Optoelectronics • Laser, 13(2002), 315. (in Chinese)Google Scholar
  13. [13]
    Y. Xu, A. Yariv, J.G. Fleming, and S.-Y. Lin, Opt. Express, 11 (2003), 1039.ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  14. [14]
    T. Kaino, M. Fujiki, and K. Jinguji, Rev. Elec. Commun. Lab., 32(1984), 478.Google Scholar
  15. [15]
    L. Jeunhomme, and M. monerie, Electron. Lett., 16(1980), 921.CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  16. [16]
    A. Argyros, N. Issa, I. Bassett, and M. A. Van Eijkelenborg, Opt. Lett., 29(2004), 20.CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  17. [17]
    Yao J.-Q., Lu Y., Zhang B.-G., and Wang P., J. of Optoelectronics • Laser, 16(2005), 503. (in Chinese)Google Scholar
  18. [18]
    H. Han, H. Park, M. Cho, and J. Kim, Appl. Phys. Lett., 80 (2002), 2634.CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  19. [19]
    M. Goto, A. Quema, H. Takahashi, S. Ono, and N. Sarukura, Jpn. J. Appl. Phys., 43(2004), L317.CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  20. [20]
    J. A. Harrington, R. George, P. Pedersen, and E. Mueller, Opt. Express, 12(2004), 5263.CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  21. [21]
    L.-J. Chen, H.-W. Chen, T.-F. Kao, J.-Y. Lu, and C.-K. Sun, Opt. Lett., 31(2006), 308.CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  22. [22]
    G. W. Chantry, J. W. Fleming, P. M. Smith, M. Cudby, and H. A. Willis, Chem. Phys. Lett., 10(1971), 473.CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Tianjin University of Technology 2007

Authors and Affiliations

  • Yu Rong-jin 
    • 1
  • Zhang Yong-qiang 
    • 1
  • Zhang Bing 
    • 1
  • Wang Chao-ran 
    • 1
  • Wu Chang-qi 
    • 1
  1. 1.College of Information Science and EngineeringYanshan UniversityQinhuangdaoChina

Personalised recommendations