Children's Literature in Education

, Volume 41, Issue 1, pp 64–84 | Cite as

Dual Pathways to Expression and Understanding: Canadian Coming-of-Age Graphic Novels

Original Paper

Abstract

In this article, the authors examine three Canadian coming-of-age stories, written as graphic novels, and pay particular attention to how the images and print text come together in the telling of the narrative. This approach reinforces the notion that form and content cannot be separated in this medium. Drawing on examples from each of the graphic novels and the interviews with the graphic novelists who wrote them, the article explores the complexity of the coming-of-age theme in each graphic novel, as well as how print text and image converge to make meaning.

Keywords

Canadian graphic novels Coming-of-age Text and image Multiliteracies Multi-modal 

References

  1. Abel, J., & Madden, M. (2008). Drawing Words & Writing Pictures: A Definitive Course from Concept to Comic in 15 Lessons New York: First Second.Google Scholar
  2. Alvermann, D. E. (2004). Media, Information Communication Technologies, and Youth Literacies: A Cultural Studies Perspective. American Behavioral Scientist, 48(1), 78–83.CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  3. Bitz, M. (2009). Manga High: Literacy, Identity, and Coming of Age in an Urban High School Cambridge, MA: Harvard Education Press.Google Scholar
  4. Booth, D., & Lundy, K. (2007). In Graphic Detail: Using Graphic Novels in the Classroom Toronto: Learning through Literacy Ltd.Google Scholar
  5. Botzakis, S. (2009). Adult Fans of Comic Books: What They Get Out of Reading. Journal of Adult and Adolescent Literacy, 53(1), 50–59.CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  6. Brown, C., & Seth. (2008). An Open Letter to the Governor General’s Literary Awards. National Post. Retrieved from the World Wide Web on November 24, 2008: http://network.nationalpost.com/np/blogs/theampersand/archive/2008/11/12/seth-and-chester-brown-s-open-letter-to-the-governor-general-s-award.aspx.
  7. Carter, J. B. (Ed.). (2007). Building Literacy Connections with Graphic Novels: Page by Page, Panel by Panel Urbana, Illinois: NCTE.Google Scholar
  8. Cary, S. (2004). Going Graphic: Comics at Work in the Multilingual Classroom Portsmouth, NH: Heinemann.Google Scholar
  9. Chmakova, S. (2008). E-mail Interview. 14 August, 2008.Google Scholar
  10. Christensen, L. (2006). Graphic Global Conflict: Graphic Novels in the High School Social Studies Classroom. The Social Studies, 97(6), 227–231.CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  11. Cope, B., & Kalantzis, M. (Eds.). (2000). Multiliteracies: Literacy Learning and the Design of Social Futures London/New York: Routledge/Falmer.Google Scholar
  12. Fisher, D., & Frey, N. (2007). Altering English: Re-examining the Whole Class Novel and Making Room for Graphic Novels and More. In J. B. Carter (Ed.), Building Literacy Connections with Graphic Novels: Page by Page, Panel by Panel (pp. 27–37). Urbana, IL: NCTE.Google Scholar
  13. Frey, N., & Fisher, D. (2004). Using Graphic Novels, Anime and the Internet in an Urban High School. The English Journal, 93(3), 19–25.CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  14. Gallo, D., & Weiner, S. (2004). Bold Books for Innovative Teaching: Show, Don’t Tell: Graphic Novels in the Classroom. The English Journal, 94(2), 114–117.CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  15. Gutierrez, P. (2008). Graphic Storytelling and the New Literacies: An Interview with NCTE Educator Peter Gutierrez. Bookshelf. Diamond Comic Distributors, Inc. Retrieved from the Web on September 12, 2008. http://diamondbookshelf.com/public/default.asp?t=1&m=1&c=20&s=182&ai=74165&ssd=.
  16. Heiligmann, R., & Shields, V. (2005). Media Literacy, Visual Syntax, and Magazine Advertisements: Conceptualizing the Consumption of Reading by Media Literate Subjects. Journal of Visual Literacy, 25(1), 41–66.Google Scholar
  17. Jewitt, C. (2008). Technology, Literacy and Learning: A Multimodal Approach New York, NY: Routledge.Google Scholar
  18. Jewitt, C., & Kress, G. (Eds.). (2003). Multimodal Literacy New York: Peter Lang Press.Google Scholar
  19. Kress, G. (2003). Literacy in the New Media Age New York: Routledge.Google Scholar
  20. Kress, G., & Van Leeuwen, T. (2001). Multimodal Discourse: The Modes and Media of Contemporary Communication New York: Oxford University Press.Google Scholar
  21. Lankshear, C., & Knobel, M. (2003). New Literacies, Changing Knowledge and Classroom Learning Buckingham, UK: Open University Press.Google Scholar
  22. McCloud, S. (1993). Understanding Comics: The Invisible Art New York: HarperCollins.Google Scholar
  23. Pierson, K. (1986). Intimate Relationships: Teachers, Students and Teen Crushes. School Library Journal, September, 31–34.Google Scholar
  24. Rabagliati, M. (2003). Paul Has a Summer Job Montreal: Drawn & Quarterly.Google Scholar
  25. Rabagliati, M. (2008). E-mail Interview. Trans. by A. King. 7 May, 2008.Google Scholar
  26. Rabagliati, M. (2009). Personal Correspondence. 9 December, 2009.Google Scholar
  27. Schwarz, G. (2002). Graphic Novels for Multiple Literacies. Journal of Adult and Adolescent Literacy, 46, 262–265.Google Scholar
  28. Schwarz, G. (2006). Expanding Literacies Through Graphic Novels. English Journal, 95(6), 58–64.CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  29. Seglem, R., & Witte, S. (2009). You Gotta See It to Believe It: Teaching Visual Literacy in the English Classroom. Journal of Adult and Adolescent Literacy, 53(3), 216–227.CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  30. Smetana, L., Odelson, D., Burns, H., & Grisham, D. (2009). Using Graphic Novels in the High School Classroom: Engaging Deaf Students With a New Genre. Journal of Adult and Adolescent Literacy, 53(3), 228–241.CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  31. Smith, M.W., & Wilhelm, J.D. (2002). Reading Don’t Fix No Chevys Portsmouth, NH: Heinemann.Google Scholar
  32. Tamaki, M. (2008). Personal Interview. 21 May 2008.Google Scholar
  33. Tamaki, M., & Tamaki, J. (2008). Skim Toronto: Groundwood Books.Google Scholar
  34. Versaci, R. (2007). This Book Contains Graphic Language: Comics as Literature New York: Continuum Books.Google Scholar
  35. Wolk, D. (2007). Reading Comics: How Graphic Novels Work and What They Mean Cambridge, MA: Da Capo Press.Google Scholar
  36. Wright, B. W. (2001). Comic Book Nation: The Transformation of Youth Culture in America Baltimore: The Johns Hopkins University Press.Google Scholar
  37. Zubkavich, J. (2006). The Makeshift Miracle Richmond Hill: UDON Entertainment Corp.Google Scholar
  38. Zubkavich, J. (2008). Personal Interview. 16 May 2008.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Springer Science+Business Media, LLC 2010

Authors and Affiliations

  1. 1.Faculty of EducationUniversity of Ontario Institute of TechnologyOshawaCanada
  2. 2.Faculty of Criminology, Justice and Policy StudiesUniversity of Ontario Institute of TechnologyOshawaCanada

Personalised recommendations