Catalysis Letters

, Volume 149, Issue 12, pp 3255–3256 | Cite as

Professor Michel Che: Sino-French Chemist with Strong Anglophile Links

  • John Meurig ThomasEmail author

The premier award of the Royal Society of Chemistry, the Faraday Medal and Lectureship, instituted in 1869, is awarded biennially, and the first recipient was the eminent French chemist, Jean-Baptiste Dumas (1800–1884), who was a professor at the École Polytechnique, Paris, before becoming that country’s Minister of Agriculture and Commerce and later Master of the French Mint. In the intervening years other notable recipients include Mendeleev, Niels Bohr, Lords Rayleigh and Rutherford, Hermann von Helmholtz, Sir Cyril Hinshelwood and Sir Robert Robinson. The second Frenchman to earn this accolade (in 2014) was Michel Che, Professor and Director of the Laboratoire de Réactivité de Surface at the Sorbonne Université-CNRS, Paris.

His research covered the reactivity of solid surfaces investigated from a molecular standpoint based on the combined use of transition metal complexes, specific isotopes and physical techniques, notably electron spin resonance. His work, which led to more than...


Copyright information

© Springer Science+Business Media, LLC, part of Springer Nature 2019

Authors and Affiliations

  1. 1.Department of Materials Science and MetallurgyUniversity of CambridgeCambridgeUK

Personalised recommendations