Applied Physics B

, Volume 104, Issue 4, pp 957–960

Temperature-insensitive strain sensor based on four-wave mixing using Raman fiber Bragg grating laser sensor with cooperative Rayleigh scattering



A temperature-insensitive strain sensor based on Four-Wave Mixing (FWM) using two Raman fiber Bragg grating (FBG) lasers with cooperative Rayleigh scattering is proposed. Two FBG were used to form two linear cavities laser sensors based on Raman amplification combined with cooperative Rayleigh scattering. Due to the very low dispersion coefficient of the fiber, it is possible to obtain the FWM using the two lasers. This configuration allows the operation as a temperature-insensitive strain sensor where both sensors have the same sensitivity to temperature but only one of the FBG laser is sensitive to strain. The difference between the wavelengths of the signal sensor and the converted signal presents a strain coefficient sensitivity of 2 pm/με with insensitivity to temperature. The FWM efficiency is also dependent on the applied strain, but it is temperature independent, presenting a maximum sensibility of 0.01 dB/με.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. 1.
    O. Frazão, L.A. Ferreira, F.M. Araujo, J.L. Santos, Fiber Integr. Opt. 24, 227 (2005) ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  2. 2.
    A.K. Zamzuri, M.I. Md Ali, A. Ahmad, R. Mohamad, Opt. Lett. 31, 918 (2006) ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  3. 3.
    A.M.R. Pinto, O. Frazão, J.L. Santos, M. Lopez-Amo, Appl. Phys. B, Lasers Opt. 99, 391 (2010) ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  4. 4.
    S.K. Turitsyn, S.A. Babin, A.E. El-Taher, P. Harper, D.V. Churkin, S.I. Kablukov, J.D. Ania-Castañón, V. Karalekas, E.V. Podivilov, Nat. Photonics 4, 231 (2010) ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  5. 5.
    J.D. Ania-Castañón, T.J. Ellingham, R. Ibbotson, X. Chen, L. Zhang, S.K. Turitsyn, Phys. Rev. Lett. 96, 023902 (2006) ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  6. 6.
    S.K. Turitsyn, J.D. Ania-Castañón, S.A. Babin, V. Karalekas, P. Harper, D. Churkin, S.I. Kablukov, A.E. El-Taher, E.V. Podivilov, V.K. Mezentsev, Phys. Rev. Lett. 103, 133901 (2009) ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  7. 7.
    O. Frazão, R. Morais, J.M. Baptista, J.L. Santos, Opt. Eng. 46, 010502-1-3 (2007) ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  8. 8.
    O. Frazão, C. Correia, J.M. Baptista, J.L. Santos, Meas. Sci. Technol. 20(4), 045203 (2009) ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Springer-Verlag 2011

Authors and Affiliations

  1. 1.INESC PortoPortoPortugal
  2. 2.Faculdade de Ciênciasda Universidade do PortoPortoPortugal

Personalised recommendations