Journal of Materials Science

, Volume 41, Issue 19, pp 6300–6304 | Cite as

Sinterable La0.8Sr0.2CrO3 and La0.7Ca0.3CrO3 powders by sucrose combustion synthesis

  • K. PrabhakaranEmail author
  • J. Lakra
  • M. O. Beigh
  • N. M. Gokhale
  • S. C. Sharma
  • Ramji Lal


Air atmosphere sinterable La0.8Sr0.2CrO3 [LSC] and La0.7Ca0.3CrO3 [LCC] powders have been prepared by sucrose combustion synthesis. Aqueous solution containing stoichiometric quantities of the metal nitrates and sucrose (3 moles/mole of the metal ion) at pH ∼1 was concentrated by heating on a hot plate into a viscous resin which on drying at 120°C produced a foam with interconnected pore structure. This foam ignited with a matchstick in a combustion set up fabricated in the laboratory produced ashes consisting of loose aggregates of LSC and LCC particles. The loose aggregate of LSC and LCC were powdered by planetary ball milling to submicron size particles with D50 value 0.19 and 0.60 μm, respectively. The surface area of the LSC and LCC powders was 23 and 19 m2/g, respectively. Pellets prepared by cold compaction and sintering of LSC and LCC powders in air atmosphere showed density 96.8 and 98.8% of theoretical value respectively. Sintered LCC sample showed finer grains compared to the LSC sample under identical processing conditions.


Foam Solid Oxide Fuel Cell Combustion Synthesis Thermo Gravimetric Analysis Sintered Density 



The authors thank Dr. J. Narayana Das, Director, Naval Materials Research Laboratory for his encouragement and keen interest in this work.


  1. 1.
    Minh NQ (1993) J Am Ceram Soc 76:563CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  2. 2.
    Steele BCH (2001) J Mater Sci 36:1053CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  3. 3.
    Steele BCH (1992) Mater Sci Eng 1313:79CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  4. 4.
    Chick LA, Liu J, Stevenson JW, Armstrong TR, Mc Cready DE, Maupin GD, Coffey GW, Coyle CA (1997) J Am Ceram Soc 80:2109CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  5. 5.
    Groupp L, Anderson HU (1976) J Am Ceram Soc 59:447CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  6. 6.
    Sakai N, Kavada T, Yokokawa H, Dokiya M (1990) J Mayter Sci 25:4531CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  7. 7.
    Christie GM, Middleton PH, Steele BCH (1993) In Singhal SC, Iwahara H (eds) Proceedings of the 3rd international symposium on solid oxide fuel cells. The Electrochem. Soc., Pennington, NJ, p 315Google Scholar
  8. 8.
    Christiansen N, Gordes P, Alstrup NC, Mogensen G (1993) In Singhal SC, Iwahara H (eds) Proceedings of the 3rd international symposium on solid oxide fuel cells. The Electrochem. Soc., Pennington, NJ, p 401Google Scholar
  9. 9.
    Yokokawa H, Sasaki N, Kawada T, Dokiya M (1991) J Electrochem Soc 138:1018CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  10. 10.
    Takeuchi T, Takeda Y, Funahashi R, Aihara T, Tahuchi M, Kageyama H (2000) J Electrochem Soc 147:3979CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  11. 11.
    Christie GM, Middlton PH, Steele BCH (1994) J Euro Ceram Soc 14:163CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  12. 12.
    Deshpande K, Mukasyan A, Varama A (2003) J Am Ceram Soc 86:1149CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  13. 13.
    Weber WJ, Griffin CW, Bates JL (1987) J Am Ceram Soc 70:265CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  14. 14.
    Eror NG, Anderson HU (1989) Mater Res Soc Symp Proc 73:571CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  15. 15.
    Ovenstone J, Ponton CB (2000) J Mater Sci 35:4115CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  16. 16.
    Vernoux P, Djurado E, Guillodo M (2001) J Am Ceram Soc 84:2289CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  17. 17.
    Das RN, Bandyopadhyay A, Bose A (2001) J Am Ceram Soc 84:2421CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  18. 18.
    Mitchell LD, Whitfield PS, Margeson J, Beaudoin JJ (2002) J Mater Sci Lett 21:1773CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  19. 19.
    Ganesh I, Srinivas B, Johnson R, Saha BP, Mahajan YR (2001) Brit Ceram Trans 101:247CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  20. 20.
    Bose S, Banerjee A (2004) J Am Ceram Soc 87:487CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  21. 21.
    Prabhakaran K, Gokhale NM, Sharma SC, Lal R (2005) Ceram Int 31:327CrossRefGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Springer Science+Business Media, LLC 2006

Authors and Affiliations

  • K. Prabhakaran
    • 1
    Email author
  • J. Lakra
    • 1
  • M. O. Beigh
    • 1
  • N. M. Gokhale
    • 1
  • S. C. Sharma
    • 1
  • Ramji Lal
    • 1
  1. 1.Naval Materials Research LaboratoryThaneIndia

Personalised recommendations