Journal of Low Temperature Physics

, Volume 175, Issue 5–6, pp 868–876 | Cite as

Advanced Concepts in Josephson Junction Reflection Amplifiers

  • Pasi LähteenmäkiEmail author
  • Visa Vesterinen
  • Juha Hassel
  • G. S. Paraoanu
  • Heikki Seppä
  • Pertti Hakonen


Low-noise amplification at microwave frequencies has become increasingly important for the research related to superconducting qubits and nanoelectromechanical systems. The fundamental limit of added noise by a phase-preserving amplifier is the standard quantum limit, often expressed as noise temperature \(T_q=\hbar \omega /2k_B\). Towards the goal of the quantum limit, we have developed an amplifier based on intrinsic negative resistance of a selectively damped Josephson junction. Here we present measurement results on previously proposed wide-band microwave amplification and discuss the challenges for improvements on the existing designs. We have also studied flux-pumped metamaterial-based parametric amplifiers, whose operating frequency can be widely tuned by external DC-flux, and demonstrate operation at \(2\omega \) pumping, in contrast to the typical metamaterial amplifiers pumped via signal lines at \(\omega \).


Josephson Junction Negative Resistance Parametric Amplifier Microwave Loss Band Stop Filter 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.



Our work was supported in part by the EU 7th Framework Programme (FP7/2007-2013, Grant No. 228464 Microkelvin) and by the Academy of Finland (Projects No. 250280 [LTQ CoE Grant], No. 135908 and No. 263457). This research project made use of the Aalto University Cryohall infrastructure.


  1. 1.
    A.A. Clerk, M.H. Devoret, S.M. Girvin, F. Marquardt, R.J. Schoelkopf, Rev. Mod. Phys. 81, 1155 (2010)CrossRefMathSciNetADSGoogle Scholar
  2. 2.
    P. Lähteenmäki, V. Vesterinen, J. Hassel, H. Seppä, P. Hakonen, Sci. Rep. 2, 276 (2012)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  3. 3.
    M. Hatridge, R. Vijay, D.H. Slichter, J. Clarke, I. Siddiqi, Phys. Rev. B 83, 134501 (2011)CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  4. 4.
    B. Yurke, L.R. Corruccini, P.G. Kaminsky, L.W. Rupp, Phys. Rev. A 39, 2519 (1989)CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  5. 5.
    B. Yurke, M.L. Roukes, R. Movshovich, A.N. Pargellis, Appl. Phys. Lett. 69, 3078 (1996)CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  6. 6.
    N. Bergeal, F. Schackert, M. Metcalfe et al., Nature 465, 64 (2010)CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  7. 7.
    M. Mück, J.B. Kycia, J. Clarke, Appl. Phys. Lett. 78, 967 (2001)CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  8. 8.
    S.J. Asztalos, G. Carosi, C. Hagmann et al., Phys. Rev. Lett. 104, 041301 (2010)CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  9. 9.
    M.A. Castellanos-Beltran, K.D. Irwin, G.C. Hilton, L.R. Vale, K.W. Lehnert, Nat. Phys. 4, 929 (2008)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  10. 10.
    J.D. Teufel, T. Donner, M.A. Castellanos-Beltran, J.W. Harlow, K.W. Lehnert, Nat. Nanotechnol. 4, 820 (2009)CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  11. 11.
    M.A. Castellanos-Beltran, K.W. Lehnert, Appl. Phys. Lett. 91, 083509 (2007)CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  12. 12.
    L. Spietz, K. Irwin, J. Aumentado, Appl. Phys. Lett. 93, 082506 (2008)CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  13. 13.
    J.J. Tiemann, Proc. IRE 8, 1418 (1960)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  14. 14.
    A. Vystavkin, V. Gubankov, L. Kuzmin, K. Likharev, V. Migulin, V. Semenov, IEEE Trans. Magn. 13, 233 (1977)CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  15. 15.
    N. Calander, T. Claeson, S. Runder. J. Appl. Phys. 53, 5093 (1982)Google Scholar
  16. 16.
    P. Lähteenmäki, G.S. Paraoanu, J. Hassel, P.J. Hakonen, Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci 110, 4234–4238 (2013)CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  17. 17.
    L.A. Blackwell, K.L. Kotzebue, Semiconductor Diode Parametric Amplifiers (Prentice-Hall, Englewood Cliffs, 1961)Google Scholar
  18. 18.
    M. Tinkham, Introduction to Supercondictivity, 2nd edn. (Dover, Mineola, 2004)Google Scholar
  19. 19.
    R.H. Koch, D.J. Van Harlingen, J. Clarke, Phys. Rev. B 26, 74 (1982)CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  20. 20.
    H. Seppä, M. Kiviranta, A. Satrapinski, L. Grönberg, J. Salmi, I. Suni, IEEE Trans. Appl. Supercond. 3, 1816 (1993)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  21. 21.
    K.K. Likharev, Dynamics of Josephson Junctions and Circuits, 3rd edn. (Gordon And Breach, Amsterdam, 1997)Google Scholar
  22. 22.
    A. Vystavkin, V. Gubankov, L. Kuzmin, K. Likharev, V. Migulin, V. Semenov, IEEE Trans. Magn. 13, 233 (1977)CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  23. 23.
    V. Vesterinen, J. Hassel, H. Sepp, IEEE Trans. Appl. Supercond. 23, 1500104 (2013)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  24. 24.
    J. Hassel, P. Lahteenmki, A. Timofeev, G. S. Paraoanu, P. J. Hakonen, in PIERS Proceedings, August 12–15, Stockholm (2013), pp. 484–488.Google Scholar
  25. 25.
    D. Gunnarsson, J-M. Pirkkalainen, J. Li, et al., Sup. Sci. Technol. 26, 085010 (2013)Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Springer Science+Business Media New York 2014

Authors and Affiliations

  • Pasi Lähteenmäki
    • 1
    Email author
  • Visa Vesterinen
    • 2
  • Juha Hassel
    • 2
  • G. S. Paraoanu
    • 1
  • Heikki Seppä
    • 2
  • Pertti Hakonen
    • 1
  1. 1.O.V. Lounasmaa Laboratory/LTL, Aalto UniversityEspooFinland
  2. 2.VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland, VTTOtaniemiFinland

Personalised recommendations