



Submit Papers for JEM Perovskite Collection; Apply to Attend 2020 ELA Conference

member news

Share the good news about your professional accomplishments! Contact Kaitlin Calva, JOM Magazine Managing Editor, at kcalva@tms.org. Please note that only news submitted by current TMS members will be considered.

Journal of Electronic Materials Seeks Submissions for Topical Collection

A special topical collection, Progress and Challenges with Stability, Sustainability, Toxicity, and Scalability of Perovskite Materials and Devices, planned for the *Journal of Electronic Materials (JEM)*, is now accepting submissions. Papers are due by May 1, 2020.

The collection is broadly devoted to the science and technology of perovskites, with special emphasis on stability, sustainability, toxicity, and scalability of perovskite materials and devices. While all perovskite-related contributions are welcome, the following areas are of special interest for this collection:

- Susceptibility to ambient environment resulting from insufficient encapsulation
- Material chemical stability due to inhibition of light-induced decomposition
- Energy losses in the bulk of the material, as well as at the surface and interfaces

- Free exciton trapping and luminescence quenching
- Control of nucleation and rapid crystallization by modulating growth conditions
- New insight on structure–properties– performance relationships
- Theoretical modelling, firstprinciples calculations, and machinelearning discovery

Submissions will be considered for three types of articles: original research, review articles, and short letters. To submit your work, go to www .editorialmanager.com/jems and select article type "2020 Perovskite Materials and Devices." Author instructions and additional journal details are available at www.springer.com/11664.

The guest editors of this topical collection are: Wojiech M. Jadwisienczak, Ohio University, Faiz Rahman, Ohio University, and Dan Ricinschi, Tokyo Institute of Technology.

TMS Members Attend ELA

TMS was proud to send six members to the 2019 Emerging Leaders Alliance (ELA) conference, held November 3–6, in Falls Church, Virginia. Registration is provided each year for up to eight individuals by the TMS Foundation. Attending the 2019 program through Foundation scholarships were: Gordon Agbenyegah, University of Auckland; Youxing Chen, University of North Carolina at Charlotte; Danielle Cote, Worcester Polytechnic Institute; Siddhartha Pathak, University of Nevada, Reno; Eric Tower, Pyrotek; and Emma White, Ames Laboratory.

The ELA is a multi-society initative that provides an inter-disciplinary community of learning for engineering and scientific professionals. The intent of the program is to strengthen nontechnical skills in a setting that allows attendees to obtain foundational, executive-level knowledge while weaving themes of social responsibility and environmental stewardship throughout the training curriculum.

TMS is now accepting applications for the next ELA conference, scheduled for September 20–23, 2020. Applicants must be TMS members, typically ages 24–40, with rising or current leadership positions in their organizations. To apply for a seat at the 2020 conference, interested individuals should send a letter of interest, one or two letters of recommendation, and a resume or curriculum vitae to Deborah Hixon, TMS Awards Program Administrator, at hixon@tms.org. The deadline to apply is June 15, 2020.

More established TMS members can support future leaders by donating to the TMS Foundation. Any level of contribution helps ensure that future leaders of the minerals, metals, and materials community have access to this unique and valuable program, in addition to other Foundation activities initiatives geared toward developing early career professionals. Visit www.TMSFoundation.org to make a donation.



Attending the 2019 Emerging Leaders Alliance conference from TMS were: (back row, left to right) Eric Tower, Pyrotek; Siddhartha Pathak, University of Nevada, Reno; Danielle Cote, Worcester Polytechnic Institute; Daniel East, CSIRO; and Youxing Chen, University of North Carolina at Charlotte; (front row, left to right) Gordon Agbenyegah, University of Auckland; and Emma White, Ames Laboratory.

A New Look at Tech Innovations from Ainissa Ramirez

Science communicator, materials scientist, and TMS member Ainissa Ramirez authored a new book, available in April 2020, titled, *The Alchemy of Us: How Humans and Matter Transformed One Another*. Through her exploration of the stories and people behind eight inventions, Ramirez offers a unique perspective on human relationships with technology throughout history. The book summary notes: "...Ramirez showcases little-known inventors—particularly people of color and women—who had a significant impact but whose

accomplishments have been hidden by mythmaking, bias, and convention. Doing so, she shows us the power of telling inclusive stories about technology."

Among her many professional achievements, Ramirez received the American Association of Engineering Societies (AAES) 2017 Norm Augustine Award for Outstanding Achievement in Engineering Communications. TMS nominated her for the award through the American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical, and Petroleum Engineers (AIME), and AAES member society.



Ainissa Ramirez

Gregory Olson Named to New Professorship

Thermo-Calc Software announced a new professorship—the Thermo-Calc Professor of the Practice—at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), naming Gregory B. Olson to the position. Olson, co-founder of QuesTek Innovations, was previously a faculty member at Northwestern University for more than 30 years, most recently as the Walter P. Murphy Professor of Materials Science and Engineering. Olson began the new position in MIT's Department of Materials Science and Engineering in January 2020.

The professorship melds industry and academia, with the goal of providing

"practical experience at a high level in the area of computational materials science," according to Thermo-Calc. The company also noted that Olson was selected because of his experience and commercial success in industry with QuesTek, where he used computational tools to develop systems for rapid materials design.

A TMS member since 1986, Olson is a 2001 TMS Fellow and has received the 2004 Structural Materials Division Distinguished Scientist/Engineer Award and the 2014 Morris Cohen Award from the Society. He was also elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 2010.



Gregory B. Olson