Metal Science and Heat Treatment

, Volume 60, Issue 7–8, pp 482–485 | Cite as

Optimization of Parameters of Reaction Synthesis of Titanium Aluminide

  • R. K. GuptaEmail author
  • R. Suresh Kumar
  • Bhanu Pant
  • Vijaya Agarwala
  • P. P. Sinha

Titanium aluminide is synthesized in a chemical reaction of elemental powders. The synthesis is conducted at a high temperature in vacuum for two variants of pressure variation. To obtain a quality product at a minimum loss of the material to spillage, it is important to apply pressure at the right moment. The reaction synthesis is also accompanied by “swelling” of the billet. The temperature-pressure cycle is optimized. The results of the x-ray diffractometry show the presence of an aluminum-rich phase in the form of a shell surrounding the particles of pure titanium.

Key words

reaction synthesis titanium aluminides intermetallics 


The authors are thankful to MCD for the characterization support and to the Director of the Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre for granting permission to publish this work.


  1. 1.
    R. K. Gupta, Author’s Abstract of Candidate’s Thesis, IIT Rookee, India (2011).Google Scholar
  2. 2.
    R. K. Gupta, Bhanu Pant, V. Agarwala, et al., J. Mater. Sci. Technol., 26(8), 693 – 704 (2010).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  3. 3.
    R. K. Gupta, Bhanu Pant, V. Agarwala, et al., High Temp. Mater. Proc., 28(3), 121 – 132 (2009).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  4. 4.
    R. M. German, A. Bose, and N. S. Stoloff, “High temp ordered intermetallic alloys III,” in: C. T. Liu, A. I. Taub, N. S. Stoloff, and C. C. Koch (eds.), MRS Proc. (1989), Vol. 133, pp. 403 – 414.Google Scholar
  5. 5.
    R. M. German, Liquid Phase Sintering, Plenum Press, NY (1985).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  6. 6.
    A. Bose, B. H. Rabin, and R. M. German, P.M. Int., 20, 25 (1988).Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Springer Science+Business Media, LLC, part of Springer Nature 2018

Authors and Affiliations

  • R. K. Gupta
    • 1
    Email author
  • R. Suresh Kumar
    • 1
  • Bhanu Pant
    • 1
  • Vijaya Agarwala
    • 2
  • P. P. Sinha
    • 1
  1. 1.Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre, ISROTrivandrumIndia
  2. 2.Indian Institute of Technology RoorkeeRoorkeeIndia

Personalised recommendations