

# TMS Board of Directors

Hani Henein President Professor, University of Alberta

Elizabeth A. Holm Past President Professor, Carnegie Mellon University

#### Patrice Turchi

Vice President Advanced Metallurgical Science and Engineering Group Leader, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

#### **Robert W. Hyers**

Financial Planning Officer Chief Technology Officer, Boston Electrometallurgical Corporation

#### David F. Bahr

Director, Membership & Student Development Head and Professor, Materials Engineering, Purdue University

#### Eric N. Brown

Director, Content Development & Dissemination Group Leader, Neutron Science and Technology, Los Alamos National Laboratory

David H. DeYoung Director/Chair Light Metals Division Director, GPP Business Technology, Alcoa Inc.

# TMS board motions, minutes, and musings

### What's In a (Technical Division) Name?

#### Srinivas Chada

Within the TMS structure, our technical divisions, in many ways, define us as members. Our work, our research, our education, and our professional accomplishments are tied to that identity. So, changing the name of a division is not an undertaking to be taken lightly.

On February 16, 2014, the TMS Board of Directors unanimously approved the name change of the Electronic, Magnetic, & Photonic Materials Division (EMPMD) to Functional Materials Division (FMD), effective immediately. As expected, this elicited a range of comments, but I'm pleased to report that the decision has generally been very well received. I know there are some members, though, who have questions, and I wanted to take a few moments to address those.

My predecessor as the EMPMD Chair, Zi-Kui Liu, Pennsylvania State University, broached the subject of a name change about four years ago, and tasked me to explore the possibilities upon his retirement as chair. The division then formed an ad hoc committee to address whether or not a name change was in order, and if so, what alternate names could be considered. After almost a year of polling the division members, the ad hoc committee decided that the name change was appropriate. After a great deal of deliberation and an in-depth search, three candidate names were proposed. We circulated these and a poll of the division members chose "Functional Materials" as the new division name.

A few colleagues from other divisions have commented to me, with jocularity, "Does this mean none of our materials are functional?" We all know that is not true. All the divisions are named to best represent the technical, strategic, and tactical goals of all the committees within each of them.

To put the decision into context, then, I should note that three years ago, the Electronic Materials Committee moved out of TMS. We also do not have a Photonics Committee. So, all we had left that directly related to the name, Electronic, Magnetic, & Photonic Materials



Srinivas Chada

Division, was magnetic materials. Our seven other committees range from biomaterials, to chemistry and physics, to nanomaterials. I have always maintained that while our division is the smallest among the five at TMS, it is one of the most diverse. Our division membership, as a group, felt we needed a name that aptly represents this diversity, as well as the technical focus of all of its eight committees.

On a lighter note, EMPMD is a mouthful and we wanted something that rolled off the tongue easily.

So, let me assure the other divisions that this name change is not meant to create confusion with their activities or grow FMD organically, but is intended to enhance and promote more cooperation among divisions. We also hope that the Functional Materials name, because it is broader in scope, might help attract more members to TMS.

Roger Narayan, as the new Functional Materials Division Chair, will now take the reins for ensuring the maximum benefit from the new division name, as well as exploring any related questions that might arise, such as potentially modifying committee names. Even though I am retiring from that post, I look forward to assisting in any way that I can to make sure the FMD and TMS are successful.

Srinivas Chada is the immediate past chair of the Functional Materials Division (formerly EMPMD) and component packaging engineer for Schlumberger HFE.

#### TMS Board of Directors

Jeffrey Fergus Director, Professional Development Professor, Auburn University Program

James C. Foley Director/Chair Materials Processing & Manufacturing Division *R&D Manager, Los Alamos National Laboratory* 

#### Edward D. Herderick

Director, Public & Governmental Affairs Director of R & D, Rapid Prototype + Manufacturing

#### Rajiv S. Mishra

Director/Chair Structural Materials Division Professor, University of North Texas

#### **Neville Moody**

Director, Programming Manager, Sandia National Laboratories

#### **Roger Narayan**

Director/Chair Functional Materials Division (formerly EMPMD) Professor, University of North Carolina and North Carolina State University

#### Mark E. Schlesinger

Director/Chair Extraction & Processing Division Professor, Missouri University of Science and Technology

James J. Robinson Secretary TMS Executive Director



New, incumbent, and retiring TMS Board members took a moment for a group photo at the TMS 2014 Annual Meeting and Exhibition. (Front row, from left): James J. Robinson, Hani Henein, Edward D. Herderick; (second row): Adrian Deneys, Patrice E.A. Turchi, Alan A. Luo (for David H. DeYoung); (third row): Jud Ready, Jeffrey W. Fergus, James C. Foley, Elizabeth A. Holm; (fourth Row): Roger Jagdish Narayan, Mark E. Schlesinger, Neville R. Moody; (back row): Carl Cady, Robert W. Hyers, David Shifler, Srinivas Chada, Rajiv S. Mishra, David F. Bahr, Eric N. Brown, and Wolfgang Schneider.

## **TMS Board Actions at a Glance**

#### Meeting of February 16, 2014

#### Meetings:

The Board approved the following future events:

- The Third World Congress on Integrated Computational Materials Engineering (ICME 2015); May 31–June 5, 2015, Colorado Springs
- First TMS Summit on Integrated Manufacturing and Materials Innovations; November 15–19, 2015, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
- 2014 Advanced Materials and Manufacturing Workshop; September 9–12, 2014, Moline, Illinois
- 2014 Industrial Aluminum Electrolysis Course: The Definitive Theory and Practice of Primary Aluminum Production; November 29–December 4, 2014, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

#### Awards:

- Viola L. Acoff, University of Alabama, approved as the 2014 TMS Ellen Swallow Richards Diversity Award recipient.
- Robert E. Schafrick, General Electric Aviation, approved as the 2014 TMS-ASM Distinguished Lecturer.

#### Meeting of February 19, 2014

#### Governance:

The Board approved recommendations of the Nominating Committee to submit the following candidates to the membership for open positions on the Board during the 2015–2018 term:

- Presidential Cycle: Stanley Howard, South Dakota School of Mines & Technology
- Financial Planning Officer: Joy Forsmark, Ford Motor Company
- Director, Programming: Srinivas Chada, Schlumberger HFE
- Director, Membership and Student Development: Amy Clarke, Los Alamos National Laboratory

The Board approved the formation of an ad hoc Comic-tanium<sup>™</sup> Committee charged with developing recommendations for future directions of the initiative.