Time-critical energy minimization protocol using PQM (TCEM-PQM) for wireless body sensor network

  • P. Thirumoorthy
  • P. Kalyanasundaram
  • R. Maheswar
  • P. Jayarajan
  • G. R. Kanagachidambaresan
  • Iraj S. AmiriEmail author


Wireless body sensor network (WBSN) provides a sophisticated monitoring environment without disturbing the daily subject activity. The WBSN increases the mobility of the subject without being restricted inside the hospital environment. However, resources like limited power and transceiver capability limit the movement of the subject. Providing an energy-efficient scheme will provide extended network lifetime and limits the frequency of recharging the battery. This subject condition modelled as a Markov model with normal and abnormal states. The transition from the normal state to abnormal state is predicted through Markov process. The sensor nodes monitoring the subject status remade to sleep state during the reasonable condition, and during the abnormal state, all the nodes awakened. This sleep–wake methodology with priority queuing model is studied in this paper and implemented in MATLAB. The priority queuing model provides a novel solution for time-critical applications. The proposed TCEM-PQM provides reduced time delay when compared to PQM routing protocol. The time delay reduced for critical applications and the policy suits monitoring environment and healthcare applications. The proposed model is simulated with Markov model.


Wireless body sensor network N policy Sleep–wake protocol Priority queuing 



  1. 1.
    Elias J, Mehaoua A (2012) Energy-aware topology design for wireless body area networks. In: 2012 IEEE International Conference on Communications (ICC), vol 2, pp 3409–3410Google Scholar
  2. 2.
    Hamidzadeh J, Ghomanjani MH (2018) An unequal cluster-radius approach based on node density in clustering for wireless sensor networks. Wirel Pers Commun 101:1–19CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  3. 3.
    Nadeem Q, Javaid N, Mohammad SN, Khan MY, Sarfraz S, Gull M (2013) SIMPLE: stable increased-throughput multi-hop protocol for link efficiency in wireless body area networks. In: 2013 Eighth International Conference on Broadband and Wireless Computing, Communication and Applications, Compiegne, pp 221–226Google Scholar
  4. 4.
    Bangash JI, Abdullah AH, Razzaque MA, Khan AW (2014) Reliability aware routing for intra-wireless body sensor networks. Int J Distrib Sens Netw 1:1–10Google Scholar
  5. 5.
    Maskooki A, Soh CB, Gunawan E, Low KS (2011) Opportunistic routing for body area network. In: 1st IEEE International Workshop on Consumer e-Health Platforms, Services and ApplicationsGoogle Scholar
  6. 6.
    Kanagachidambaresan GR, Chitra A (2016) TA-FSFT thermal aware fail safe fault tolerant algorithm for wireless body sensor network. Wirel Pers Commun 90:1935–1950CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  7. 7.
    Sundararajan TVP, Sumithra MG, Maheswar R (2014) A novel smart routing protocol for remote health monitoring in medical wireless networks. J Health Care Eng 5:95–122CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  8. 8.
    Sundararajan TVP, Ramesh SM, Maheswar R, Deepak KR (2013) Biologically inspired artificial intrusion detection system for detecting wormhole attack in MANET. Wirel Netw J 20:563–578CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  9. 9.
    Amiri IS, Bunruangses M, Chaiwong K, Udaiyakumar R, Maheswar R, Hindia MN, Dimyati KB, Yupapin P (2018) Dual-wavelength transmission system using double micro-resonator system for EMI healthcare applications. Microsyst Technol 25:1185–1193CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  10. 10.
    Maalej M, Cherif S, Besbes H (2013) QoS and energy aware cooperative routing protocol for wildfire monitoring wireless sensor networks. Sci World J. CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  11. 11.
    Saranya V, Shankar S, Kanagachidambaresan GR (2018) Energy efficient clustering scheme (EECS) for wireless sensor network with mobile sink. Wirel Pers Commun 100:1–15CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  12. 12.
    Maheswar R, Jayarajan P, Vimalraj S, Sivagnanam G, Sivasankaran V, Amiri IS (2018) Energy efficient real time environmental monitoring system using buffer management protocol. In: The Ninth IEEE International Conference on Computing, Communication and Networking Technologies (ICCCNT)Google Scholar
  13. 13.
    Maheswar R, Jayaparvathy R (2009) Energy minimization scheme for cluster based sensor networks. Int J Recent Trends Eng Technol 2(6):164–168Google Scholar
  14. 14.
    Nageswari D, Maheswar R, Kanagachidambaresan GR (2018) Performance analysis of cluster based homogeneous sensor network using energy efficient N-policy (EENP) model. Clust Comput. CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  15. 15.
    Jayarajan P, Maheswar R, Kanagachidambaresan GR (2017) Modified energy minimization scheme using queue threshold based on priority queueing model. Clust Comput. CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  16. 16.
    Jayarajan P, Kanagachidambaresan GR, Sundararajan TVP, Sakthipandi K, Maheswar R, Karthikeyan A (2018) An energy aware buffer management (EABM) routing protocol for WSN. J Supercomput. CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  17. 17.
    Jayarajan P, Maheswar R, Kanagachidambaresan GR, Sivasankaran V, Balaji M, Das J (2018) Performance evaluation of fault nodes using queue threshold based on N-policy priority queueing model. In: The Ninth IEEE International Conference on Computing, Communication and Networking Technologies (ICCCNT)Google Scholar
  18. 18.
    Jayarajan P, Maheswar R, Sivasankaran V, Vigneswaran D, Udaiyakumar R (2018) Performance analysis of contention based priority queuing model using N-policy model for cluster based sensor networks. In: The Seventh IEEE International Conference on Communication and Signal Processing ICCSP)Google Scholar
  19. 19.
    Divya K, Jaipriya S, Anitha G, Malathy S, Maheswar R (2018) An energy efficient technique for time sensitive application using MC-WSN. In: 2nd IEEE International Conference on Inventive Systems and Control (ICISC)Google Scholar
  20. 20.
    Polastre J, Hill J, Culler D (2004) Versatile low power media access for sensor networks. In: Proceedings of the Second ACM Conference on Embedded Networked Sensor Systems (SenSys)Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Springer Science+Business Media, LLC, part of Springer Nature 2019

Authors and Affiliations

  • P. Thirumoorthy
    • 1
  • P. Kalyanasundaram
    • 2
  • R. Maheswar
    • 3
  • P. Jayarajan
    • 4
  • G. R. Kanagachidambaresan
    • 5
  • Iraj S. Amiri
    • 6
    • 7
    Email author
  1. 1.Department of CSENandha Engineering CollegeErodeIndia
  2. 2.Department of ECE, Saveetha School of EngineeringSaveetha Institute of Medical Technological SciencesChennaiIndia
  3. 3.School of EEEVIT Bhopal UniversityBhopalIndia
  4. 4.Department of ECESri Krishna College of TechnologyCoimbatoreIndia
  5. 5.Department of CSEVeltech Rangarajan Dr. Sagunthala R&D Institute of Science and TechnologyChennaiIndia
  6. 6.Computational Optics Research Group, Advanced Institute of Materials ScienceTon Duc Thang UniversityHo Chi Minh CityVietnam
  7. 7.Faculty of Applied SciencesTon Duc Thang UniversityHo Chi Minh CityVietnam

Personalised recommendations